We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vegan, Vegetarian or Carnivore, The Bases Are Covered”

Saranac Public House
Ranked #59 of 880 Restaurants in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Vegan, Vegetarian or Carnivore, The Bases Are Covered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I were out with friends for Spokane’s First Friday gallery event. We usually have dinner after the last gallery we visit and this time our last stop was Saranac Art Projects, located next door to the Saranac Public House and Magic Lantern Theater.

Sometimes it’s hard to find a restaurant we can all enjoy as most of the group are omnivores, some are vegetarians and one can have no dairy so they eat vegan. The Saranac Public House covered all of the bases very well with multiple menu choices for all. In addition to a good selection of food, they have a good mix of micro brews on tap as well as a full bar.

All in all, a great casual dining experience for all ages and pallet persuasions.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IdahoTraveler83815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    60
    14
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
219 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“What a nice find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went there with some friends prior to seeing a show at indie movie theatre next door. What a pleasant surprise...The kitchen puts out some terrific food thats well executed. This is on of those places that takes simple food and takes it to the next step. You can tell there was lots of though and pride into the plates..

the pulled pork tacos were spot with great flavor. The big pretzels was one of the best Ive had and it comes with a "clear your sinuses" mustard whats over the top.

The service was really friendly...genuinely friendly..not some peachy keen gee whiz type of friendly

The vegan chili wasnt too bad..Im not a big bell pepper lover so I didnt have too much of that..

prices were very reasonable....

We'll be back there alot!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding quality, value and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have fully enjoyed every visit. Great staff, quality offerings and low prices. One of the great up and coming establishments in the downtown area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This is the best value in downtown Spokane- really good food, great service, reasonable prices & warm atmosphere. I recommend it highly!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank valley110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

This restaurant has changed hands and names a few times, but I think they have finally found a winner. Located in the same building as the Magic Lantern Theater, Spokane's art theater, it is a natural fit for an afternoon dinner show or beverage. The menu is progressive without being snobbish.
We opted for the outdoor seating that provided an immersion in this up and coming part of town. Read: interesting and colorful people of all kinds will meander by your table.
We ordered the Chicken Caprese Sandwich which didn't disappoint. Crispy chicken filet, proscuitto, cheese, tomato and a pesto mayo well constructed in a nice kaiser roll. They used a really great tasting dressing on the Caesar salad and the Curried Lentil soup was just plain d'lish. It was really hard deciding on something to order because the whole darn menu looked so good. This will definitely become one of our go to places.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CouleeCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saranac Public House also viewed

 

Been to Saranac Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing