We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado springs
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, not helpful”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Vacation with kids on the way to canada. Great location by the riverfront park which is in itself reason to come here. But this place is enormous and seemed full of conventioneers who were more important than we were. Oh yes you pay to park for $8 here and you pay for a breakfast which is $12.95 per person. So we opted for the "windows" restaurant breakfast which was cheaper but had lousy service. Maybe another 2 wait staff? Spent our next two nights at another hometel, my kids word.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruckerco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I apologize that we left a sour taste in your mouth regarding our staffing and friendliness. I can assure you that is not Red Lion stands for and we will be taking the necessary steps to improve in these areas.


Regards,

Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    459
    316
    243
    161
See reviews for
596
299
67
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Yes, it's in a nice location on the park if you plan to walk a lot, however, this means you also have a long walk to restaurants etc. At check in I asked if they had luggage carts and the girl at the front just shrugged and said , " I think so?" No explanation of where our room was, what the hotel had to offer etc. I paid for a "superior room with 2 queens". When we arrived, I wasn't sure how the room could be any smaller. The bathroom is tiny as well. One of our kids had to sleep in a sleeping bag (our choice) but there was barely space on the stained floor for a 5 year old to sleep. I brought my concerns to the girl at the front desk who was clueless. She couldn't even explain the differences between the rooms, and mid sentence, went to the "back room" to discuss with a manager or someone. She came out and told me a "superior room just means it's in a less noisy part of the hotel or maybe it has a better view ?" When I told her we had a view of the parking lot she just went back to the back. In the end, she said she couldn't change anything, wouldn't give me any discount.
Pool was very crowded and very odd set up in that you have to wear your bathing suit from your room, no place to change there, and no robes offered. Tiny bathrooms near pool were wet, dirty and gross. Chose red lion bc of the water slide, but it wasn't very little kid friendly as it shoots you into very deep water and my little ones got tossed on it and hit their heads. If you want service, cleanliness and a bit of room to breathe, stay elsewhere!! River front park was great and the Spokane falls totally worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheemantravelbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I apologize about the concerns you had during your stay. We value each and every guest comments both good and bad to ensure you have a great experience. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We've stayed at this Red Lion a few times and will stay again. Pros: The breakfast buffet is good. We like the pools and fitness room. The rooms are clean and comfortable. TV has HBO. Cons: They charge $9 for parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyb0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for the great comments. It is our goal to become fantastic! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Regards,

Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Visited for a conference, which definitely colored my perspective. They have a long way to go to be fantastic.

The Good: As others have said, the proximity to the park is a huge plus for this hotel, as there always seems to be something going on. Our sleep quality was fine, and the Tower King room was comfortable and clean, with a great view. Their small coffee bar was completely overwhelmed one morning and the manager stepped up to assist the barista, heroically trying to help her keep up even though he clearly was unfamiliar with how to mix all the drinks. I was impressed with his efforts.

The hotel seemed to be quite dog friendly which depending on your allergies could be good or bad.

Needs Improvement: Ate only once at the restaurant and our waitress truly lived up to her Gothic look with her hostile attitude. My husband who doesn't normally pick up on these things looked at me at one point and whispered "Did I do something to offend her?" He is about the most inoffensive man you'd meet and certainly didn't deserve the eye-rolling and huffiness from her.

As for conferences: The hotel is a maze, and the map they provide is unhelpful. The ground floor (lobby) is not actually the first floor, and following signs directing you to the lobby will not actually get you anywhere - I followed the signs saying "Lobby --->" one point and ended up in a dark dead end only to realize later that I was below the lobby, but of course there was no follow up signage directing me to go up a floor, etc. Taking the stairs instead of waiting for the elevator may get you locked up in a stairwell. It really is frustrating to be at a place where it is their business to handle large groups and yet have their signage be wrong or non-existent.

If you are going for a group dinner and one of your menu choices is "vegetarian" I would strongly urge you to stick with the cliche "rubber chicken" instead. At our event the vegetarian option was a tiny amount of rice, a few pieces of broccoli and three small sprigs of asparagus. Comically substandard.

Room Tip: Most of the people from my group's block of rooms were on the opposite side of the hotel from me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyoftheMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We take all customer issues very seriously. I'm sorry to hear our Food & Beverage staff did not behave in a professional manner. That is not what Red Lion stands for or promotes. Please accept my apologies and I hope if you us a chance to make it up to you on your next stay. May I suggest giving our dining outlets another go as we just improved our menu.


Regards,

Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed here for work. I thought the hotel was a great value. It's in a great location and the room was very clean. This will definitely be the hotel I stay at on future trips to Spokane. Hopefully they'll give me the River view after this glowing review.

The treadmills were very well maintained.

Also, the staff was awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for the great comments! Consider the river view a done deal (Based on availability of course). We hope to welcome you back in the near future and we are glad to see you also had a chance to workout while enjoying our hotel as well.


Regards,

Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Dirty towels, wrinkly bed sheets, unfriendly staff.. I would rather avoid it and go to another place with better service for the money.
I understand that housekeeping can't be 100% good, but come on, brown dirt on towel and boogers on the wall?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Vic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you very much for providing helpful feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry to hear about the difficulty you had in the cleanliness of your room. We take all of our guest’s comments seriously as they assist us in providing better service. We hope you will be staying with us again so we can prove our ability to exceed your expectations.

Regards,

Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel guide in the room says the outdoor pool area is open until 10pm in the summer, but today, on July 7th, I tried to get to the pool at 9pm and was locked out. At the desk, when I said the guide said the pool was open until 10pm I was told "I get that a lot, but it closes at sundown" (before 9pm at this point in July!). The option is a florescent lighted indoor pool that is open until 10. Not nearly as nice on a very warm July evening, so I came back to my room to watch TV. Really?? If that doesn't matter to you, it's okay. Nice rooms with refrigerators, but eh.....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Higgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I apologize that our guest directory had what appears to be the wrong info on our pool hours. we are in the process of refreshing those to include all the proper information pertaining to our property. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Lion River Inn
Red Lion River Inn
#23 of 46 in Spokane
748 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Spokane Downtown at the Convention Center
0.6 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park

Property: Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
Address: 303 W. North River Drive, Spokane, WA 99201-2255
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Spokane
#14 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Spokane as a local. Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, located on the banks of the Spokane River, is your key to downtown Spokane. Our new modern guest rooms and suites lie steps away from Riverfront Park and local attractions like the Spokane Convention Center and some of the city's best restaurants and cafes. We have all the features you need, like complimentary Wi-Fi and craft amenities. Curiosity is the only compass you will need. Grab a cup of free coffee from Victrola Coffee Roasters, located onsite at Hotel RL, for some of the city's best artisanal coffee, and enjoy it alongside local artists at The Living Stage. A hub for community engagement and entertainment, The Living Stage hosts local artists, musicians, speakers and more. When you're ready to see more of Spokane, take advantage of our onsite bike rental and explore the city at your own pace. Business and event travelers will enjoy Spokane's best event space at Hotel RL. With over 30,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, you'll also be able to host an intimate meeting or a large banquet celebration. Catering and AV equipment are included by our professional staff. Your guests will enjoy our modern space while indulging in stunning views of the Spokane River and Riverfront Park. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, The Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Spokane partner: Blessings Under the Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Spokane
Red Lion Spokane
Spokane Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing