We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stay Away!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manson
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay Away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A very unhappy experience. Dirty room (dust, grime in several areas), used soap from previous occupant in shower, dirty windows. Our room had 2 beds (requested 1 bed) but only one chair. That one desk chair was broken, very uncomfortable -- we were on a working trip, needing a desk area. Since we were attending a conference, we had to stay -- I couldn't WAIT to get out of there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyful747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review! All feedback, good or bad, assists us in making our guests stay more comfortable. I would like to truly apologize for the lack of cleanliness in your room. This is definitely not the type of stay we want our guests to have! We value you as our guest, and look forward to having you with us again soon.


Warm Regards,


Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    398
    246
    152
    81
See reviews for
456
208
57
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Odessa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My room was so/so but clean and comfortable. I had a glitch in my check-in, due to my own errors. The check-in staff, especially Rosie was excellent. She was kind, helpful and persistant in taking care of all of the issues that came up. She then provided me with a voucher for breakfast because of the glitch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were coming to Spokane to take our 4 year old daughter to the Shriner's Hospital so when I saw that the hotel had 2 pools and a water slide it was a no brainer. I actually called the hotel directly to confirm that the pool and waterslide were going to be open during our stay and was told that they would be. Of course when we checked in we were told that the waterslide was closed because they didn't have a lifeguard. In the future I'll stay somewhere else where the rooms are nicer and have been upgraded because the overall feel of the hotel is dilapidated and crummy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I've stayed at your hotel several times before and didn't mind spending extra because I knew you had a nice pool and spa. Well, the pool was cold and the spa was dirty and because of that we never used it and so I'm sorry I spent the extra for your hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a large group of teens on the same floor before being assigned a room. We got all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review! All feedback, good or bad, assists us in making our guests stay more comfortable. I would like to truly apologize for the lack of cleanliness in our pool area. This is definitely not the type of stay we want our guests to have! We value you as our guest, and look forward to having you with us again soon.


Warm Regards,

Brent Ashton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights in the Executive Suite and it was very nice and quiet. The room was clean (except for the bathroom) and the view of the river was wonderful. This is the hotel we normally stay at 3 or 4 times a year but I'm not sure we will again.
I was very disappointed to find mold in the shower and I mean lots of it. The shower drain had a wad of hair on it that I removed with a tissue.... yuck. The last two times we stayed the bathrooms had mold (a quick bleach spray before cleaning will get rid of it) so I guess the bathrooms aren't cleaned very well. Too bad as this really was our favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelaniRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

So I booked this hotel through Travelocity's "Top Secret" hotels, and got a pretty awesome deal. We were excited as it was right on the river, and in the center of Spokane right in downtown next to the waterfront park.

When we arrived, the staff treated us very nicely, opened doors for us, and gave us our key. When we got to the room, I was surprised by how small it was. I read other reviews stating this, but didn't expect it to be THIS small. We have a 1-year-old, so we were hoping to use the bathroom for the pack-n-play. HAH! Fat chance - the bathroom matched the room. Extremely small, and not a chance the pack-n-play would fit. That wasn't a big deal though.

The bigger deal was when we were walking up and down the halls, and we were smelling pot coming from 1-2 rooms. There were a lot of teens that day (bar-mitzvah and/or prom)...don't ask me how in the hell their parents let them stay at a hotel. But anyway, they were rowdy, and clearly smoking pot. Still....not a big deal. none of these things really impacted me that much. I probably would dock the hotel a half or full star for the room size, but to be honest, we had been treated so well by the staff, I likely wouldn't just because of that.

Here's where it got interesting. As we woke up the next morning, we went into the bathroom to shower, and my wife noticed that there was little spots of black mold on the ceiling. Yikes. Having a baby, that was definitely not okay. Even if we didn't have a baby - not okay. Additionally, in the shower, there were hairs here and there as it had been cleaned poorly. And finally, there was red/orange rings around the different ceiling fixtures due to rust/corrosion and again, not being cleaned well.

We had to run out for the day, so we put our do not disturb sign up. When we came back that evening, we set our stuff down in the room, and low and behold, the room was cleaned...the housekeepers and come in anyway. Now the "do not disturb" sign was on the inside again. Very annoying.

I didn't mention that to the front desk, but I DID head down and mention the mold. We needed to move. The guy at the desk was incredibly kind about the issue, and gave me my new room key immediately. He told me we would now be in the executive suite wing. AWESOME! We headed up, and it was amazing. Floor to ceiling windows and drapes, an additional room for our baby to sleep in, a view of the entire river and the pool below...and we were higher up. Very very happy/excited about that room.

However, that night, as we went to sleep, it was pretty warm, so we turned the temp down. I heard what I thought was the loud AC unit blowing from the ceiling all night. And by loud, I mean it was loud. I sleep through anything (and I slept through that too), but this was loud enough that it took me a bit to fall asleep. But we were warm, so we rolled with it. The next morning, as I was brushing my teeth, I looked up at the "AC unit" (room wasn't really much cooler), and low and behold, it wasn't a fan/AC unit. It was the furnace filter. And it hadn't been changed likely in over a year. The noise was coming from the furnace working so hard just to keep filtering air through the filter. There were giant chunks of dust and extremely dirty lint just ready to fall onto my head and in my face with the slightest little nudge or puff of air. Yuck.

Anyway, long story short - AWESOME service. Terrible maintenance.

One more thing - they charged $9 for parking a night. Really?? I felt like I was getting nickel and dimed. It wasn't even a secure lot, so I'm not sure what I was paying for. The gate was up all night both nights.

Last but not least, we ordered breakfast in their restaurant both mornings. Once at the buffet, and once off the menu. They were both about the same price. That's because the buffet was WAY overpriced. $16 after tax and 15% tip. What happened to complimentary breakfasts? I mean, for a good breakfast buffet, I didn't mind paying a little, but this wasn't really good. Eggs were dry, and the bacon was beyond greasy. Plates were dirty one morning. Par for the course with the maintenance in this hotel.

Thank you for a fun executive suite night stay Red Lion Hotel at the Park, but you guys gotta do something about your maintenance/cleanliness. Nearly rated you a 2 star, but your staff really was fantastic and kind.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff is exceptional, the beds are comfy, the location is perfect. The park is right there. The park has a jogging path. There is shopping and a movie theatre across the park. It is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandi1149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your staty with us and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.


Regards,


Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Lion River Inn
Red Lion River Inn
#21 of 46 in Spokane
3.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Spokane Downtown at the Convention Center
0.6 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park

Property: Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
Address: 303 W North River Dr, Spokane, WA 99201-2286 (Formerly WestCoast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Spokane
#14 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Spokane as a local. Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, located on the banks of the Spokane River, is your key to downtown Spokane. Our new modern guest rooms and suites lie steps away from Riverfront Park and local attractions like the Spokane Convention Center and some of the city's best restaurants and cafes. We have all the features you need, like complimentary Wi-Fi and craft amenities. Curiosity is the only compass you will need. Grab a cup of free coffee from Victrola Coffee Roasters, located onsite at Hotel RL, for some of the city's best artisanal coffee, and enjoy it alongside local artists at The Living Stage. A hub for community engagement and entertainment, The Living Stage hosts local artists, musicians, speakers and more. When you're ready to see more of Spokane, take advantage of our onsite bike rental and explore the city at your own pace. Business and event travelers will enjoy Spokane's best event space at Hotel RL. With over 30,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, you'll also be able to host an intimate meeting or a large banquet celebration. Catering and AV equipment are included by our professional staff. Your guests will enjoy our modern space while indulging in stunning views of the Spokane River and Riverfront Park. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, The Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Spokane partner: Blessings Under the Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Spokane
Red Lion Spokane
Spokane Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing