We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Average Downtown Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ruby
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An Average Downtown Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

My family spent one night in this hotel after our trip to Yellow Stone when we were heading back to British Columbia. We didn't expect too much as a one-night stop-over. We got two rooms on the first floor, which were just up above the lounge. The only drawback was the noise at night.

People are singing, drinking and chatting till 11pm to 12 MN.

If you need to sleep early, Hotel Ruby shouldn't be your pick.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bupuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    333
    111
    39
    22
See reviews for
173
320
86
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great hotel for the price. Clean, comfortable room. Parking is limited on site but we managed to get a spot so I can't comment on the other parking. Wireless internet sucked we were barely able to connect. We were only staying one night but it worked great for us. Close to resturants and a we took in a movie. We had just come from two nights of camping so this was air-conditioned heaven for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessieleighf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great location for walking downtown, older motel look, but inside clean and renovated nicely! There was free wi-fi, although I never did manage to hook up to it. Called the front desk (very friendly staff) and was told she would re-set the router, but we ended up going out so don't know if it got working that afternoon. Couldn't connect in the morning either, but wasn't overly important so I didn't call back. Space was a little tight, and bathrooms older, but again, very clean. Not a luxury suite, but for the price we paid, I would definately stay there again!
Between 3 and 4 stars, between average and very good, so good, if there was a spot for that!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K00chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

This place looks like it has been updated recently updated the room was also very clean & comfortable. Parking was free but if you are late you may have a fun time fitting in your spot, so I would recommend getting there early if possible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan Valley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at the Ruby for a week. Great value, excellent location, very clean, friendly staff. The rooms are small but comfortable and they have everything we needed. We love the new decor and artwork. The plumbing can be a little funky and the rooms are quieter on the first floor at the back. Downtown Spokane has trains and you do hear them a bit on the second floor, although it wasn't enough to be bothersome. The breakfast bar is OK. Has the essentials but some fresh fruit would be nice. Overall, a good find and we would stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank francopogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Hotel Ruby worked out great when we went to see a show at the Fox Theater which is right across the street. Plenty of restaurants in the vicinity as well. Very clean. Excellent parking privileges too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocker7775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Hotel Ruby is located in downtown Spokane a few blocks from the beautiful river walk and shops, retaurants, pubs and bars. Excellent downtown location - across from the historic Davenport Hotel and the theater district. Park your car and leave it. Fifteen minutes from Gonzaga - professional bar tenders in the lounge that hand made French Mojito's and poured a killer bloody mary. The youthful staff is well managed and very pleasant and helpful. If you want to try something a little different from the standard hotel room - complete with complimentary continental breakfast - you'll like the Ruby.

Room Tip: room are varied so if you like a big room with a chair or two - let them know that you might like th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBean101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#10 of 46 in Spokane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#1 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Property: Hotel Ruby
Address: 901 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#8 Family Hotel in Spokane
#11 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#18 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District, directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theater, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing