We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough hotel but terrible breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice enough hotel but terrible breakfast”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel itself was clean. We stayed in a wing off of the hotel's convention center. After coming down the elevator, we had to walk through the convention center reception area to get to the lobby and restaurants. It was awkward walking through a US government conference of some sort with breakfast in the lobby of the convention center to get to the main part of the hotel.

The hotel breakfast arrangement was not like anything I've experienced before. Arrived at 8:30 on a Saturday morning. Numerous tables were available, the restaurant seemed well-staffed with waiters/waitresses, and a buffet was available. I was about 12th in line for a seat, and about 25 others lined up behind me. The hostess seemed lost in her job. Kept leaving her post and disappearing. It was a mystery to all of us why she wasn't seating any of us. I waited 25 minutes for a seat, so I could eat at a buffet. There seemed to be no staff checking the food on the buffet line. By the time I was seated and went to the buffet, very little food was left. About 10 minutes later, kitchen staff did appear and replenished the buffet line. The food line needed to be checked more frequently than every 30 minutes. On the plus side, my waitress (Heather?) was courteous and helpful. Where was management this morning?

Some people who got in line left when their patience ran out at the breakfast routine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the convention center people traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugsforall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    438
    287
    211
    121
See reviews for
531
257
64
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in downtown Spokane. It’s on the river with trails just outside the door that extend up and down the waterfront if you want to go for a walk or run. I’ve stayed there many times and the staff has always been very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnorth18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Had the pleasure staying at the Red Lion Hotel At The Park for a conference and was really impressed with the services and hospitality that this property offers! The location is central to downtown Spokane which makes it super easy to get everywhere on foot. It proximity to the Riverfront Park and the Spokane River is pretty amazing and beautiful! It definitely made morning runs much more enjoyable!

The property itself is quite huge with two towers. It looks like they recently got new furniture for the lobby which modernized the hotel. I received a king size room in one of the towers and it was a very good size. I enjoyed the second sink/bar area outside of the bathroom. One thing that I also enjoyed was the toiletries that Red Lion uses. They use eco-friendly products and it smelled very nice. Beds were comfortable and I like that there were multiple outlets as well as a power strip to connect phones and computers to charge. Best thing...FREE INTERNET! Plus the internet worked very fast!

I ate at the restaurant downstairs as well and the food and view was fantastic. If any companies are looking for conference space, this hotel offers many spaces and the Skyline Ballroom is perfect for a wedding. The property also has a pretty good gym plus two pools...one indoor pool and one outdoor pool with a water slide.

Staff was very friendly and helpful and everyone is well attentive on guests needs. I enjoyed and loved my stay here and felt very safe. Oh and I can't forget the delicious Red Lion Hotel Red Velvet Cupcakes that got delivered to my door! That alone would get me to stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the towers to get stunning views of Spokane. Don't forget to eat your Red Lion R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your stay. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding our guest’s expectations is what we strive for and we are happy to hear that we accomplished that. We hope to see you again in the very near future!

Regards,

Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at the Park for a college graduation in Spokane. We had 4 hotel rooms and a suite. The staff was able to put all of our extended family in the same tower and on the same floor. The suite was great for a casual reception as everyone arrived in Spokane. Following the ceremony we were able to host the group in the suite with brunch - and with just one days notice the catering service provided us with our hot main dish. The hotel staff provided serving items for our brunch with no additional fees. Every request was promptly met. The location of the hotel is great - right on the riverfront park path. We had great weather - so we took advantage of nice walks through the park each day. The only negative is the outdoor pool wasn't open yet. But the younger guests did enjoy the indoor pool.

Room Tip: The tower rooms are newer and nicer. The Parkside Suite is great and a good value. It has a nice vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1chris123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with usl. We appreciate your business, and hope you have the chance to visit us in the near future.


Regards,

Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Check in easy. Helpful cheerful staff. Bar excellent Stuart the bar man couldn't be more helpful. Food fabulous.only a walk over the bridge and your at Macy's what more could you ask for? We love Spokane

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squidgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our stay at the Red Lion was excellent. The location was very convenient for the Bloomsday race in which we participated. The staff was genuinely friendly and helpful, and checking out couldn't have been easier. We just have one suggestion to make which is that the hotel staff should let guests know at the time they check in that they should retain one key if they've parked in the hotel parking lot because they need it to get out. Guests receive a notice under their door informing them of this, but lots of people just don't read things anymore. We ended up waiting for such a person on our way out. Thanks for a nice stay!

Room Tip: The newer tower might be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with usl. We appreciate your business, and hope you have the chance to visit us in the near future.


Regards,

Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Although some parts of the facility are showing signs of age (I'm a bit fussy), overall it's quite well kept, and the premium rooms are quite nice. The staff really shines though, every interaction with them is pleasant. Combined with the fact that downtown is a pleasant walk through the park, this is our choice for Bloomsday and other downtown events every time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vlschlegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Lion River Inn
Red Lion River Inn
#24 of 46 in Spokane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Spokane Downtown at the Convention Center
0.3 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park

Property: Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
Address: 303 W. North River Drive, Spokane, WA 99201-2255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Spokane
#14 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Spokane as a local. Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, located on the banks of the Spokane River, is your key to downtown Spokane. Our new modern guest rooms and suites lie steps away from Riverfront Park and local attractions like the Spokane Convention Center and some of the city's best restaurants and cafes. We have all the features you need, like complimentary Wi-Fi and craft amenities. Curiosity is the only compass you will need. Grab a cup of free coffee from Victrola Coffee Roasters, located onsite at Hotel RL, for some of the city's best artisanal coffee, and enjoy it alongside local artists at The Living Stage. A hub for community engagement and entertainment, The Living Stage hosts local artists, musicians, speakers and more. When you're ready to see more of Spokane, take advantage of our onsite bike rental and explore the city at your own pace. Business and event travelers will enjoy Spokane's best event space at Hotel RL. With over 30,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, you'll also be able to host an intimate meeting or a large banquet celebration. Catering and AV equipment are included by our professional staff. Your guests will enjoy our modern space while indulging in stunning views of the Spokane River and Riverfront Park. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, The Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Spokane partner: Blessings Under the Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Spokane
Red Lion Spokane
Spokane Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing