We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice and Quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice and Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Business often takes me to Spokane - which I cannot deny is not my favorite place in the world. If anyone is planning on going to Spokane for business or...pleasure, then I'd reccomend the Red Lion. It's just across the beautiful white-water rapids of the Spokane River from downtown - which is by far the most enjoyable location in the city. The hotel is fairly cheap - usually around $100 a night, and its only a few blocks away from the shop-filled streets and parks that define the downtown area. The rooms are typical of any chain discount-ish hotel, but bigger than other, more expensive hotels nearby such as the Spokane Club.

Parking is sort of expensive - my 3 day trip cost me almost $30 to park in the hotel lot near my room - but the room price off-sets that.

Good for business, or anyone who wants to enjoy downtown Spokane but not pay over $200 a night or stay in a crummy motel.

Room Tip: Since the bottom floor sometimes holds conferences or local events, a room on the second floor might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    408
    249
    159
    81
See reviews for
465
214
59
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I tour manage a band on Warner Bros Records and we we're referred to another hotel for a 2 not stay.

We we're really disappointed in the hotel and immediately checked out after the first night. We luckily found the red lion at the park.

The parking was perfect and the staff was very helpful and te rooms we're great!

We ended up eating breakfast and the waitress was really funny and helpful and made us feel at home! Food was excellent!

We will always stay at this hotel when we come to Spokane!!!

Highly re comment if your traveling with a family. They got everything there!!!!!!!

Jeffery Sierota

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JefferyDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed one night while attending an event at the Arena. Overall it was a good experience except for a few things. At check in, with two adult guests in the room, they only provided one bath towel but after calling guest services they brought two up to my room. Next, the periferal doors to the Hotel were not locked and anyone could have entered the building without a key. Poor security. Last thing, the jacuzzi was not available for use. Overall, the staff were friendly and the place was mostly clean. Parking was a bit expensive in my opinion but that was a minor thing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Packwood, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

BEWARE!! This hotel charges you $9 a day to park in their parking lot and $10 for bad buffet breakfast that is free at most hotels. I can't think of the last time I stayed in a hotel that did not have a complimentary breakfast. The service in the bar and at the restaurant was SLOW. We were there on a weekend when the hotel was sold out but it was sold out for weeks in advance. It should not be that hard to plan for this and staff correctly. I also put $5 in the vending machine to buy a $2 bottle of water and got 3 quarters back instead of 3 silver dollars. When I took my issue to the front desk they apologized and said they couldn't help me. So how many other customers have paid $5 for a bottle of water? There were some positives. The beds are the most comfortable beds I have every slept in. I am now in the market for one just like it! They also had a handicapped lift at the hot tub and pool area. I love that they are accommodating everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank You so much for taking the time to share your comments with us. I have communicated with the respected departments regarding our vending machines. We take pride in each and every guest that stays with us and we look forward on welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Brent Ashton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The room were put us in smelled like some one had just been smoking in it, even leaving the window open didn't help. Called the front desk and was informed they had no other room to move us to, but could move us down the street to Red Lion at the river. At check in was informed there was a 9 dollar per day fee for parking, wasn't mentioned when I reserved the room. WI-FI has not worked during our stay. When I called the front desk they wanted to put me in touch with their IT department. Not my job to sort out their problems. No apologies or anything, just an oh well, to bad. During the day the elevators are tied up mornings by staff ( no service elevators? ). This will be first and last stay at a Red Lion and I will go out of my way to tell everyone I can what a crappy hotels they.

Room Tip: The best tip I could give anyone is to stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I want to apologize for your the issues you had during your last stay with us. I have passed on the smoking smell issue on to my Director of Housekeeping so that doesn't occur again. We hope that you choose to stay with us in the near future.

Regards,

Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Spokane hotels

East Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
227 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We recently held a conference at this hotel and loved every minute of our stay. Great rooms, nice ammenities, good food (breakfast, lunch and snacks were provided each day). The hotel staff was amazing! We had help from the moment we arrived until we packed up. If you have ever held a conference and had to try and track down hotel/conference staff to help with something you know how important it is to have them handy. They were wonderfully attentive to all our needs.

The set up is excellent and provided us with everything we needed. Seperate check in far removed from the hotel check in, seperate rooms for breakout sessions, rooms for meals, rooms for main sessions and enough guest rooms for 375 colleagues.

The location of this hotel is awesome! Very close walking distance to downtown shopping and right next to Riverfront Park entertainment. The hotel offers shuttle services for trips to different attractions around town which made it nice for those who were unable to walk.

This hotel has an indoor and outdoor pool with great hours, they also have a very nice gym and they are situated along a great path that follows the river for a great opportunity for early morning runs or an evening stroll.

Every hotel staff person that we met was very pleasant, very helpful and knowledgeable and eager to serve. Would definitely want to hold another conference here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrvlJunkE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

There was tooth paste spit all over the faucet cobwebs all over the corners white spots on the throw blanket 10$ breakfast that is free every where else stains on the furniture we called the front desk to tell therm we did not have wireless Internet the told use to call the Internet provider we also had to pay for parking and the pool was cold we wasted 200$ next time we will be staying at a holiday in express it is much better quality for a lot less

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30ngood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I wanted to take the time to apologize for the service and cleamliness issues you had during your stay with us. I have forwarded the cleanliness issues to my Director of Housekeeping to address. We hope that you choose to stay with us again as we do offer room packages that include both breakfast and parking in the rate.


Warm Regards,

Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Lion River Inn
Red Lion River Inn
#24 of 46 in Spokane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Spokane Downtown at the Convention Center
0.3 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park

Property: Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
Address: 303 W. North River Drive, Spokane, WA 99201 (Formerly WestCoast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Spokane
#14 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Spokane as a local. Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park, located on the banks of the Spokane River, is your key to downtown Spokane. Our new modern guest rooms and suites lie steps away from Riverfront Park and local attractions like the Spokane Convention Center and some of the city's best restaurants and cafes. We have all the features you need, like complimentary Wi-Fi and craft amenities. Curiosity is the only compass you will need. Grab a cup of free coffee from Victrola Coffee Roasters, located onsite at Hotel RL, for some of the city's best artisanal coffee, and enjoy it alongside local artists at The Living Stage. A hub for community engagement and entertainment, The Living Stage hosts local artists, musicians, speakers and more. When you're ready to see more of Spokane, take advantage of our onsite bike rental and explore the city at your own pace. Business and event travelers will enjoy Spokane's best event space at Hotel RL. With over 30,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, you'll also be able to host an intimate meeting or a large banquet celebration. Catering and AV equipment are included by our professional staff. Your guests will enjoy our modern space while indulging in stunning views of the Spokane River and Riverfront Park. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, The Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Spokane partner: Blessings Under the Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Spokane
Red Lion Spokane
Spokane Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing