We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fun, Friendly, Artsy, low cost and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ruby
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun, Friendly, Artsy, low cost and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great location in downtown Spokane - easy walk to riverside park, restaurants, businesses and attractions. Ruby is arty, campy, modern, fun. $88 compact room with fridge, microwave, TV and mini breakfast, off-street parking $5. Bicycles too. Adjoining the lobby is the Sapphire Bar.

Room Tip: 103 near the street has a tub but is noisier 120 was in the rear, shower only but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    289
    94
    36
    16
See reviews for
148
272
68
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Spokane! It was such a great price so i was expecting a sorta dirty hotel. It was actually super clean, friendly staff, and great room for the value. Breakfast was just okay, but you'd expect that from any hotel. The only downfall to the hotel was the shower was very old and had an old ripped up bathmat that made it look extra dingy. 2 sinks in the room was nice, and the room was a good size and very clean nice bed. They also have free bikes you can take out to ride around the city for guests! Other than the bathtub i loved it! Oh, and the parking was another downfall, the lot wasn't big enough to fit everyone's car, thankfully we never had a problem parking, but if you return late you're unlikely to find a spot. All in all I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This centrally located hotel came at a great price and met our expectations. We had a room with two beds and it was quite large. Very friendly staff. Great art, music and dance themed, throughout. Comfortable beds, clean rooms. They should add something next to the sink to hang a hand towel. Location could hardly be beat - walk to the river, lots of restaurants, shopping. Breakfast was typical, make your own waffles, cereals, bread product with toaster, hard boiled eggs, so-so coffee. Starbucks and other coffee venues are an easy walk, if you need real coffee. Ask for a pair of earplugs (they are free)to block out noise from air conditioner and from other guests walking around, showering, etc. The nearby train tracks did not generate significant noise. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floor would have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathuP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I got this room with a great deal on priceline. It's just about on the edge of downtown. There was lots of places to eat within walking distance.

The room was pretty small. I did however like that you can tell it was recently redone to be more modern. The breakfast was pretty tiny with the normal continental stuff.

The staff was very nice as well. It's getting a 4 since the deal I got was nice, but wouldn't spend more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan Valley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our second visit to the Ruby and we were happy to be back. Rooms are small but very clean with comfortable beds and funky artwork. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Great location in downtown Spokane. An extra shelf in the bathrooms to arrange toiletries would be very helpful. Small fridge and microwave in rooms. Self-serve breakfast bar with waffles included. Great value for the price of the rooms. WiFi included but sometimes erratic in rooms. Works fine in the lounge.

Room Tip: If you like quiet ask for a room at the back. Top floor probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francopogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springbrook
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

So we booked this place for its location and price. The pics I had seen didn't look too bad. Employees here were awesome The room was ok but the bathroom was bad with permanent dirt stains in the tub. Couldn't reach the toilet paper from toilet. Towel rack six inches above counter on back wall. A.c could only keep half the room cool. Breakfast very minimal. The lounge is cool also. So looks like they tried to turn this place into a cool place but cheaped out in a few areas. Which is too bad

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynoliker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Go for top floor rooms, has elevator, very convenient for us for the theater and dinner at the Davenport. We went to the Davenport for Starbucks and a walkabout, if I want luxury I pay for luxury, it was a bargain, a quick night stay. A few night would be fine. Who goes to Spokane to hang in their room. I like boutique hotels. Sapphire Room lounge was modern and airy.. Would stay again, free parking too. Weird note to Annie the sweet manager. Please put towel rack in sink area, our room didn't have one.

Room Tip: Top floor for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#13 of 46 in Spokane
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#1 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Montvale Hotel
The Montvale Hotel
#27 of 46 in Spokane
3.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Property: Hotel Ruby
Address: 901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#8 Family Hotel in Spokane
#11 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#18 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District, directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theater, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing