We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Ruby, Ruby...."”
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ruby
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I'll start by saying what this hotel is not. It is not a fancy 5 star hotel, it doesn't have valet service, concierges, pools, or gyms. What this " is " is a clean, comfortable, nicely renovated hotel , small and well located, with a funky little bar and parking to boot. Room wasn't super big, but the bed was nice and comfy and I heard no outside noise. The staff were extremely friendly from the front desk through to Steve in the lounge. Close to the Bing Crosby theatre and some nice restaurants and pubs. Would not hesitate to stay here again if was looking for something in downtown Spokane. Great value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tez28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

759 - 765 of 859 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

Really great value, nice room. most hotel rooms in this price range feel rundown and depressing, this place really feels like a sweet modern home. Some issues, noise came through my door because it didnt close right, the coffee maker wasnt plugged in and I had to move the fridge to get to the plug. But overall I will stay here again. the proximity to great bars and restaurants was fantastic. We went to the Post Street Ale House, and had a pitcher and 4 appetizers for $30 and it was only a block and a half away (and great). Oh and the cocktail bar was really fun.

Room Tip: I had room 207 which was very a nice single queen bed room. it was quite noisy up here with all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YarrowA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Hotel Ruby has been recently been renovated. The theme a "jazz" theme and is fitting since it is in the Art district in Spokane. The rooms have wonderful beds with great down comforters. There are microwaves, coffee makers and refrigerators in each room with great towels and bathroom supplies as well as two sinks which added privacy. There is an attached bar also done in the jazz theme with excellent happy hour prices--and great friendly bartender.. There is also a good breakfast included which has cereals, bagels and cream cheese and jelly, English muffins, fresh made waffles, orange juice, oatmeal, coffee and tea. The hotel is located in the downtown area close to downtown activities. We were going to a concert at the Bing Crosby theater which was a half a block away. The award winning Sage ... (?) bistro and the Spaghetti Factory were within a block. There is also secured parking as part of the price. The price was good and it offered AARP discounts. Do watch your step on the outside stairs as the step height is not consistant. The bar food was minimal but we were told that they were hoping to get gluten free flat breads available. Being gluten intolerant, it cuts down options for "bar food" in most places. The Ruby Hotel will now be our place to go to in Spokane from now on.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

A group of 8 of us went on a rare mid-week dinner and music evening out. We stayed at the Hotel Ruby because we did not want to make the drive back to Coeur d'Alene late at night. Before the concert at the Bing Crosby Theater (which is within walking distance) we had appetizers and cocktails at the Sapphire Lounge which is connected thru the hotel lobby. The food was good and the drinks delish. The decor of both the hotel and the lounge are simple and tasteful and artsy. There is a mod/hip/slightly edgy feeling to this gathering spot that even us grayhairs enjoy. The hotel room was small and very clean with THE most comfortable bed. The staff was extremely friendly and know the meaning of customer service. We have stayed at The Ruby several times and it is now our "go to" spot when we are in the big city.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walker3120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I had a nice romantic weekend on March 3, 2012. The attached Sapphire lounge has great service and the bartenders are nice. The food is of good quality but still cheap esp. during happy hour. The room's tv did not work but the staff was very responsive. The FREE morning breakfast included fresh waffles. I will be staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The best parts about the Ruby are undeniably important: Location, and a very comfortable bed at a decent price. Our room also had two sinks, one in the bathroom and the other outside, allowing for privacy and convenience. The Sapphire Lounge, adjacent to the lobby, where breakfast is offered and where a young clientele hangs in the evening hours is definitely fun and artistically designed. The staff and bartenders are attentive. Look for the festive light sparkles in the sidewalk which change colors as you enter the Sapphire. The paintings in the rooms (music icons and jazz performers) and exterior murals are all done by a local artist, Rick Gendron, and add to the vibe. Other works of his (not so commercial) can be seen at the Museum of Arts and Culture.

Beyond that, our bathroom needed a paint job, especially the mildewy corners of the ceiling. But certainly attention had been recently been given to the bathroom, because there was new grout and partially new tiling (slightly mismatched). The outdoor stairs, as noted in previous reviews are indeed uneven and take some concentration and yes, use that handrail. There is, however, an elevator (very small) at the end of the exterior corridor, so that is an option. Our check-in experience was terse, to say the least, as the receptionist juggled the phone, and us, without a greeting or smile. The maid put a nice handwritten note to greet us, which sort of balanced things out, but then didn't restock the coffee or bother to empty the grounds in the coffee maker. Towels were good: absorbent and fluffy.
The room has a carpet, but no padding. I was glad to have brought my slippers. The windows are all along the exterior walkway, so you will probably want to keep the curtains shut when you are out, or in. You can hear the trains from your room, coming through Spokane, but honestly, they can be heard anywhere in town and didn't bother us at all. After all, Spokane is a train town. There were not any party people when we were there and no noise from next door rooms, though we know they were occupied. We didn't eat breakfast at the Ruby, choosing instead to go to some excellent local cafes and bakeries.
So, it all boils down to the location, price and comfy bed. If you don't require too much else, definitely check it out.

Room Tip: I think upstairs would be preferable rather than to be right on the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ej54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend with my dog when I had to go to Spokane to pick up my boyfriend from the airport. They are pet friendly with a small fee ($25 or something). Unfortunately my dog did NOT like the rickety outdoor metal staircase up to the upper floor, and there was no "pet relief area" or anything, to find a patch of grass we had to walk a couple of blocks. Parking is also a little tight sometimes but it is in the center of the city. Very convenient for walking downtown, fun and funky decoration, adequate breakfast options. Our room had two full sized beds and it was a bit tight. Overall, really great value for the price!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#12 of 46 in Spokane
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Montvale Hotel
The Montvale Hotel
#13 of 46 in Spokane
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Address: 901 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#11 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#18 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range: $85 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District, directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theater, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing