We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ruby
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Value, Nice Hotel”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We came here from Alberta, Canada and after driving all day arrived and were very happy with Hotel Ruby. It is in a great location and the area is awesome.

The staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful! The bed was very comfortable and the rooms are really nice and furnished well. The only thing that I would have liked would have been some fruit with breakfast but overall we had a fantastic stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABrzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    337
    115
    40
    22
See reviews for
178
325
88
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Just embrace the fact that you're not here for a luxury experience, and the Hotel Ruby is great. Climb the uneven stairs outside (hold on to the rail if it's an icy evening) and, once inside, pretend you're in a "refurbished" old hotel in the middle of Manhattan. Ya gotta like red. A lot of red. I liked the fact that we could park for free (although if they're full, there certainly are not enough spaces for everybody to park). Also, you can't beat the price and location. It's a two-block walk to pretty much anywhere in downtown Spokane--we walked our two in the direction of Wild Sage, a fantastic restaurant.
The clerk on the evening we checked in could have used a lesson or two in cordiality, but the morning person was perky and friendly.

Room Tip: The double queens on the front of the hotel have more room (and a bit of a city view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passowilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed here for two nights with my family for a wedding, we had two of their QQ rooms (they only have 3) these rooms are good sized and are located on the end of the building so they overlook the main street/downtown area. The outside of the hotel is not so hot but the rooms are very nicely redone. The beds are so comfortable!! Their location is great, you can walk anywhere in the downtown area. We arrived early and were able to get an early check in, housekeeping did a great job but their continental breakfast is lacking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drea012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I have stayed at this property for a number of years and the change has been awsome. The staff has always been great and helpful.

Anytime I have had a problem they have gone out of their way to make it right.

Good place to stay and relax.

Room Tip: I have stayed in a number of the rooms and I would say they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

What a great little spot.
Right downtown , which was fantastic.
The beds were comfortable , the hotel itself was alright.

It is a MOTEL not a HOTEL, which i should stress , as you access your room from the outside.

Rates were realy reasonable , and within walking distance to restaraunts, movie theatre , mall and downtown.

We were in town for a concert , and walked to it.
Parking was limited, and the continential breakfast left something to be desired.

But overall good rate for what we got.

Room Tip: There is a train that runs directly behind the hotel. Outdoor room access. Choose a room near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Extremely clean, linens on the bed were new, duvet, mattress and pillows were dreamy, bathroom was spotless.
Room was small, but suited us just fine. Bathroom was a bit cramped. Train runs behind the hotel, but it runs behind all the very high end hotels on the same strip. Hotel cost us just over $60 for the night. Lounge is where the free breakfast was served. Coffee??? EXCELLENT! as were the bagels and English muffins. We're sorry we missed stopping down for a drink and snack in the lounge. The atmosphere is the cooolio part.
We'll be back and we'll tell all our friends about this hidden gem.
(If you look on Google Maps, it shows it as the old Rodeway Inn).
Parking is in the back and the night staff watches your cars. ( We saw them scoot away a couple of errant teens.)
My only complaint would be that there is a small gap between the door and the frame, allowing noise to come in. It didn't seem to interfere with our sleep, though. The climate control was one of those large units in most hotel rooms. It heats the room quickly, so we simply turned it off for the night. The room remained warm through the night.

Room Tip: All the rooms are up above the cars. Choose a room not directly at the top of the stairs so you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kootenays, British Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I'd like to congratulate the owners/managers of this converted motel. It has a nice feel to it and I like seeing an older property re-developed in this manner. The rooms are small but adequate (think European sized rooms). The decor is excellent - beds are very good. Staff is helpful and cheerful. Location is central. Rates are great.

However, let's not get too carried away by the reviews. As much as this place has going for it, it is still a very old fashioned lay-out of a 'motor-hotel'. If you are looking for a 'hotel experience' or luxurious accommodations you will be sadly disappointed. Personally I wasn't looking for that and I was very satisfied by my brief stay at the Ruby

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redtrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#10 of 46 in Spokane
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Montvale Hotel
The Montvale Hotel
#19 of 46 in Spokane
81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Property: Hotel Ruby
Address: 901 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#8 Family Hotel in Spokane
#11 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#18 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District, directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theater, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing