We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed for a month on business in one of their "standard" rooms that was above and beyond other hotel's superior rooms. Everything you need and things you did not know you wanted are provided in the midst of historic luxury. A real gem in this city I always thought of as a college town. The staff is friendly, helpful and professional. I felt "at home" and treated well. I had most of my in house meals at the bar or by room service and all were excellent. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrettyPickyDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    325
    104
    41
    32
See reviews for
351
648
82
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We originally booked at the tower not knowing the difference, but we got into the historic hotel with no problem.

Our rooms were beautiful, and the beds were very clean and comfortable.

We enjoyed looking over the artwork and decor, and especially enjoyed our visit with John, the beefeater. He has been there through the history of the hotel, and is a wealth of information.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SubPSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelan, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

There are two components of the name Davenport Hotel in Spokane, one the towers and the other one the original edifice. I stayed on the towers.

I had send a special request of additional pillows when I booked thru their website.

Arriving to the hotel , I avail of their valet parking service. Greeting and formal recognition of a guest is very important in valet service which I found on this case I found it lacking and gives me a "meh" first impression on the hotel.

Check in was fast and efficient. There was a significant activity on the lobby on that day and where the restaurant was also located. In spite of this, everything was in order and the chaos manageable. However, it is not a big lobby and if one wants a larger area to lounge around, I would suggest book a room in the Original Davenport building where the public area seemed to be more spacious and had a historical feel to it. There is a limited number of elevator so it could take awhile to get everybody to their destination especially on the days like that where the hotel is busy.

The safari themed permeates the whole hotel and into the room I stayed. Personally , it just not my cup of tea but I just had to state that I had stayed on safari themed accommodations before , this could had been executed better. However , the decor is consistent and other guests might appreciate it. If one felt the disconnection between the decor and the Spokane area which how I felt, maybe the most plausible explanation would be based on the function balls of the old davenport hotel where the Elizabethan, Venetian, Italian etc, themed illustrates. It is consistent with an attempt to provide a different environment to the guest. The towers had a pool facility at the basement which unfortunately, I did not use.

The room was spacious and the bed was nicely dressed and very comfortable. My request for extra pillow was executed. The bed linens were nice to touch. The chaise lounge was very comfortable. There was a writing desk and magazines are provided regarding the area. WiFi was complimentary but bottled water is not. There was complimentary cookies .The room is quiet and boost a view of downtown Spokane.

The shower is roomy and it could fit more than five people. I am surprised to see a hotel in this presentation to have wall canister for their liquid/semi solid toiletries. Totally unexpected. I carry my own toiletries but I did notice that the conditioner canister was empty. The water closet, shower and the lavatory are clean. Small touches such as folded monogrammed towel on the shower was nice.

I would suggest to visit the lobby of the old Davenport Hotel and browse the old photos and objects of the bygone era. It was fascinating and nostalgic. The lay out of the lobby reminds me of Fairmont Seattle.

During the check out I did try to call the front desk early to prepare the bill and have the car ready. No one answered. I did speak to the front desk during the check out about this and she was courteous and apologetic. To end it all let just say that it strengthened my position that the hotel's valet service needs coaching.

Being included in the Conde Nast johansens recommendation and just the name itself , I do carry certain expectations. This was a very comfortable hotel and I would recommend it to anyone who will be visiting Spokane Area but its service is inconsistent but overall it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apothecary84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I spent a night in the tower last Friday...it was a jam-packed city due to volleyball, let alone a packed hotel! Still, the elevator wait was always short, and we didn't hear our neighbors the entire time.
Having stayed here once before in 2008 I expected a great experience, and it was just as I expected! My fiancé was impressed and of course the location is fantastic, I showed him what I love about downtown Spokane.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in a King Deluxe room at the tower, and the room was very nice, and comfortable, but it is a little pricey. The restaurant in the lobby is pretty resonable as far as price goes. I did expect it to be priceier because of the hotel. Although we did not get room service looking at the price of that, it was not too bad either, no $20.00 for a bowl of cereal. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh71380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

My family decided to throw me a birthday party here and to be honest it was the greatest day of my life. I was no longer stupid an sick, I was a princess in a castle. The hotel is gorgeous and all of the ballrooms are open all the time so one can look inside and dance if one feels so obliged. This was everything I wanted and needed. I felt like a princess in the Hall of Doges and for the staff to turn on the lights and let me spin around and take it in. Well bless them. There is nothin better.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanogan, WA
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in one of the suites for a weekend. The hotel is beautiful and we enjoyed waking around the building looking at the ballrooms and historic photos. The suite was large and nicely appointed, and the bed was very comfortable. Staying here is more expensive than many other area hotels, so you have to balance if the ambiance is worth the additional cost. For us it is probably worth it for special occasions or trips without the kids (which for us, are special occasions).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KS-OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#2 of 46 in Spokane
783 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Property: The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Address: 10 S Post St, Spokane, WA 99201-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#2 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing