We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price; offbeat but can be offputting”
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ruby
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great price; offbeat but can be offputting”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Booked this for the great price and positive reviews. Clearly the owners have tried and mostly succeeded in making a tired property hip, fun and affordable to downtown visitors. But the layout of this 50s-style motel means that you can't keep your curtains open without losing privacy; that said, the views are of a parking lot, freight trains, and buildings. Additionally, parking fills up quickly (though free parking nearby is plentiful). This may be fine if you're in town for a concert or dinner but could get old if you needed to stay more than a night or two. There is a nice bar/cafe downstairs that serves a good complimentary breakfast, and the staff is very helpful and friendly.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beth415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    335
    114
    40
    22
See reviews for
177
322
87
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omak, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were actually just looking for something inexpensive and near the Knitting Factory, We had never stayed here but we thought we would give it a try. The staff was very polite on arrival but the big surprise was our room. It was not huge but the decor was beautiful and the beds actually had comforters and real pillows. The bathroom was large and the television was very nice. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. We also had an excellent view of the buildings in the area which are very nice. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Ruby is a solid value!

The owners have done a nice job here, the rates are very fair. The rooms are chic and very well appointed with a comfortable down comforter bed, large flat panel tv, microwave and a good sized refrigerator. The property is older but that is very hard to detect. Everything has been updated and it feels nicely fresh. Your rate includes a free drink at their lounge (Nice Touch!), basic cont. breakfast with waffles and parking. Parking can be a challenge here, the hotel owns about a dozen and half spots, however they do have two remote overflow parking lots within a half block. This can be a hassle if the hotel is full. The property is mostly clean and feels safe, there are many restaurants within walking distance and the riverfront park/mall area is a ten minute walk away. Most of the staff are friendly and go the extra mile.

Thank You!
Kind Regards.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Clean, very good beds, and convenient location with several excellent restaurants nearby. Secure car parking a bonus. Reception staff excellent and we enjoyed a good breakfast. Would stay again. Bar staff very helpful and friendly.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gokiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Ruby. The funky, modern atmosphere was fun, and the service was great. The rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. The continental breakfast was very nice. The location is very convenient. Our room was quiet despite overlooking a main thoroughfare. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay at a great price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stopped in Spokane for a night after three nights camping near Glacier. We didn't want to blow the budget, but wanted to stay centrally located. I was SO happy when I found Hotel Ruby online. For around $85, we got a room with two double beds, super clean and modern, right in the heart of the city. I love that they've reclaimed what I guess was once I run-down motel and turned it into something so cool. It's very much like The Modern in Boise or the Jupiter Hotel in Portland. I will warn you though: if you're looking for valet parking, a spa, or turn-down service, this is not the hotel for you. For twice the price, you can get a lovely room at the Davenport (which by the way, is in the exact same neighborhood). I for one, can't wait to stay at the Ruby again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maclu24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We arrived at Hotel Ruby and we guided through the fastest, most efficient check-in I've ever experienced. When we got to our room, it was clean and most simply and elegantly appointed. Smart use of space (small closets built in) hid the fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Although small, the bathroom was clean with an adjustable shower head with a goose neck piping that made it quite nice for my 6'2" boyfriend. We paid for parking and were able to find a spot both nights, although we arrived home from a local theme park at 11 the second night. And the lounge, what an absolute find! My boyfriend does not drink on any basis, usually. But I convinced him to have one and he chose the Melon Mojito. Watching the young woman muddle the mint and mix the drink was a treat, fresh ingredients and a cheerful bartender. I had the Aviation, quite simply the best drink I have ever had. EVER! I had four in two days. Do NOT be dissuaded by the price of the drinks (@ 8 dollars each), they are worth it and you will savor the fresh made enjoyability of every sip. The only thing I can think to warn someone of is that they have FIRM pillows. If you are a pillow smoosher, or usually use two, bring one of your own, as they did invest in quality firm pillows to grace their wonderful beds. And the proximity to downtown Spokane is ideal for anyone wishing to save gas and still be able to enjoy an exciting nightlife.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#10 of 46 in Spokane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#3 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Property: Hotel Ruby
Address: 901 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#8 Family Hotel in Spokane
#11 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#18 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District, directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theater, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing