We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Location on the Spokane River”
Review of Red Lion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion River Inn
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sweet Location on the Spokane River”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We spent 2 nights here, enjoying our river-view room, impressive hot breakfast buffet and one lunch on the restaurant's lovely patio. The accommodations are basic and include everything you'd expect. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The Red Lion River Inn's situation right on the river walk (Centennial Trail) was fantastic....great for jogging, biking, and exploring, on foot, Spokane's riverfront and downtown. It's convenient to everything. If you don't require excessive square footage and bling, this is a fine accommodation.

Room Tip: A river view room is particularly pleasant. If you stay on the second floor the views are better. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanNHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    236
    153
    67
    45
See reviews for
259
170
40
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Nice inn, with adequate amenities, by the river walk where one can take a leisurely stroll... Site of the World's Fair can be seen from the river walk. Friendly staff and good service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goavidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed at the River Inn during Lilac Festival week. Staff most accommodating to our special needs (wheelchair). Houskeeping was superb. Ripples restaurant needs to staff the desk more adequately - waited about 5 minutes at the desk more than once before any of the staff noticed that we were waiting for service. On the other hand, the restaurant gladly provided my wife with a cup of broth without charge when I came by the counter and asked for it, mentioning that she was feeling ill.

The made to order breakfast (Denver omlet) was much better than the famed breakfast buffet.
I hope that it was just an "off day". The eggs were dry and getting cold, as were the potatoes O'Brien.

Would we stay there again? You bet!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level Contributor
350 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed here during Lilac Festival Week end. we had trouble checking in as the hotel had confused corporate credit card numbers. The front desk is attentive, but customer service is challenging. with 6 people in line they have beed trained to focus on guests, on a one to one basis. As a results you may wait in line for a very long time I needed lotion - which is not in the rooms- I waited in line,15 minutes at the front desk, for this simple request. I am also confused as to how some guests (who paid the same rate as us were given a complimentary breakfast).$109.00 a nite. But the room was clean and I loved using the gym and the computer in the lobby. Parking is free and the river walk a joy. We will try again to stay here. thank you to mgmt who gave us a dinner discount coupon, after we complained about our lack of service. This could be a better place

Room Tip: very few river view rooms..go for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramonabare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
345 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I bid on Priceline and won this hotel for $55 ($67.47 with taxes and fees). The AAA rate was $111.20. My bid was for a 3* in the downtown Spokane area. We stayed two nights as we were visiting two colleges.
The hotel is near Gonzaga, one of the schools. I'm sure we could have walked there, had we known how close we were. The civic center is close, too. The hotel is on the river, with a park and path just outside the back door of the hotel. My next surprise was that Clinkerdaggers, one of the best restaurants in Spokane, and on my list of must-visits, was two blocks down that river path. Take a right, as you head out the back door.
Surprise number three came on the second morning, when I finally opened our room curtain. Our room overlooked the river. It was beautiful. I use Priceline all the time and never get "views".
As previously mentioned, the hotel is dated, especially the bathroom tile. The carpeting looks to be from the 80's, but it's in good shape, so couldn't possibly be that old. Furniture and draperies were current, IMO.
Parking was $8/day. You pay it up front and use your room key to raise and lower the parking lot arm. There is a lot across the street that is $7/day, but not gated.
My only other complaint was that the hotel seems to cater to large groups of high school and college students. My son didn't consider that a problem, though ; )

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamaralea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisun City, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Entity was well staffed, clean and over very good.
All staff seem to take the time to make eye contact and listen.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
0.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Spokane Downtown at the Convention Center
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#3 of 46 in Spokane
767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spokane Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion River Inn

Property: Red Lion River Inn
Address: 700 N Division St, Spokane, WA 99202-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion River Inn is a quiet urban hideaway nestled along the beautiful north bank of the Spokane River in Spokane Washington. Just steps from Riverfront Park and the Centennial Trail, our guests have easy access to Gonzaga University, the Convention Center, and the INB Performing Arts Center as well as Spokane's best shopping, entertainment, restaurants and the downtown business district. We are also close to Spokane Veterans Arena and 10 miles from Spokane International Airport.Each of our guests can be assured of friendly Northwest hospitality and exceptional service. We offer 245 tastefully appointed, contemporary rooms and suites furnished with comfort in mind. Other comforts include Red Lion's signature beds featuring Sealy pillowtop mattresses and Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP). Deluxe rooms feature king-sized beds with beautiful river views. All rooms include complimentary wi-fi and also complimentary parking and airport transportation.If resort-style fun is what you're looking for, activities abound with two seasonal outdoor pools and a fitness center as well as volleyball, tennis and basketball courts available for your pleasure. For your next event, our 2,800 square feet of meeting space can accommodate groups of up to 250.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion River Hotel Spokane
Red Lion Spokane
Spokane Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing