We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some surprises”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The Davenport is an historic hotel central to downtown Spokane with much history. It is a pleasant hotel with good resturants, bars, and gift shop. The room was spacious, wonderful bedding, nice amenities (loved the peanut brittle each night), but surprised that they would not have a coffe maker in the room. This is the first time in many years that I could not make a cup of coffee in the morning to wake me up. I was told it was a sanitation issue. They offered me room service in which I could receive a small pot ( 1 1/2 cups) of coffee for $8.50.! Needless to say, I had to wait until I had breakfast in the resturant. The other surprise was the confusion about my reservation. My confirmation said Towers, but when checking in, they said I needed to go to the Davenport, about a 1/2 block walk away, but diffcult with luggage (did not offer bell boy service) and no accessibility (mutiple stairs out the front door) for those who are physically challenged.

Room Tip: Rooms are the end of the hallways are wonderful - many windows on three sides of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KrazyKat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,450 - 1,456 of 1,797 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel while in Spokane for a family reunion. This is a grand old hotel that has been renovated. We stayed in the Tower across the street from the original hotel. The rooms were large and nicely appointed.

The Davenport has a very liberal pet policy ("we take pets of all kinds") and there is no pet fee or pet contract. Their pet rooms are on specific floors.

The decor in the tower is a safari theme. The opulent lobby is decorated with leopard and zebra print fabrics, the restaurants have safari-themed names, there are large stuffed animal heads, etc.

Our room had a king-sized bed, a chaise lounge (leopard print!), and the art was all safari animals. It's a little kitschy, but in good condition and clean.

We did not dine in any of the restaurants. The hotel was very (VERY!) busy due to it being a college sports weekend and there being a Cirque du Soleil event at the arena. The restaurants and bars were jammed; but the place seemed to be able staffed to handle it. The valet parking line was backed up with a long line, but the staff were very efficient in handling it.

No complaints. The stay was worth the money. I would recommend this place for anyone needing a hotel in downtown Spokane.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reston10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed at the Davenport for the very last night of our holidays before heading home to Canada. We usually stay at the Oxford Inn and Suites Spokane Valley or Downtown but got a good deal in the new Tower section of the Davenport. Stayed in a 2 bed room which was quite large. Rooms and whole hotel for that matter are decorated in a safari theme which is the motif/style of the owners, however it's subtle, not too over the top and works.
Beds super comfy with feather top matresses and if you were really impressed with your nights sleep you could buy your bed ( room charge deducted from the price ). There was no fridge/mini-bar in the room but there was an ice-machine on every floor. We didn't have an evening meal at the hotel, we walked around to the Steam Plant Grill for a beer and dinner.
Breakfast at the Davenport was excellent. The atmosphere, service, crockery, and linen were first class and the food and coffee superb and at just a little more than you would pay at a Denny's or Perkins. Will come back again just for breakfast even if I'm not staying at the Hotel.
Over-all a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tez28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The Spokane Davenport is an icon of the old Downtown area, pretty close to the 1-90 freeway, but quiet.

We stayed in the Hotel portion. We took a King room; plush, comfortable and newly refurbished. Slept so well!

Service is superb; courteous and helpful.

We took in breakfast at Frank's Diner just 8 or 9 blocks west. What fun! A 1920's Northern Pacific Observation Car with the best breakfast (all day) in Spokane.

Room Tip: Stay in the Hotel portion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnacondaYanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I travel around the state for meetings and have seen nothing like the Davenport. The historic hotel is classy and simply gorgeous. Rooms are nicely appointed and spacious, the meeting space is elegant, location is excellent, and the service is perfect. From the moment we pulled in, the staff was attentive, professional, and courteous. The Davenport is worth the extra money. And don't miss the Peacock Room for a cocktail or dinner. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Davenport is my "go to" hotel whenever I am in Spokane. There is nothing in Spokane that compares to Davenport.

From the plush rooms, wonderful amenities, courteous & professional staff, I just couldn't ask for any more.

Out of all the great things..I do have to rave about the restrooms in these rooms. Wow. They are spacious and beautiful...just another way to enhance your experience staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CurtKwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

A breathtaking historic hotel lavishly and meticulously restored down to the gold leaf molding details. rooms are spacious with modern bathroom amenities...large walk in marble shower, extremely comfortable beds (almost bought one to take home). Interesting historical artifacts displayed in museum-like exhibits.
One deficit - no coffee maker in the room, but a Starbucks down in the central Great room.
Great service-we were given a standard room in the hotel on the fifth floor but it faced the AC and other machinery sitting on the adjacent flat roof. We asked for a room change and were given a room on the 8th floor with courtesy and efficiency.
We didn't stay in the Towers wing across the street which is new and energy-efficient from what we heard. We were glad to enjoy the historic feel of the old Davenport while not having to compromise in comfort or convenience.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Spokane Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Address: 10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#2 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range: $162 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection with its Kirkland Cutter architecture in the heart of downtown Spokane, Washington. Our brilliant hotel in Spokane has been restored to original elegance with modern amenities and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing