We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Bang for your buck” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ruby
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Kennewick, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More Bang for your buck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Excellent hotel stay for the price. More then got our moneys worth. The front desk staff was very helpful and the room attendant went above and beyond, did a GREAT job. The location was super convenient. Walking distance to the mall and riverfront park. The parking was very convenient as well and a great price. The ONLY drawback to my entire multi day stay was that the coffee at breakfast was not to my liking, very weak.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    329
    110
    38
    19
See reviews for
171
314
84
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Almira, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel has recently been renovated and the beds, art and overall feel when you enter the room is great. Comfy clean bed, pillows. But the bathrooms have not been updated yet. The hotel feels like a fancy motel 6. The Sapphire Lounge is fantastic and the atmosphere and décor at night is fantastic. I felt the breakfast was decent but not amazing. The waffle maker is what saved it in my eyes. English muffins, decent coffee, apples and oranges, some cereal and hard boiled eggs. re is a train track that runs right near the hotel which did cause some noise and so on butThe thing that saves this hotel is the lounge and the LOCATION! You are close to some awesome dining places, entertainment venues and close to the freeway. we walked to most of the places we wanted to eat etc. I'd say for the price, its a place to book.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReenieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

First this is far closer to a motel than a hotel. They've basically put some paint and some new linens on a very old hotel and called it boutique. The first room I had was unbelievably bad and the Internet worked only in a very small corner of the room the bathroom was atrocious. The staff were very helpful when I asked to be moved and I was put in a room that had at least been renovated to some extent. Breakfast was good with a waffle station and the hotel is in a great location just a few minutes walk from river park center. There is a lot of nightlife around the hotel if you like that but if you dint it's going to be a little loud. In all we can't recommend this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldwidelunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in June with a family of 4. upgraded to the suite and enjoyed the extra roominess. the atmosphere was awesome, the beds were new and very comfy. great breakfast included! sweet little lounge in the building! only a couple blocks from the waterfront for a great couple days of sightseeing and shopping. By the looks and location you might not think of bringing kids here, but our 2 and 5 year old had a blast and felt very safe. staff was very friendly and accommodating. would definitely stay again.
only negative, and not the Hotels fault...Spokane TV sucks, so bring an iPad for the kids.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikePfromGTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Northwest
Level Contributor
255 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed here with my sister for a weekend. I highly recommend.

Pluses:
1) Free breakfast, including cereal, English muffins, juice, coffee, hard-boiled eggs, and a wafflemaker!
2) Free wi-fi
3) Funky boutique design- very unique, art deco-ish, and fun.
4) Cool little bar downstairs with a fireplace and fun vibe.
5) Super comfy- like five-star-hotel comfy- mattresses
6) One of the nicest showers I've ever experienced in all my travels- just perfect spray and pressure
7) Super clean and maintained
8) Free bikes!!!
9) Great location downtown, walking distance to the mall, restaurants and bars, Riverfront Park, and the Davenport.
10) Super helpful and friendly staff
11) Each room has a fridge and microwave

Minuses:
1) It is an old motel, so there's no inside-hallway entry. Rooms have 1 big window that face the outdoor walkway, so you can't open your windows while you sleep, or open the curtains for safety reasons.
2) Can be a bit noisy on the lower floor.

Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors, so you don't hear people walking over your head at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were attending a wedding at the Spokane Club, and this was really convenient and affordable. The beds are very comfortable, the bathroom nicely updated, and the staff very helpful. Restaurants and a great dueling piano bar are really close, so we didn't have to fight for parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Because of the great price, I booked my daughter at the Hotel Ruby when she was traveling through Spokane last year. She had such positive comments, that I booked a stop last week. She was right. It's a small funky hotel with safe parking, clean rooms, good internet, free breakfast, friendly staff, comfy bed, and great downtown location. And did I mention good value. This is great 3 star hotel at a 2 star price that makes you want to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#9 of 46 in Spokane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Property: Hotel Ruby
Address: 901 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#8 Family Hotel in Spokane
#11 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#18 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District, directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theater, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing