We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location and atmosphere”

Saranac Public House
Ranked #49 of 884 Restaurants in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Troutdale, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice location and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have been here a few times. The food and drinks are good. The location is an easy walk from convention center area hotels. (5-10 minutes tops from the Courtyard Marriott)

The meatloaf was a little salty for my taste the last time I was there, but the time before was spot on. The burger with a side of mac and cheese is a nice meal on a winter night. Good vibe and look. I will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    62
    14
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pacific NW
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food near Spokane WSU campus”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I decided to see if we could find a restaurant within walking distance of WSU's Spokane Campus. We were delighted to find Saranac - it is comfortable relaxing restaurant with friendly staff and simple but excellent food. Echoing the other reviewers, staff takes pride in making sure you have a great dining experience.

The onion and goat flatbread and the vegan mac & cheese were delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PNWTraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Vegan, Vegetarian or Carnivore, The Bases Are Covered”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I were out with friends for Spokane’s First Friday gallery event. We usually have dinner after the last gallery we visit and this time our last stop was Saranac Art Projects, located next door to the Saranac Public House and Magic Lantern Theater.

Sometimes it’s hard to find a restaurant we can all enjoy as most of the group are omnivores, some are vegetarians and one can have no dairy so they eat vegan. The Saranac Public House covered all of the bases very well with multiple menu choices for all. In addition to a good selection of food, they have a good mix of micro brews on tap as well as a full bar.

All in all, a great casual dining experience for all ages and pallet persuasions.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IdahoTraveler83815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
219 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“What a nice find”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went there with some friends prior to seeing a show at indie movie theatre next door. What a pleasant surprise...The kitchen puts out some terrific food thats well executed. This is on of those places that takes simple food and takes it to the next step. You can tell there was lots of though and pride into the plates..

the pulled pork tacos were spot with great flavor. The big pretzels was one of the best Ive had and it comes with a "clear your sinuses" mustard whats over the top.

The service was really friendly...genuinely friendly..not some peachy keen gee whiz type of friendly

The vegan chili wasnt too bad..Im not a big bell pepper lover so I didnt have too much of that..

prices were very reasonable....

We'll be back there alot!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding quality, value and service!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have fully enjoyed every visit. Great staff, quality offerings and low prices. One of the great up and coming establishments in the downtown area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saranac Public House also viewed

 

Been to Saranac Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing