We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top drawer quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Davenport Hotel Tower provides all travellers staying in downtown Spokane with first class accommodation. The greeting at the front desk was helpful, cordial, professional, efficient and sincere. The room was wonderful as it featured a walk-in shower, a roomy dressing area, an extremely comfortable bed and stylish decor. The housekeeping staff as well as the servers in the Safari Grill continued with the professional yet very cordial interactions with us. Great location, convenient parking and spectacular attention to detail contributed significantly to a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,779)
There are newer reviews for The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,523 - 1,529 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

A beautiful and historic hotel in the heart of downtown with great service. My only warning would be to avoid their so-called "Starbucks" coffee kiosk. The hotel implies that it is a Starbucks, but if you patronize the coffee bar, you will find out it is not. They use Starbucks beans, but not their process, and their employees are not trained by Starbucks. Espresso is made from a pre-processed coffee pod, not freshly ground and pulled. Easily the worst espresso I've ever had. Also, my husband ordered oatmeal, and after waiting quite a while and not receiving it, asked the barista when it would be ready. She had clearly forgotten, and since we were in a bit of a rush, he asked her to cancel the order and get his money back. She replied that she couldn't give him his money back because she didn't know how to do that procedure. Wow. We ended up buying a packet of uncooked oatmeal for $4. Go across the street for your coffee, but stay at the hotel. It is a luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2toughteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations in regards to your experience with our coffee service. We actually are trained and supported by Starbucks, and work very hard to match the standards set forth by not only Starbucks, but ourselves. The machine grinds the espresso beans to order, and we only use fresh roasted Starbucks beans in our machines, never the pods. However, we still failed to exceed your expectations, and for that I am sorry. Our goal is to provide amazing service, at all levels, and we recognize that this particular experience fell short. I am sharing this information with our Director of Food & Beverage, as he and his team can use this as a learning experience in order to enhance future services and interactions. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it is extremely important to us.

Kind Regards ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

It was nice to stay in an historic hotel with modern rooms. Our room had a huge glass shower, but if you are a bath person you'd be out of luck as there wasn't a tub. There was a shampoo dispenser on the wall of the shower that seemed out of place. The hotel had wifi, but it didn't make it as far as our room, we had to stand in the hall or sit in the lobby to...what else...consult TripAdvisor! As mentioned in other reviews there is no in room coffee maker. The pool area was nice, but is in the basement without natural light.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Cowtowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. Although we only have showers in some of the rooms in the historic hotel, many rooms also do have showers. We will make sure to do a better job of making guests aware in the reservation process. Also, thank you for making us aware of the wireless issues. Our IT team will look into this right away! Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we truly appreciate it, and hope to again have you as a guest in the near future!

Kind Regards ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I stayed at the Tower buiding during a business trip to Spokane. The tower is a modern building, with nice decor and ammenities. The room is very well furnished and the bathroom is very spacious. Unfortunately, the room does not have a refrigerator or a coffee makers. Fortunately, there is a Starbuck's booth at the reception desk floor.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braziliantraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

What a beautiful hotel! It's been fully restored to old world glory. Great service, beautiful rooms. We were here for a conference and loved it. The detail in the hotel was worth hours of exploration into every room. You need to check this place out!!!! Great value.

Like the downtown location too. I worked while my honey was in his conference and I enjoyed my time in the hotel. Everyone was super sweet to me and they loved our little dog that traveled with us.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavoMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The issue with so many of the 'grand old' hotels, is that their appeal comes from the fact that they are grand, old hotels. Their major issues however, come from the fact that they struggle to maintain the age of the building, upgrade technology and compete with modern luxury.

The good:

1. Staff were very polite, prompt and friendly
2. The Palms restaurant's take on even the most traditional dishes is sublime
3. The suites are a good size and general quality.
4. The Doges Hall is very well done.
5. Davenport beds are very comfortable.
6. Town-car service is a nice plus.

The soft spots:

1. It lacks modern technological conveniences of newer hotels, such as: "iHome" style interoperable alarm clock / iPod / sound system / TV. *The phones and alarm are from the early 1980's and belie the purported luxuriousness.
2. The Safari Room is a good place to go for happy hour but the "3 course meal for 15$" is overcooked; small in portions and too salty. You will not eat there twice!
3. The jacuzzi tub is too small (one person!) and there is no TV in the bathroom of the penthouse suites (which if you're paying for a "great" room ought to have what competitors would offer).
4. Room service is expensive (taxes and automatic 18% gratuity can almost double your bill.
5. There is no coffee maker in the suites / rooms, which is typical of older, non-chain hotels as the wiring / electrical cannot support it, but ultimately this smacks of cheapness.
6. No complimentary water in suite; the tap water is non-potable, due to the age of the pipes it tastes awful and heavy. (It would be too simple to install in-room tap filters, especially in the suites' additional sink.)
7. The gym. It uses the same machines bought when the hotel opened in 1914 - how often does management go in there?!

Room Tip: Get an outward-facing room to avoid staring at smoke stacks, train tracks and the highway.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank localtravelore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thank you for your kind words and comprehensive review of our property! We are glad to have all types of feedback as it helps ensure that we are doing our very best to take care of our guests. In regards to the coffee makers, we believe our Espresso stands in the lobby are superb, and will satisfy many traveller's need for a great cup of coffee, however, we can appreciate a guest's desire to have in room coffee. Our wiring in the room is state-of-the-art, and is not the reason we do not have in-room coffee available. In regards to the gym equipment, we began installing brand new equipment on Sunday, so should you find yourself staying with us in the future, you will be pleased to see all new equipment! Again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback. We surely appreciate it, and hope to have you as a guest in the very near future!

Kind Regards ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed in the "original" hotel property, and it felt like we'd turned back the clock to another time and place (in a good way). From the doorman/valets, flower-shop, restored lobby, fire-side dining, and amazing Beaux-Arts-era details (stained glass, intricate moldings, etc.) -- and, admittedly, scores of people in all levels of attire meandering around taking pictures -- it's a very special historic site what felt like a very unlikely location. (If you're a history buff, be sure to check out the photos throughout the property, showing the Davenport's storied past.) Room was very comfortable and updated -- staying in the "old" building was no compromise. We did walk over to the "towers" property and found it to be an equally-busy, albeit sleeker sister, but would appear to cater to a slightly younger/more business-y crowd. Lavishly appointed, impressive, but not as charmingly quirky as the "parent" back across the street. On-property dining emphasizes local ingredients and had quite a decent wine list to boot.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClassicalEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#2 of 46 in Spokane
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Address: 10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#2 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range: $173 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection with its Kirkland Cutter architecture in the heart of downtown Spokane, Washington. Our brilliant hotel in Spokane has been restored to original elegance with modern amenities and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing