We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spring the extra to stay in the Hotel not the tower”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“spring the extra to stay in the Hotel not the tower”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

we stayed in The Davenport Hotel in October 2012. Service could not have been better, the room was amazing - and so large. The shower in the bathroom was bigger than the whole bathroom in the hotel we stayed in on our way home! We did the self guided tour, which shows you the history of the "old" hotel. The only downside to the whole experience was that there is no coffee machine in the room (but Starbucks is ion the lobby) and the only water available is at a $2 a bottle - so bring in your own supply! We found that the service in the Tower was very much the "norm" the staff did not appear to go the extra mile as they did in the hotel. Oh, and don't forget to take advantage of the free use of the town car service during the day - going shopping using a limo gives me another tick off my bucket list!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have a better view and generally seem to be larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,214
    317
    104
    40
    31
See reviews for
347
626
81
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stay in the old Hotel not the Tower so my comments are on the old place...which is absolutely stunning. Service is beyond reproach from the front desk to the valet and the wait staff in the restaurants. Even the young lady at the Starbucks lobby coffee shop is more charming than any Seattle barrista I've met.

Rooms are splendid - I got the third night free deal and booked a King Suite - worth every penny.

Room Tip: If your budget allows a King Suite in the old Hotel ask for #1213
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuretyPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I booked a king deluxe room in the Davenport Tower for Valentine's Day. We were given Room no. 2053. The room is very spacious and overlooks the lower South Hill.

The front desk staff was genuinely friendly and helpful, and although the Safari Room (the on-site restaurant) was fully-booked, they offered to make reservations at other restaurants for us.

The room is appointed with a king-sized bed that was a little too soft for us. We like a firmer mattress. We had the sensation that we were sinking into the mattress, and when I awoke the next morning, my back was a little stiff. There is a large walk-in shower, but no tub. There is no coffee maker either, nor a fridge or microwave. These omissions were not a big deal for us as they are a matter of preference and we had no need for them. There is a laptop-sized room safe.

There were two bottles of water provided, but they were at a cost of $2.00 a piece. I should think that the hotel could provide complimentary bottles instead. Down the hall, there is a soda machine, but the beverages were $2.25. Really? This is Spokane, not NYC. Room service is provided by the Safari Room, but we didn't take advantage of it.

Overall, our stay was enjoyable, with one exception. Our room had two adjoining rooms on either side of us. In one room, the residents were exceptionally loud until late at night, but we were able to hear them through the shared door, even when their voices were not raised. When you book your stay, ask for accommodations that don't share an adjoining room.


Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rhett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colbert, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We are so fortunate to live in the Pacific Northwest and only 30 minutes from the Davenport Hotel! We decided to book the Champagne Brunch/Overnight Stay with check in on a Sunday and President's Day the following Monday. Who knew that this would turn out to be, not only the best vacation ever, but also the most cost-effective? For only $178, including hotel tax, we had a spectacular Sunday champagne brunch experience, took in a move at the Riverfront Mall AMC only two blocks away, had dinner at PF Chang's right across from the mall, and enjoyed a luxurious room at the historic grand Davenport Hotel. The room was squeaky clean, amenities were five-star, bed was like heaven, and the shampoo and shower gel smelled divine! With a Starbuck's in the lobby and checkout at noon, we enjoyed the experience right up to the last minute, had a late breakfast on the way home at Molly's Cafe, a fantastic local diner, and we were home by 2:00 pm to unpack the little overnight bag. No costly plane fare, no shakedowns or inspections at the airport, no filling the gas tank and wasting hundreds of dollars in travel expenses. We supported our local economy and had, honestly, the best vacation we have ever had. If I could give this experience 10 stars, I would. Thank you Louie Davenport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, BC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently went on a love connection wknd away. We stayed in the tower in a big suite, ate an amazing tenderloin at the safari room and basically enjoyed an indulgent time for an incredibly reasonable amount of money. My husband shopped at the mens wear store (a very nice one) and I enjoyed pottery barn. Both in the mall just down the street. We love this hotel, I highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofapillio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We booked into the Tower Suite, the room was large and quiet but unfortunately no bath tubs are available in the Tower. The room had fridge and microwave but no dishes of any kind and no coffee machine. I assume this is so you have to go down to purchase Starbucks in the lobby! Very inconvenient. The lobby was very noisy in the evening so we went across the street to the Davenport Hotel to eat and we will booh into the Hotel rather than the Tower.

Room Tip: Book rooms on the higher floors to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KamloopsBCIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the Towers. First of all I would like to compliment the valet service it was great! From dropping off my car, to using the shuttle service they provided, I really feel like it was top notch. As for the rest of my experience, I wish I could say the same. When I called and booked the room, I did some research, and found the best price was offered by the Davenports website, so I called and booked. During that conversation the receptionist asked me if I was with a group, so I could get a discount. I informed her that I was and had a code. She told me ok that was an acceptable code then quoted me the same rate as their website, so no discount was giving. This actually wasn't a big deal at the time. It turned into a problem when I checked in and tried to use two Davenport gift cards that I wanted to apply towards the room. I was informed, because I used a "discount" code, the gift cards could not be used, but if I wanted to pay the full rate I could use them. The rate at the time of check in was quite a bit more. I then told them that I didn't actually get a discount at the time of my booking according to the website. No luck. So there is my first complaint. My second complaint would be the noise level outside of the room. We stayed on the 8th floor so traffic noise wasnt a problem. That being said anyone walking by my room could be heard, whether they were talking or not. I've stayed at a motel 6 that was quiter than this room. All in all I was expecting a better experience for all the hype of this hotel. If I had to do it all over again I would stay out at Quest Casino which is a much nicer room for about the same "discounted" rate and take a cab downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T_Tyson509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding the valet service and your observations of the noise issues you experienced. This feedback is greatly appreciated. In regards to group rates, there are many things taken into consideration. Most often, this discount is given in a higher level room type, and while this price may be available on our website, most often it is in a lower level room type. I apologize that the receptionist did not make you aware of the restrictions regarding certain gift cards and group rates. I empathize with the position you were put in, and please know that this situation will be used in training to help ensure future instances like these are not repeated, and more clarification given. Again, we do appreciate you visiting our hotel, and hope that in the future, you will indeed return.

Kind Regards ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#1 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Property: The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Address: 10 S Post St, Spokane, WA 99201-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#2 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing