We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but Discounted”
Review of Red Lion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion River Inn
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dated but Discounted”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

You get what you pay for...if you are lucky. This property is in need of serious work. Walking into the room smelled like opening a suitcase after returning from staying with my chain smoking grandmother. Although labeled as "non-smoking" it smelled like an ash tray cleaned with a dry paper towel. In fact the entire property smelled of stale cigarette smoke.

On the otherhand the staff was friendly and accomodating. There is a full service restaurant and bar on site. The location is convenient. The price was right.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wazoocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    235
    153
    67
    45
See reviews for
259
170
40
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Silverton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is reasonably priced and located near the downtown area. We used it as an overnight stay prior to a flight. The desk staff were quite helpful , the rooms OK , and the hotel restraunt and lounge were fine. Might use it again .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvertontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Made a reservation here because they alledgely offer Gonzaga Parents a discount. I'm not sure when this discount is available because they claimed it didn't apply to this visit or the next one I was planning on booking. Without the discount, the Hilton is cheaper - even with paying for parking a car. This one is a no brainer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fencermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelAndrade, Manager at Red Lion River Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. I was sorry to hear that we were unable to offer you the Gonzaga Friends & Family rate. The rate is not usually available during event and holiday weekends but we do try our best to offer a rate comparable that includes free parking as well as an all you eat breakfast buffet. We also are just a short walk along our private River trail where you could be on Gonzaga's campus within minutes.
Gonzaga students, family, and friends, are very important to our hotel and we do hope that you will consider us in the future.
We appreciate your feedback.

Kind Regards~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I booked this place via Priceline (paid under $50 for 1 night) and it was listed as 3 stars but I beg to differ. The property is sprawled out so you could have a room quite far from the lobby/pool. I had a room in the farthest building for 10 minutes (I asked to be switched because the non-smoking room smelled like smoke) - I noticed that the hallways were extremely hot (blowing hot air into the hallway on a hot day) and there were only stairs to the second floor (no elevator so beware if you need this).

The staff was very nice about switching me to another room - opening onto the pool (which is very small). The second room smelled musty and like that rental car smell (feet). No fridge in room, free wifi.

It is adequate for 1 night of a road trip but I would not return nor recommend it.
The staff is nice and quick to help but the facilities are just old and need an overhaul.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keli27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelAndrade, Front Office Manager at Red Lion River Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. I understand how frustrating it can be to have to change rooms shortly after you checked-in and then to be greeted by hot air blowing in the hallways on a warm day is not a pleasent welcoming either. I was glad to hear the Front Desk was nice and quick to assist you with changing rooms.
Please accept our sincere apology for your experience. We appreciate your feedback and can assure you that your comments have been forwarded to our Housekeeping and Maintenance departments for detailed follow up.

Thank you again for bringing your concerns to our attention. It is with comments like yours that help us to improve our services overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great Place to stay! The staff was excellent and the whole place was very clean! Location was amazing, drinks outside the lounge next to the river were great. The place was easy to get to and find,, not only being centered right in town which makes everything so accessable. I do wish they had refridgerators in every room.. that would've been a ton of help for us. And when we were there only one pool was open, which made it very crowded.. but it was clean and well taken care of.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The staff at the Red Lion Inn at the Park were very friendly, remembered my name quickly and kept the experience in the hotel balanced. I stayed eight days for a conference so I was able to see multiple staff shift changes and the hotel in an overall capacity. My only concern was with banquet service staff, but I shared my reviews with management and hope this will have improved by the time I visit again.

Room Tip: I loved the view of the pool from my room at night with the blue lighting from the fourth floor was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsLa-Tica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were happy with this hotel. We had a second-floor room with a river view in Unit V (five). I would highly recommend and upstairs room in one of the end units since they are farther from the road and the restaurant/meeting rooms. We didn't use either pool or tennis court, but they looked clean and maintained. Nice dinning area outside by the river and river walk. Take the river walk to the site of the 1974 Worlds Fair, very nice.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the end units upstairs with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom56CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
0.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Spokane Downtown at the Convention Center
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#3 of 46 in Spokane
767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spokane Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion River Inn

Property: Red Lion River Inn
Address: 700 N Division St, Spokane, WA 99202-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion River Inn is a quiet urban hideaway nestled along the beautiful north bank of the Spokane River in Spokane Washington. Just steps from Riverfront Park and the Centennial Trail, our guests have easy access to Gonzaga University, the Convention Center, and the INB Performing Arts Center as well as Spokane's best shopping, entertainment, restaurants and the downtown business district. We are also close to Spokane Veterans Arena and 10 miles from Spokane International Airport.Each of our guests can be assured of friendly Northwest hospitality and exceptional service. We offer 245 tastefully appointed, contemporary rooms and suites furnished with comfort in mind. Other comforts include Red Lion's signature beds featuring Sealy pillowtop mattresses and Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP). Deluxe rooms feature king-sized beds with beautiful river views. All rooms include complimentary wi-fi and also complimentary parking and airport transportation.If resort-style fun is what you're looking for, activities abound with two seasonal outdoor pools and a fitness center as well as volleyball, tennis and basketball courts available for your pleasure. For your next event, our 2,800 square feet of meeting space can accommodate groups of up to 250.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion River Hotel Spokane
Red Lion Spokane
Spokane Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing