We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a Jewel”
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ruby
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2012

What a great little spot.
Right downtown , which was fantastic.
The beds were comfortable , the hotel itself was alright.

It is a MOTEL not a HOTEL, which i should stress , as you access your room from the outside.

Rates were realy reasonable , and within walking distance to restaraunts, movie theatre , mall and downtown.

We were in town for a concert , and walked to it.
Parking was limited, and the continential breakfast left something to be desired.

But overall good rate for what we got.

Room Tip: There is a train that runs directly behind the hotel. Outdoor room access. Choose a room near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsy1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 864 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

Extremely clean, linens on the bed were new, duvet, mattress and pillows were dreamy, bathroom was spotless.
Room was small, but suited us just fine. Bathroom was a bit cramped. Train runs behind the hotel, but it runs behind all the very high end hotels on the same strip. Hotel cost us just over $60 for the night. Lounge is where the free breakfast was served. Coffee??? EXCELLENT! as were the bagels and English muffins. We're sorry we missed stopping down for a drink and snack in the lounge. The atmosphere is the cooolio part.
We'll be back and we'll tell all our friends about this hidden gem.
(If you look on Google Maps, it shows it as the old Rodeway Inn).
Parking is in the back and the night staff watches your cars. ( We saw them scoot away a couple of errant teens.)
My only complaint would be that there is a small gap between the door and the frame, allowing noise to come in. It didn't seem to interfere with our sleep, though. The climate control was one of those large units in most hotel rooms. It heats the room quickly, so we simply turned it off for the night. The room remained warm through the night.

Room Tip: All the rooms are up above the cars. Choose a room not directly at the top of the stairs so you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I'd like to congratulate the owners/managers of this converted motel. It has a nice feel to it and I like seeing an older property re-developed in this manner. The rooms are small but adequate (think European sized rooms). The decor is excellent - beds are very good. Staff is helpful and cheerful. Location is central. Rates are great.

However, let's not get too carried away by the reviews. As much as this place has going for it, it is still a very old fashioned lay-out of a 'motor-hotel'. If you are looking for a 'hotel experience' or luxurious accommodations you will be sadly disappointed. Personally I wasn't looking for that and I was very satisfied by my brief stay at the Ruby

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redtrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed here over Christmas. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfy. Located kitty-corner to the Davenport which was all dressed up inside for the holidays. Lots of choices for restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. We'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dzandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Hotel Ruby is located within walking distance to all of the top local dining and entertainment venues in Downtown Spokane which is what sold me right off the bat! The staff are so welcoming and inviting, willing to offer any help they can provide and guide you in the right direction to all the local spots. The room itself was incredible! The rooms offer a cozy, modern vibe with plush mattresses and linens and high quality flatscreen tv's that are mounted on the walls. Definitely not your typical hotel - has a significant amount of character that most hotels don't have; hip and trendy mixed with comfy and classy. Perfect place to stay whether you are in town for a concert or local sporting event. It is just a short drive/taxi ride/bus ride from Gonzaga's campus and the Spokane Arena. Suprisingly enough, it was very quiet throughout the night despite being in the heart of downtown. The free private parking is a plus! It also offers top notch ammenties and a fabulous breakfast. I will definitely be staying at Hotel Ruby again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaime K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This was our first stay at Hotel Ruby and we very much enjoyed it. The location is perfect next to the Davenport, and to have free breakfast and free parking at that price is hard to find. The rooms were clean and amenities were nice. The best thing about Ruby is the staff though. They were all extremely helpful and pleasant and gave us a lot of recommendations that turned out spot on. We don't get to Spokane very often, but this is where we will stay from now on.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kristi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Great location, great beds, friendly staff. Had character, not like a cookie-cutter chain hotel.

On the first Friday evening of every month there is an art-event in Spokane. This hotel participates by allowing an artist to display work there. The hotel also sets up a big bbq and hands out bratwursts in a bun.

Room Tip: We had room 114. It was large and had 2 queen beds. It was also quiet, but when the shower was runni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank well-rooted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#14 of 46 in Spokane
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Montvale Hotel
The Montvale Hotel
#10 of 46 in Spokane
147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Address: 901 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#11 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#18 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range: $73 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District, directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theater, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing