We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and a lot of character”
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ruby
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the Ruby. It is a recently remodeled old hotel right in downtown with a lot of hipster character. Lots of good stuff (restaurants and bars) within walking distance. Most of my comments are positive: My room was clean, the staff was friendly, continental breakfast was above average (they have a waffle maker), and I received a free drink coupon for the Sapphire Lounge (downstairs) when I checked in. The bar is a little swanky for my taste, but prices were on-par with competitors, and the bartenders were very good. My only complaints: The room was a little small, and there was a bit of noise from the street at night (bar crowds). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank sethage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 856 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

LOVED this place!!!!! Very good value for the money!!!!!!
Everything is high tech and updated with 3-D tvs with full basic cable, 5 wifi ports, and a very boutique decor! Also, be careful about your "keycard", it's about the size of a SD chip so it can get lost in your packet very easily!
The beds were super comfy, and it really was an adorable hotel! They have a fridge and microwave, perfect for leftovers or something. The bathrooms are a bit small, but totally updated (with a kick-butt rain showerhead) and workable.
The staff was very nice and charming, with a sense of humour to boot!!!
The only things that I didn't like was things they could not control. The walls ARE thin, so if you're a very light sleeper; bring earplugs. The trains do start running at about 8am or so, not obscenely early, but if you wanna sleep in till noon it'll be a bit difficult lol!!! Also, it's kinda at the edge of town, so there aren't a lot or restaurants in walking distance. But Spokane is very easy to navigate, so it's not a big deal. The parking lot sucks. Plain and simple. Very small and oddly shaped. They do have multiple overflow lots though.
All in all, a place I'd totally stay at again!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bellydancerakn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Hotel and rooms are much nicer on website than in person. Comfortable beds and low price, but VERY noisy. You can hear every footstep around you, train and cars. Could hear phone conversation of someone above us!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Ruby on a Saturday night in mid-September and had a wonderful time! The guy that helped check us in was courteous and quick. Helped us find the parking (across the street in an overflow lot - not a problem at all; super cheap at $5), showed us a few places to go out for the night... etc.

The room was immaculate! Loved the red decor and simple room setup. The bed was comfortable, flat screen TV a nice bonus... all in all, pretty great. Definitely take a trip down to the lounge - you'll fully appreciate how they turn it into a continental breakfast in the morning, too!

I was SHOCKED at the rate as well - seemed like an amazing deal for a perfect location!

All in all, we agreed this would be our place to stay if we were ever in Spokane again. Absolutely recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, near the corner away from the street. But I doubt anything would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kels98109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Great room, and BED very friendly staff. And super nice atmosphere, the rooms are up to date and while they are small for the location and quality it's the most for your money. They even have continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Found this place through Trip Advisor and it was my first stop on a road trip from Seattle to North Carolina. The price was right - $76, so I asked to see a room. The one they showed me had four super intense DARK red walls - pretty tacky. Luckily the room they put me in only had one red accent wall, and felt brighter. I could actually relax in this one.

All the rooms face a parking lot courtyard. So the cars come and go. As in, all night long. It was incredibly loud. I was up most of the night from people partying, revving their cars in the lot and peeling out.

The room itself was nice. No complaints. The bed was comfy and their attempt to make it more of an affordable 'boutique' motel is fairly successful. It was nice and clean too. I was pretty shocked that the car pass they give you to put in the window for parking had my hotel room # on it. I was traveling alone and that seemed super unsafe (for any guests) - No need to put the # on anyone's car pass. Another con, the guy who checked me out was super rude and basically took my payment and said nothing else. Didn't ask how my stay was or anything. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raleighsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel made a good effort updating Travelodge type rooms into chic, artistic rooms. However, the hotel is frequented by large groups of college students (possibly due to the low price), and loud parties in the rooms and parking lot (including fireworks and yelling) can occur into the wee hours, even on weekdays. The staff works in soundproof rooms and they don't take action unless you call to complain (or maybe they're just used to it). The hotel advertises itself as a great place to stay for performances in the Bing Crosby and Fox Theaters, but this clientele (older, distinguished folks who likely came a long way to see an expensive, quality music performance) will not be happy with this hotel. Maybe it's fine for young partiers who frequent the nearby bars and rock concerts. Those who can should pay 30 dollars more to stay at a quiet hotel nearby such as the Davenport, Doubletree, or Red Lion. In fact, the Red Lion River Inn costs about the same and is much quieter, although a 5 minute drive away. It would be worth the short shuttle, car or taxi ride to get a good night's sleep. The Lusso across the street is great for classy guests going to a classy concert, and sometimes has $99 deals. The breakfast at Hotel Ruby is very basic, more for the college crowd also.

At the Ruby there were many strung out college students milling around to get their Cheerios and waffles in their sunglasses (inside) after their night waking up the whole hotel, and the staff didn't seem to reprimand them. They gave me a 15% discount which was nothing for an entire night of lost sleep (with earplugs, a white noise machine and a pillow over my head...I am actually not a sensitive person)! If you're lucky, you might go to Ruby on a quiet night and love it, but it's a gamble. The free parking is a nice offer but there are only about 10 spaces so I had to pay $20 to park down the street anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#12 of 46 in Spokane
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Montvale Hotel
The Montvale Hotel
#13 of 46 in Spokane
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
The Madison Inn by Riversage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Address: 901 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#8 Family Hotel in Spokane
#11 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#18 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range: $85 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District, directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theater, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing