We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location and price, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ruby
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good location and price, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked this for the last night of an Idaho ski trip before flying out of Spokane in the morning. We got there mid afternoon and check-in was smooth and we got a parking spot. I ran through downtown a few blocks to the Centennial trail and the views of the rapids of the Spokane River. We stopped down at the bar off the lobby and it was great. Easy one block walk to the Steamplant for dinner. We had one of the "view" rooms which wasn't a great view but not the next building across the alley. It was right across from the elevator but I was surprised that we didn't hear much noise. Don't expect a luxury room at this price, but it was clean and bright new paint covered any ugliness.

In the morning we found that our flight was cancelled due to Denver weather and we couldn't get out until the next day. Went downstairs and had no problem rebooking the same room. Had their free breakfast. Not a great selection but they had the waffles I always enjoy. Went for another run, walked to the mall and saw an Imax movie, and ate lunch and dinner downtown. Never had to move the car. I saw someone else who couldn't get their car out because they were against a pillar and the next car had parked crooked, and the front desk clerk seemed like he was going to be helpful to find the other car owner to move it. A big SUV might have trouble parking here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobFromVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    301
    100
    36
    17
See reviews for
151
292
73
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here in January and was very pleased with our experience. Stayed in a king bed suite. The room was a conference room with a fold out murphy bed. This was on the ground floor and had cars parked right outside our door. Room had a leather couch and a huge 50+ inch tv. A nice wet bar for entertaining was also in this pretty large room. Bathroom was large with only a shower. One of the only complaints we had was the room was freezing. I don't think it gets used often and the room never heated up to a point to where it was comfortable to walk around without a sweater or sweatshirt on. Staff was pleasant and was given some drink coupons to the lounge which we didn't get to use. There is a continental breakfast in the lounge in the morning, but I highly recommend walking a block and having breakfast at Scout next to the Montvale. Good value I thought.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binford13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Whenever I go to Spokane, I stay at the Ruby Hotel. The location and price can't be beat. So I wondered why the clerk put us in a non-upgraded room initially (with a noisy fan) and then refused a 10% discount coupon saying that Expedia would refund us (this never happened).


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Katya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hotel Ruby is a good location if you're needing a place to crash after a night out. It's very much a motel makeover but not quite completed. King bed was very comfy and it was clean in the room. Very small so you don't want to spend anytime in there. Bathroom super small but there was a second sink outside of the bathroom. What could of been better is the outside hallway's were filthy,cleaned or even vacuumed would of helped the experience. The front desk staff was very nice and friendly. A very loud location and an early garbage pick up could of been the alarm clock that you didn't need. Again a great place to crash after a party.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here after a long trip through BC (and several other hotels) and this was a surprisingly fun experience. The staff could not have been more helpful and nice. The room was small but well appointed, nice clean bathroom. The best part is the location and proximity to great restaurants, the river park. We will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, Washington
Level Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hotel Ruby is tucked away in a formerly seedy part of downtown Spokane which has been in the process of renovation for the past few years. The owner has made this place a little art center located right across the street from some music venues as well as within close walking distance of Spokane's downtown shopping and Riverfront Park (also housing movie theaters). They have protected parking (I think they charge an extra fee of $5 for that now as well as a very cool little martini bar located in the same building. Lots of little boutiquey shops very nearby. We stay there often when we want to be downtown in Spokane. Average rooms for two, last time we stayed,were priced at around $80. The rooms are small, but colorful with updated paint and artwork. Not a place to hangout in your room all day, but definitely adequate for a very reasonably priced night downtown.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid the rooms closest to the elevator in case late-night revelers happen to be about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#13 of 46 in Spokane
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#2 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Property: Hotel Ruby
Address: 901 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#8 Family Hotel in Spokane
#11 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#18 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District, directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theater, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing