We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Lion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion River Inn
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Seattle
1 review
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was not a 3 star hotel. It is a very large hotel. It was noisy and I could hear conversations in the hallway and next door. The outdoor pool was so dirty and gross, I wouldn't let my child swim in it. This was the second larger pool on the property. I was put in a handicapped room, which is okay if it was clean and in working condition. I felt the sheets were clean but the rest of the room had needed an additional touch up. I found hairs and small pieces of garbage. The lamp in the room did not work, neither did the remote or the bathroom light/fan. I could have contacted the front desk to have these working items remedied but just decided we were not there long enough to warrant it. I did let the hotel staff know about it on our departure. And they did apologize, which was appreciated. Finally, we dined in the restaurant for breakfast. I was the only occupant with my child and had to ask for a kids menu. I had to get up to ask for coffee. The service was horrible. I hope to never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Michal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion River Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding cleanliness in your guest room and we will certainly address your concerns with our housekeeping staff. I would like to apologize for the poor service you received at the restaurant as well.
Thank you for your feedback you are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    228
    146
    60
    43
See reviews for
241
158
38
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Richland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

As many others have commented, this hotel is very nicely located; right on the Spokane River with a walking trail literally right outside the door. As with many Red Lions, this is older and hasn't been updated all that recently. However, it has been treated extremely well so is aging much more gracefully than others I've been to. Rooms a very clean and comfortable. Just a great value at a very nice and convenient place in Spokane.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank ResidentWestRichland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Older property that is in need of updating. Great location close to downtown. Be sure to ask for a ground floor room. The rooms were very clean. The staff was very friendly. The fragrance they spray the in the room was very over powering. We had to open the window to air out the room. I attempted to check in 1 hour early but was told that 3 pm is the check in time unless I would accept a downgrade in room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msb345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked this room under a 25% discount promotion, so the rate was very good for the room we had. We booked a Deluxe/Premium King room, which comes with a river view. The room was very comfortable, spacious and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl_Rossland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have stayed a number times in the last 10 years when coming up to Spokane for a weekend away from the Tri Cities. The location is beautiful, right on the river, with a path that joins up with the river trail. I have seen marmots and racoons within 200 feet of the restaurant's deck. The rooms are nicely done and they have kept them updated. Even though the property overall is a little bit older, they have done a good job of keeping it fresh. We did not eat in the restaurant this most recent trip, but their breakfasts have always been outstanding. The rooms also have fridges (not minibars), which is nice for keeping drinks and such cold. They have a couple of pools in the summe that are nicely kept up (and always chock full of kids on weekends). Also a couple of tennis courts. One thing to note on weekends, Red Lion is popular with sports teams coming up to play in the many events that Spokane seems to host. No problem for us, but there are often lots of kids and teenagers around. That said, we have never had a problem with noise. The location is great for walking across the river into downtown, or river park and the convention center (5-10 minutes tops). We never take our car over. This year, we were there for July 4th and our room looked over the park, so we watched the fireworks from our window. The staff here are always very competent and friendly, with lots of bright, cheerful college students working the front desk. We had our mountain bikes with us this trip, and were happy to let us store them in our rooms, but also offered us downstairs storage is one of their maintenance rooms.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if you have a lot of stuff, ask for a first floor room. Also rooms overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were in Spokane on business. Our room was nice and clean, the front desk help went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. We enjoyed the lounge in the evening as we sat out on the river, it was relaxing and beautiful. We took the shuttle downtown for dinner, the van driver was so professional and very helpful. we called when we were ready to be picked up and within minutes he was there. Having the internet in our room was very helpful. This Hotel was perfect - The Spokane River makes it so inviting. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
142 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed here on business and was pleasantly surprised to have such a nice updated Red Lion (as many are showing their age by now).

Room and bathroom very clean, updated, loved my view of the river and best of all was the walking trail literally right from the hotel along the river.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
0.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Spokane Downtown at the Convention Center
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ruby
Hotel Ruby
#13 of 46 in Spokane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion River Inn

Property: Red Lion River Inn
Address: 700 N Division St, Spokane, WA 99202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion River Inn is a quiet urban hideaway nestled along the beautiful north bank of the Spokane River in Spokane Washington. Just steps from Riverfront Park and the Centennial Trail, our guests have easy access to Gonzaga University, the Convention Center, and the INB Performing Arts Center as well as Spokane's best shopping, entertainment, restaurants and the downtown business district. We are also close to Spokane Veterans Arena and 10 miles from Spokane International Airport.Each of our guests can be assured of friendly Northwest hospitality and exceptional service. We offer 245 tastefully appointed, contemporary rooms and suites furnished with comfort in mind. Other comforts include Red Lion's signature beds featuring Sealy pillowtop mattresses and Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP). Deluxe rooms feature king-sized beds with beautiful river views. All rooms include complimentary wi-fi and also complimentary parking and airport transportation.If resort-style fun is what you're looking for, activities abound with two seasonal outdoor pools and a fitness center as well as volleyball, tennis and basketball courts available for your pleasure. For your next event, our 2,800 square feet of meeting space can accommodate groups of up to 250.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion River Hotel Spokane
Red Lion Spokane
Spokane Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing