We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I liked It”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Lion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion River Inn
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
montana
Level Contributor
197 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“I liked It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

For the price ($50 on priceline) this is a good deal.......in its day, this place was probably awesome.....a little aged, but has everything and then some.....tennis court, outdoor pool, a really nice workout room, nice bar, restaurant, and free wi-fi......room was clean and it had a flat screen tv which I like......location is great....right in the heart of the downtown area of Spokane.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtripguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    228
    146
    60
    43
See reviews for
241
158
38
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have stayed at both the Red Lions in Spokane now and I prefer the Park one better. It was a nice hotel and I did get a GREAT price on there club website. The hot tub didn't work and there was no indoor pool (for winter here, and no indoor pool?). And the beds didn't seem as nice. Oh, they were still wonderful beds, and maybe it was just the impression I got from being disappointed about no pool or hot tub (which I was really looking forward to). The reasurant was VERY GOOD. I had the salad and onion soup combo for dinner, best onion soup I ever tasted. The band in the bar was pretty good, alittle loud, made my back teeth rattle a little and they didn't know ANY Jimmy Buffett, but still understandable. They did tell me about all the drawbacks when I was checking in and I didn't think it would make sure a big differance to me, and they did give me the oppertunity to go to the Park, but I stayed. I would stay here again. One of the GREAT things about this place is they allowed my dog in the room with me and then put me on the bottom floor with a door to the outside. They even had a doggie gift bag...yes it was a pick up bag and a doggie bone, but it was the thought. But again, rooms were clean, comfortable and nice, food and drinks were great and the people were helpful and friendly. It was a good over nighter.

Room Tip: Order the Onion soup...its the best you will have in your life!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler195555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

After reading a few other travelers reviews of this Red Lion location I was a little bit afraid of what this hotel was going to be like. I am happy to say I was very, very impressed/happy with my stay! The girl at the front desk, Brittany, was very friendly, the bed was soft and comfortable, the hotel restaurant makes a great steak and vegetables with an impressive happy hour menu, and they have live music on Tuesdays! I'm in Spokane for business once a month and have been staying at the DoubleTree or Hotel Lusso downtown, but based on this experience I'll be here a lot more in the future!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScheminWillieBeamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

They don't mention only "seasonal" room service, if you like stained carpet and bedding with an eighties flower theme stay here, I made a reservation for 4 nights after 2 nights the marijuana smell was so strong I had to check out, and no refund for the the other 2 nights! I would encourage families never to stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Coporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion River Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding cleanliness in your guest room and we will certainly address your concerns with our housekeeping staff.
Thank you for your feedback you are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I booked this room with hotels.com expecting a clean comfortable room for a one night stay. The front desk was very friendly. The room however was not friendly at all. The smell of mold/mildew was over whelming. I requested a room change and was told "we are booked for the night, we could place an IONIZER in your room for a couple of hours to see if that helps." I usually stay at Red Lion motels in Spokane and have always had a good experience with them. I was very disappointed this time. Especially when they were unwilling to refund my money for the room. I will use caution the next time I book with them. I recommend to stay away from the Red Lion River Inn and consider staying at the Red Lion at the Park.

Room Tip: Request to see room before first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene' L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion River Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the bad odor in your room.
We do appreciate your feedback so that we are given the opportunity to address your concerns. We thank you very much and we hope to have the chance to serve you better in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The location along the river is very nice in the summer, but the accommodations are quite poor. We stayed two nights and had to switch rooms for the second night. We were told that the second room would be nicer but both were tired and old. The carpet was stained and the room smelled stale. The worst part, however, was how noisy the hotel was both nights. The walls are paper thin, and it sounded like an elephant was in the room above us. In the morning, there was not enough hot water for two showers. Wow.

To the hotel's credit, the staff is friendly and there is live music most nights in the restaurant. The breakfast was good, and the room price was affordable. Unfortunately that doesn't help a person get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelAndrade, Manager at Red Lion River Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your feed back regarding your most recent stay. We have some great updates coming in the next few months to our hotel that we are really excited about. I truley apologize and hope that you will give our propoerty another chance in the near future.
We were so glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, staff, great music and food we offer!
Thank you again for your feed back and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was the perfect end to a long day of driving. The room was clean. The distance from the parking lot was less than some places I have stayed due to the layout of buildings. They accepted our pet easily and we had no issues with the staff. The closeness of restaurants was another big plus. This was a good place for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
0.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Spokane Downtown at the Convention Center
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ruby
Hotel Ruby
#13 of 46 in Spokane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion River Inn

Property: Red Lion River Inn
Address: 700 N Division St, Spokane, WA 99202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion River Inn is a quiet urban hideaway nestled along the beautiful north bank of the Spokane River in Spokane Washington. Just steps from Riverfront Park and the Centennial Trail, our guests have easy access to Gonzaga University, the Convention Center, and the INB Performing Arts Center as well as Spokane's best shopping, entertainment, restaurants and the downtown business district. We are also close to Spokane Veterans Arena and 10 miles from Spokane International Airport.Each of our guests can be assured of friendly Northwest hospitality and exceptional service. We offer 245 tastefully appointed, contemporary rooms and suites furnished with comfort in mind. Other comforts include Red Lion's signature beds featuring Sealy pillowtop mattresses and Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP). Deluxe rooms feature king-sized beds with beautiful river views. All rooms include complimentary wi-fi and also complimentary parking and airport transportation.If resort-style fun is what you're looking for, activities abound with two seasonal outdoor pools and a fitness center as well as volleyball, tennis and basketball courts available for your pleasure. For your next event, our 2,800 square feet of meeting space can accommodate groups of up to 250.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion River Hotel Spokane
Red Lion Spokane
Spokane Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing