We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good German- American Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Das Stein Haus

Das Stein Haus
Ranked #116 of 852 Restaurants in Spokane
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good German- American Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Das Stein Haus is in a strip mall-so there is no view but the staff and food make up for lack of view. Authentic German food but menu also has a number of American favorites. We have been there 3 times with 4 to 6 other people. Staff handled our needs well and continued to check back. Our daughter has food intolerances and they accommodate her needs. The portions are very generous. An entrée serves two adults nicely. Their Strudel is made on site and is delicious. Their Black Forrest Cake is Wonderful.. The prices are reasonable. Das Stein Haus takes reservations which is nice. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    25
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very authentic German cuisine ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We had the sauerbraten and the bratwurst. Both were delicious. Be sure and have the spatzle as well. They also have a pretzel appetizer with house mustard.

Helpful?
Thank Leewinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
185 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised and would return again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great menu, great german beers, huge portions, very good dessert and attentive wait staff. True german food and a very nice find. Very few diners there on a Tuesday night.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank linda8201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Enjoyed dinner with 3 couples on a busy Friday night. Food a bit pricey, but good portions made it worthwhile. VERY AUTHENTIC German food! Loved, loved, loved the red cabbage! All of us were very happy with our meals and plenty to take home for leftovers. Even thought the place was busy, we didn't feel rushed out--thank you, for we truly enjoyed our evening there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FiveGsplus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wunderbar!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Ate here twice during a long stay in town. The combo plate gives you a nice taste of a few different dishes. Don't miss trying the apple strudel. It's not kitzish on décor or staff costumes...just a normal looking restaurant with fantastic food!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Das Stein Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing