We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ruby(Spokane)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ruby2(Spokane)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,832)
Filter reviews
1,832 results
Traveler rating
1,305
342
107
44
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,305
342
107
44
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe palm courthistoric davenportacross the streetpeacock loungeself guided toursafari roomwalking tourpeanut brittlenewer towerturn down servicewalk in showersafari themevalet parkinglarge showerbeautiful lobbydowntown spokaneroom service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,482 - 1,487 of 1,832 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We've stayed at the Davenport a number of times over the years, first when we were visiting and deciding whether or not to move here, and subsequently on occasions to "treat" ourselves, when we wanted a little time downtown. On each occasion, we've enjoyed our stay at the Davenport. The staff is very professional. The hotel (and it's new Tower) are beautifully decorated and well maintained. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The quality of food at their restaurants is excellent.

The first week of December each year the hotel highlights a Christmas tree auction as a fundraiser for the Spokane Symphony orchestra. There's always a package available (eg. cash, gift items, tree) so it's interesting to browse and buy a few raffle tickets to help support the symphony. We did find out this time that it's not a good time to stay. The flood of visitors makes it difficult to get reservations for any of the meals, including a snack at the bar. Better off to come at a less busy time.

Room Tip: Corner rooms, north facing will give you the best views, especially from the top floors.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drfumblefinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This hotel is awesome. Over the years Ive stayed at a few different places in Spokane, nothing come close to this place. Service was excellent, our room was perfect, the hotel as a whole is just lovely. We will be back in the summer.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lila p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The Davenport is an historic hotel central to downtown Spokane with much history. It is a pleasant hotel with good resturants, bars, and gift shop. The room was spacious, wonderful bedding, nice amenities (loved the peanut brittle each night), but surprised that they would not have a coffe maker in the room. This is the first time in many years that I could not make a cup of coffee in the morning to wake me up. I was told it was a sanitation issue. They offered me room service in which I could receive a small pot ( 1 1/2 cups) of coffee for $8.50.! Needless to say, I had to wait until I had breakfast in the resturant. The other surprise was the confusion about my reservation. My confirmation said Towers, but when checking in, they said I needed to go to the Davenport, about a 1/2 block walk away, but diffcult with luggage (did not offer bell boy service) and no accessibility (mutiple stairs out the front door) for those who are physically challenged.

Room Tip: Rooms are the end of the hallways are wonderful - many windows on three sides of the room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KrazyKat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel while in Spokane for a family reunion. This is a grand old hotel that has been renovated. We stayed in the Tower across the street from the original hotel. The rooms were large and nicely appointed.

The Davenport has a very liberal pet policy ("we take pets of all kinds") and there is no pet fee or pet contract. Their pet rooms are on specific floors.

The decor in the tower is a safari theme. The opulent lobby is decorated with leopard and zebra print fabrics, the restaurants have safari-themed names, there are large stuffed animal heads, etc.

Our room had a king-sized bed, a chaise lounge (leopard print!), and the art was all safari animals. It's a little kitschy, but in good condition and clean.

We did not dine in any of the restaurants. The hotel was very (VERY!) busy due to it being a college sports weekend and there being a Cirque du Soleil event at the arena. The restaurants and bars were jammed; but the place seemed to be able staffed to handle it. The valet parking line was backed up with a long line, but the staff were very efficient in handling it.

No complaints. The stay was worth the money. I would recommend this place for anyone needing a hotel in downtown Spokane.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reston10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed at the Davenport for the very last night of our holidays before heading home to Canada. We usually stay at the Oxford Inn and Suites Spokane Valley or Downtown but got a good deal in the new Tower section of the Davenport. Stayed in a 2 bed room which was quite large. Rooms and whole hotel for that matter are decorated in a safari theme which is the motif/style of the owners, however it's subtle, not too over the top and works.
Beds super comfy with feather top matresses and if you were really impressed with your nights sleep you could buy your bed ( room charge deducted from the price ). There was no fridge/mini-bar in the room but there was an ice-machine on every floor. We didn't have an evening meal at the hotel, we walked around to the Steam Plant Grill for a beer and dinner.
Breakfast at the Davenport was excellent. The atmosphere, service, crockery, and linen were first class and the food and coffee superb and at just a little more than you would pay at a Denny's or Perkins. Will come back again just for breakfast even if I'm not staying at the Hotel.
Over-all a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tez28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews