We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Could Just Sit in the Beautiful Lobby for Hours”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This beautifully restored historical hotel is like none other. Everything about it says luxury and comfort. Every single person we encountered was friendly and helpful. Our room (a King) was beautiful. When you tell locals you are staying at the Davenport, they immediately ask you if you love the bed. The first time we were asked, we hadn't even sat on the bed (just checked in, dropped our bags in the room, adjusted the room temperature and then took off for dinner). But when we did finally get a chance to lie on the bed, Wow! We understood what they were talking about and also understood why on the nightstand there is information and a price list in case you are interested in being able to sleep on a Davenport mattress with Davenport linens all the time in your own home. Fabulous. We heard the trains at night (we were on the 10th floor) but those didn't bother us at all because we love the sounds of trains. I wished there were a little refrigerator and coffee maker in the room but it wasn't a big deal. All of the awesome L'Occitane products featured in the bathrooms are quite unfortunately put in fixed dispensers, so there's no awesome little bottle of fabulous lotion to take home, but you can enjoy an unlimited supply while you are there. :-)

This hotel is super conveniently located for ease of getting around to see all of the sites. They have many options for food and drink right in the hotel and all around the hotel as well. Also in the hotel is a fun, eclectic gift shop (where you can buy the famous Davenport soft peanut brittle at what I thought were very reasonable prices) and a little flower shop as well (also reasonably priced in my opinion). The coffee stand in the lobby is easy and convenient. We didn't use the pool, spa or workout facility but did take a look at them all and they looked great. We did take some time to walk all around the second floor balcony and look at all of the old pictures and cases of historical items. Loved how you could peak in (and even walk in) any of the beautiful, elegant ballrooms and things that weren't in use.

If you are traveling to Spokane, you would be foolish not to check the rates on the Davenport as they often have wonderful, affordable deals on their rooms, particularly on weekends it seemed. We were there on weekdays and the price was still totally acceptable to me for the beauty of the place. When you book a room, make sure you are aware of whether you are booking the historic hotel or the more modern towers that are directly across the way. I'm sure the towers are nice (we walked in to the lobby to check it out) but our preference was to stay in the beautiful, old hotel. It was a wonderful experience and I may go back to Spokane for no reason just so I can stay there again.

Room Tip: As I said above, we were not bothered by the train sounds, but if you think you might be, ask at the...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,781)
There are newer reviews for The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,096 - 1,102 of 1,781 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

While not inexpensive, the Davenport is worth splurging on. The service is world class, the food at both the Palm Court and Peacock room is excellent, and the ambiance is elegant. Don't miss the doorman who has worked there for decades.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontanaCLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My Mother lives in Spokane, and her kids decided to celebrate her 90th birthday party at the Davenport. The evening went off perfectly. Great food, and great service. My mom loved the party. I want to especially thank Alicia our server that night for handling everything - and making our Mom feel special. We stayed in the older (non-tower) part of the hotel, and loved the room.

Thanks Davenport - and thanks Alicia!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMKissinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Wow, I would hope everyone knows by now, but if not, this is"something really special"!! many , many boo-ku bucks have been spent here bringin this grand hotel back to its once days of "the best". I dont think there are many hotels, especially in this area, that can fullfill what is definitely one of the wonderful places to stay in the Great Northwest!. From check-in to check-out, the experience is to be remembered! the rooms are special, with many different choises, all of which are unique!, restaurents, and bars, great!! just a place well worth stayin before you "pass-on". Don't stay anywhere else in Spokane, its worth it!!!

Room Tip: from our experience, anything is going to be fine!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Holes in the table linen, sorry Starbucks Barista, way-y-y too much money for the room I rented. I took PICTURES to prove every word I write. Smudges in the mirror, the hand lotion in the bathroom was the same lotion in the shower!! An unknown brand that was touted as a designer brand....

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seafairer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I grew up in the Spokane area, and now we live about 30 minutes north of Spokane. Any excuse we have to stay at the Davenport Tower, we do! We have stayed in the tower over a dozen times and love it every time! Everything from the lobby to the rooms are very nice! Beds are super comfy! The Safari Room has a great happy hour and delicious flat breads!
Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice stay and fun experience!

Room Tip: We prefer to stay in the Tower because of the modern feel.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaceyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

A special stay...we were in the historical hotel part for two nights. Way fancier and way more money than our normal places to stay, but it was a special occasion and worked super. What a grand "old" (completely remodeled in 2002) place.

Loved the "museum" feel on the mezzanine. So may old pictures and items on display from the "old days."

One of our simple pleasures is sitting in the lobby with an expesso while reading and people watching.
The Safari Room bar in the tower has drinks and flatbread items at half price seven days a week from 4 to 6 p.m.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#2 of 46 in Spokane
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Address: 10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#2 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range: $173 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection with its Kirkland Cutter architecture in the heart of downtown Spokane, Washington. Our brilliant hotel in Spokane has been restored to original elegance with modern amenities and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing