We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good German- American Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Das Stein Haus

Das Stein Haus
Ranked #109 of 875 Restaurants in Spokane
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good German- American Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Das Stein Haus is in a strip mall-so there is no view but the staff and food make up for lack of view. Authentic German food but menu also has a number of American favorites. We have been there 3 times with 4 to 6 other people. Staff handled our needs well and continued to check back. Our daughter has food intolerances and they accommodate her needs. The portions are very generous. An entrée serves two adults nicely. Their Strudel is made on site and is delicious. Their Black Forrest Cake is Wonderful.. The prices are reasonable. Das Stein Haus takes reservations which is nice. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    27
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very authentic German cuisine ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We had the sauerbraten and the bratwurst. Both were delicious. Be sure and have the spatzle as well. They also have a pretzel appetizer with house mustard.

Helpful?
Thank Leewinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
195 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised and would return again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great menu, great german beers, huge portions, very good dessert and attentive wait staff. True german food and a very nice find. Very few diners there on a Tuesday night.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank linda8201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Enjoyed dinner with 3 couples on a busy Friday night. Food a bit pricey, but good portions made it worthwhile. VERY AUTHENTIC German food! Loved, loved, loved the red cabbage! All of us were very happy with our meals and plenty to take home for leftovers. Even thought the place was busy, we didn't feel rushed out--thank you, for we truly enjoyed our evening there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FiveGsplus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wunderbar!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Ate here twice during a long stay in town. The combo plate gives you a nice taste of a few different dishes. Don't miss trying the apple strudel. It's not kitzish on décor or staff costumes...just a normal looking restaurant with fantastic food!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Das Stein Haus also viewed

 

Been to Das Stein Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing