We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gonzaga College visit”
Review of Red Lion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion River Inn
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Reviewed October 22, 2012

For the most convenient location when visiting Gonzgaga University this is the place to be. We didn't rent a car and walked back and forth to campus (10 minutes along the pretty river path).The River Inn is not the cleanest and could use some freshening up but we are willing to over look these things for a weekend for the Family Fall visit.
For a step up in accommodations the Davenport is wonderful. We have stayed there twice but there you are giving up the ease of being on campus in minutes.

Room Tip: building 6 is closest to campus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 781 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stay at Red Lions almost exclusively when I can. I had to fly out really early the next morning, so I stayed here and took the shuttle. My wife and I had concert tickets at the Knitting Factory as well. That night, I tried their shuttle for the first time. It worked flawlessly. I was really worried we would be waiting, and perhaps be late if there were a lot of flights going (their priority of course), then we would have waited, but as it ended up, we got there within minutes.

The next morning was just as easy for the Red Eye Flight I had. I was only disappointed that I had to leave earlier than they opened the restaurant for breakfast. It was included in my room, but I missed out. Dont forget to tip your shuttle driver. They get you there safely, and it would cost you a bunch more for a taxi.

Staff at Front Desk were really nice and helpful. I find that if you ask nicely, they are just as nice back. Maybe a recommendation for others based on some reviews I have read.

Room was fine, bed was comfy, and that is the reason I stay at Red Lions....the beds are consistently good for a restful nights sleep.

I wish we would have had time to eat at the restaurant as well. It looked like a nice view and atmosphere next to the river. Lots of walkers/runners/bikers on the trail right next to the hotel, so if you are one that enjoys that, it would be nice to take advantage of this great trail.

Have a nice stay when you book here!

Room Tip: You might want to get a room close to the main desk. Ours was in the back, and we walked through ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is one of my favorite Spokane hotels, right downtown and right on the Spokane river. Easy access from I-90 using the Division Street exit will take you right to the hotel. Nicely remodeled recently it's an excellent place to stay and enjoy Spokane. Rates are reasonable and the lounge and restaurant are good.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and book a riverside room for the views. Also, this is a very long hotel made up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband booked this hotel on a Hotwire hot deal for our family of four. We paid a very reasonable rate. I was somewhat reluctant about the hotel because of some negative reviews but as it turns out, our stay was very good. We would give it 3.5 if we could. Front desk staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient. Our room was absolutely okay..clean and didn't seem worn out. It did smell musty or stale when we entered...maybe they need to open the windows when making up the room. Beds were comfortable. tv was older style but worked fine. Overall cleanliness was very good...I'm fussy about that. We were in bldg 6 which is farthest away from the lobby. We were glad because there is a long hallway that connects the buildings and it would be noisy having people walk by all evening. We could hear our upstairs neighbor walking around and heard two sets of people walk by in the hallway at night (doors don't stop hallway noise). Was glad room doors don't slam noisily like many other hotels. Other than these, it was a quiet pleasant stay. We didn't use pools or spa so can't comment on them. Would definitely consider this hotel again..nothing wrong with it.

Room Tip: Second floor room in any bldg. bldg 6 is quieter but is a ways from the lobby..okay if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I found this on priceline, and I'm glad I did because it was a good deal. As other reviewers have stated, I probably would be less satisfied if I paid full price.

The room actually had some nice fixtures (Kohler faucets/tub, granite in the bathroom, patio door), but the room needed a good cleaning/refreshing. If they spent time doing this, I think the room would have been perfect! The carpet was dingy, curtains need a clean, etc.

The only other complaint is that the hotel is multiple buildings, and it feels like you're in an apartment complex. Because the desk clerk said they've had problems with car break-ins, I parked near the main building but had to walk a ways to my room 3 buildings over. This is inconvenient if you are by yourself and have to make a few trips!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Booked this hotel based on pictures shown on the internet. It looked like a decent place being next to the river and also having a restaurant with outdoor seating seemed appealing. We have a family of 4 and the first thing that happened when we opened the door was both kids saying it smelled like smoke. It was suppose to be a non smoking room. I didn't smell smoke but I did smell the usual musty smell that hotels sometimes have. The people above us walked like a heard of elephants and our room we noticed was directly across from the workout facilities. It was also right next door to an employee break room and adjacent to the utilityand laundry rooms so there was constant noise outside our door. Needless to say it was difficult to get any sleep. Upon checkout my husband told the front desk clerk of our displeasure with our room and how we did not get any sleep for 3 nights. Her reply was "Oh sorry", "I will let managment know". -Really is she going to let management know???
I told my husband he should have asked to speak to a manager, but he just said well we will never stay here again!!! When we got home my husband also notice a charge for $10 on our bill and when he called to ask what it was for, nobody could answer the question. They said they would have to research and call us back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelAndrade, Front Office Manager at Red Lion River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of the hotel, please accept my apology for the poor service you experienced. This is not typical of the service offered our property, and I am confident that if given a chance for a return visit, you would have a different experience. We appreciate the feedback, and will use it to help improve the services that we offer. Again, thank you for taking the time to make us aware, and I do hope to see you as a guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel overnight after a long rode trip before catching a plane early the next morning. I found the hotel on-line and was pleasantly surprised at the friendly service and the restaurant which was very nice for a one night stay. It has a very nice dining patio on the river for dining in good weather.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Spokane Downtown at the Convention Center
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Spokane Airport
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spokane Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion River Inn

Address: 700 N Division St, Spokane, WA 99202-1613
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Price Range: $96 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion River Inn is a quiet urban hideaway nestled along the beautiful north bank of the Spokane River in Spokane Washington. Just steps from Riverfront Park and the Centennial Trail, our guests have easy access to Gonzaga University, the Convention Center, and the INB Performing Arts Center as well as Spokane's best shopping, entertainment, restaurants and the downtown business district. We are also close to Spokane Veterans Arena and 10 miles from Spokane International Airport.Each of our guests can be assured of friendly Northwest hospitality and exceptional service. We offer 245 tastefully appointed, contemporary rooms and suites furnished with comfort in mind. Other comforts include Red Lion's signature beds featuring Sealy pillowtop mattresses and Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP). Deluxe rooms feature king-sized beds with beautiful river views. All rooms include complimentary wi-fi and also complimentary parking and airport transportation.If resort-style fun is what you're looking for, activities abound with two seasonal outdoor pools and a fitness center as well as volleyball, tennis and basketball courts available for your pleasure. For your next event, our 2,800 square feet of meeting space can accommodate groups of up to 250.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion River Hotel Spokane
Red Lion Spokane
Spokane Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing