We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Irvine, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Would highly recommend. Excellent service! Was in Spokane on business and asked bellman for a cab and they sent out their driver at no charge. I also needed a medical fridge but they were out when I checked in, however when I came back from dinner there was one in my room.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmellaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    327
    104
    42
    32
See reviews for
352
650
83
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Our family is on an extended trip out west and we stopped over at the Davenport for three nights as a rest stop and it was just what we needed. The service, food and beds were excellent. We could ask for nothing more. We had a special package that allowed for us to eat at the hotel eateries and the food was very good. The rate was reasonable and we would recommend the Davenport with two thumbs up.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hozhohamsteads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed in the Tower building.

Pros
The room was very clean and nicely appointed.
The bed was super soft and comfortable.
There is a HUGE selection of channels if you would like to watch a little tv.
It seemed fairly quiet during our stay. We didn't hear much from outside nor on the other side of the walls.

Cons
There is no microwave/fridge/coffee maker in the rooms. This was a disappointment to us but I think they do it so you will purchase food/drinks from downstairs.
The wifi is a lot slower than I am used to! Especially if you have to use remote desktop.
Self-Parking lot is across the street and a little inconvenient. Also, a side note, the sign says all day parking $15 and the hotel charges you $20? We thought that was a little cheesy.
The fax machine in the business center kept jamming up.

We are not "downtown" kind of people so staying at ANY downtown hotel is quite the experience. But, it wasn't too bad. The lobby can get busy with people from the restaurants ect and it can be a little much for people who do not prefer busy crowds.

Overall, this hotel is probably the best thing ever for some people. But, for us, we just don't prefer this style/set up. We probably would not stay here again, but I would still recommend it to others because there were many great things about it...just not our style.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenLoverinAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Davenport Hotel Tower provides all travellers staying in downtown Spokane with first class accommodation. The greeting at the front desk was helpful, cordial, professional, efficient and sincere. The room was wonderful as it featured a walk-in shower, a roomy dressing area, an extremely comfortable bed and stylish decor. The housekeeping staff as well as the servers in the Safari Grill continued with the professional yet very cordial interactions with us. Great location, convenient parking and spectacular attention to detail contributed significantly to a memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

A beautiful and historic hotel in the heart of downtown with great service. My only warning would be to avoid their so-called "Starbucks" coffee kiosk. The hotel implies that it is a Starbucks, but if you patronize the coffee bar, you will find out it is not. They use Starbucks beans, but not their process, and their employees are not trained by Starbucks. Espresso is made from a pre-processed coffee pod, not freshly ground and pulled. Easily the worst espresso I've ever had. Also, my husband ordered oatmeal, and after waiting quite a while and not receiving it, asked the barista when it would be ready. She had clearly forgotten, and since we were in a bit of a rush, he asked her to cancel the order and get his money back. She replied that she couldn't give him his money back because she didn't know how to do that procedure. Wow. We ended up buying a packet of uncooked oatmeal for $4. Go across the street for your coffee, but stay at the hotel. It is a luxury.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2toughteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations in regards to your experience with our coffee service. We actually are trained and supported by Starbucks, and work very hard to match the standards set forth by not only Starbucks, but ourselves. The machine grinds the espresso beans to order, and we only use fresh roasted Starbucks beans in our machines, never the pods. However, we still failed to exceed your expectations, and for that I am sorry. Our goal is to provide amazing service, at all levels, and we recognize that this particular experience fell short. I am sharing this information with our Director of Food & Beverage, as he and his team can use this as a learning experience in order to enhance future services and interactions. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it is extremely important to us.

Kind Regards ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

It was nice to stay in an historic hotel with modern rooms. Our room had a huge glass shower, but if you are a bath person you'd be out of luck as there wasn't a tub. There was a shampoo dispenser on the wall of the shower that seemed out of place. The hotel had wifi, but it didn't make it as far as our room, we had to stand in the hall or sit in the lobby to...what else...consult TripAdvisor! As mentioned in other reviews there is no in room coffee maker. The pool area was nice, but is in the basement without natural light.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Cowtowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. Although we only have showers in some of the rooms in the historic hotel, many rooms also do have showers. We will make sure to do a better job of making guests aware in the reservation process. Also, thank you for making us aware of the wireless issues. Our IT team will look into this right away! Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we truly appreciate it, and hope to again have you as a guest in the near future!

Kind Regards ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I stayed at the Tower buiding during a business trip to Spokane. The tower is a modern building, with nice decor and ammenities. The room is very well furnished and the bathroom is very spacious. Unfortunately, the room does not have a refrigerator or a coffee makers. Fortunately, there is a Starbuck's booth at the reception desk floor.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braziliantraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#2 of 46 in Spokane
786 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Property: The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Address: 10 S Post St, Spokane, WA 99201-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#2 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing