We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value Luxury hotel in The North West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Great room, great restaurants, and great staff. Don't miss the 'happy hour' specials.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Move2BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,780)
There are newer reviews for The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,507 - 1,513 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

This place was great! One of the best hotels you will find anywhere in the country. You can walk all around town but keep in mind parking is 15-20 extra a day!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auditing4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

O.K. O.K. O.K. - you get what you pay for. . . .

Booked "Package" on-line; good price for a THREE STAR HOTEL. . . Problem is this appears that it should be much more.

But it isn't.

I am sure Mr. Davenport would roll over in his grave to see how his guests are "dressed" for evening dining in the "Palm Court". 7 p.m. reservation saw us sitting with a bunch of patrons dressed for dinner at Denny's. . There I was in my jacket (tie is not required) my friend in her little black dress, and the guy sitting across from us had his short shorts creeping up and and up. . Way too casual of dress for a supposed to be "upper end" dining establishment. . No tie required - mmmmm - how about simply pants for dining after 7 p.m. - ?

To make matters worse check out was a total "shell game" in regards to getting the "deal" that I BOOKED ON THEIR WEBSITE. Took three attempts - I really feel that they were hoping I didn't watch the "automated check-out" and miss the $120. overcharge. Really, after 100 years in business they can't deliver what they acknowledged was booked at check-n. I stay in 40-70 hotels/year - seldom experience a change in booking rate after being checked in.

Overall - "good value" in a three star hotel. Disappointed that the standards have slipped so far. . .

Room Tip: Shell game "check-out" rate same as booked(?)
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eastpouce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Our overnight stay at the original Davenport Hotel this past weekend was a treat. The Hotel is older but very classy and architecturally a great building inside and out. We stayed in a king room on the 6th floor, it was quite large and had a beautiful big king bed with an ornate headboard. The bathroom was large with a big tub and huge glass walk in shower. My only complaint with the shower is the tacky wall dispenser for body gel, shampoo and conditioner.

The other small issue I had with the room was the size of the TV. Because of the size of the room the armoire the TV was installed in was quite a distance from the bed. It was smaller flat screen, given the distance from the bed the screen size should have been a 42 inch at least. A small complaint I know but what can I say I am picky.

Our getaway package for the one night included a $100 food credit, which we used at the hotel pub and the Sunday brunch which is Champagne and orange juice affair cost is $35 a person but honestly it is well worth it. The varieties of choices are amazing and you will not be disappointed. The seafood display and selections are worth the price alone.

All in all the experience at the Davenport is definitely worth the extra money. The old hotel charm and service is defiantly something you won’t get at most high end hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NelsonFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The Davenport offers excellent location, great beds, and a quiet elegant retreat from the bustle of this beautiful city. There is a spa on-site that was voted "best" in Spokane and numerous places to dine. We spent two nights there recently and the activities we enjoyed included breakfast at Madeleins, golfing, movies, shopping, and walking (riverfront park is about 4 blocks away). The downtown area has many wonderful shops and also has a truly nice mall that includes Williams Sonoma, Pottery Barn, Nordstroms, and etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Tower and were happy...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daughterofasailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We had heard about the restored Hotel Davenport, so when we were in Spokane for a night, we decided to try it. We were not disappointed at all. We stayed in the historic building, not the tower. We had a third floor corner room, so there were two windows with different street views. The room was not spacious, but it was adequate. They have done an excellent job of refurnishing the bathroom, including a wonderful tiled walk-in shower. Everything worked fine, including the flatscreen TV. For dinner, they have a three course meal for $15 each, and it was a real treat and bargain. It was served up unitl 6 pm in the historic hotel, but the restaurant (Safari) in the Tower served the bargain up until 9 pm. It was well worth checking it out: salad, entree and dessert...all for $15. You can then afford to buy some nice wine and their wine prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the historic hotel building, since it is charming and up-to-date
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyretireds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel, in any major city, would cost far more. Beautifully restored to its original opulent state, it is a piece of art. Wander the meeting rooms and spaces on the main and mezzanine levels. My only complaint is long lines at check in and check out.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house. Spokane is quiet at night.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belepix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#2 of 46 in Spokane
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Address: 10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#2 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range: $173 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection with its Kirkland Cutter architecture in the heart of downtown Spokane, Washington. Our brilliant hotel in Spokane has been restored to original elegance with modern amenities and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing