We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Vintage Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, B.C.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Vintage Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just stayed at Hotel Lusso for one night and had a great stay. This is your classic hotel - not your franchise or national hotel chain (Sheraton/Hilton/Hyatt). Hotel creeks with wood trim everywhere. Check in was good but check out was even better. Staff was attentive and very helpful.

Definitely stay here again.

Con:
Parkade is one block away so it is better you either valet or put all your luggage in the room before self park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captcrash2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    90
    26
    21
    6
See reviews for
31
122
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Arrived at night to be greeted by friendly staff at front desk. Very accomodating Valet service took great care of my pickup. Rooms werre very pleasant in appearance, with a good-sized bathroom. Price was very fair for a classy downtown hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
269 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for New Years Eve, very nice hotel, great location. The largest drawback was noise. We could hear every footstep of the people above us. It kept us awake as they were up late and got up early to leave. The room is large, nicely appointed, typical Davenport quality. Parking is inconvenient, valet seemed like the best option on a cold night. They use the Davenport parking garage a block away. No hand soap in room, only the liquid stuff. Overall I was impressed, if only one could get a room where there was no noise above. Another amenity I missed was no bathrobe. This is a very nice hotel, it only seems appropriate the have nice cushy bathrobes in the closet to lounge in. No coffee maker in room, free coffee in lobby, and it's not a bad place to hang out.

Room Tip: Maybe get the top floor so you don't have noise from room above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GTrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Denver BC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Small boutique hotel in entertainment district of spokane. Excellent location with regard to food , downtown shopping, and theatres. We were there in the off season so price was under a hundred a night. If you are looking for a special hotel experience, different than modern chains, this is an excellent choice. Very comfortable lobby with free starbucks coffee in the morning and very good coffee cake as well. No coffee machine in the rooom but this is better coffee so going down to get it was worth the effort. I got very good at juggling 2 coffees and two pieces of coffee cake while my spouse lounged around in bed. The room was huge with 14 foot ceilings and very nice decor. They gave us a back room which tended to be a bit dark in the day since it is very close to another building....try for a front room if you can get it. Decor and cleanliness are excellent, staff are friendly, free wireless, romantic lighting in the room. Right across the street from the Davenport Hotel and all of its amenities. Parking is a bit expensive but such is life. I wound up parking in a private lot for much less. Plenty of food options nearby and within easy walk to the theatres in the area. . We enjoyed our stay and would recomend it.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe room...not much more money but probably worth it. Rooms at the back are a little d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobShelley54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Living in Spokane for the past 10 years, I heard so much about how the Hotel Lusso was a boutique hotel...a gem in the area. So to celebrate Christmas, I booked a Queen room here on a Sunday night in December.

Upon arrival we were greeted and promptly checked in. After getting to our room we found out we were given the keys to the wrong room but that was quickly fixed.

Once we got the right keys, we got into our room to find out we were given the ADA/handicap-friendly room...on a Sunday night when the hotel seemed very quiet/empty (we only saw one other person the whole time we were there). There was no mini-fridge in the room so do not expect to keep any left-overs or drinks chilled during your stay. The room was very tiny - the smallest I have ever stayed in (smaller than cramped NY and Chicago rooms). Very little furniture - just a desk and chair aside from the bed and nightstands. No couch or other seats.

Now on to what was probably the biggest letdown - the view. I opened the curtains to see that we had a grand view of...a side alley. Extremely disappointing. I included a picture I took of this stellar view to show I am not exaggerating in the least bit.

Other downsides include no room service and swimming pool (well there is a swimming pool...across the street at the Davenport Hotel).

I will not be staying here again and will not be recommending it to friends and family; I may have just been placed in the worst room on a night when the hotel was fairly empty, but I do not understand all the hype surrounding this hotel.

Room Tip: Specifically request to not be put in an ADA/handicap room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We feel poorly that you were placed in a room that did not put our best foot forward in regards to the view. As the building is over 100 years old, these types of views unfortunately do occur throughout the hotel in very small numbers. If this should happen again, please be sure to make our front desk team aware, as they more than likely would have been able to move you to a different room with a more favorable view. On the other hand, our team should have made a better effort to place you in a better room. We do hope that if your travels do again bring you to Spokane, that you may consider giving us another opportunity serve you. Again, thank you for taking time to share your feedback, it is surely appreciated.

Kind Regards ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night on our way to Portland. We really enjoyed the atmosphere of this older hotel and the restaurants and bars that are close by. Much more fun than staying by the interstate!! The staff were extremely helpful and polite, our room was comfortable and clean. The only drawback was the view of an alley. Well worth the price that we paid. We will come back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry_McCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here on a special rate which was really good value. We were passing through Spokane, arriving late and setting off early on a 3 week road trip. Initially we were looking for a decent interstate motel, however the Hotel Lusso rate was as competitive whilst offering so much more.

Because we arrived late we were able to park right by the hotel on the street for free. (I think the parking meters ran from 0800 – 1900hrs daily). The room was fantastic, well decorated and large for downtown.

We enjoyed our evening food and various different beers in the attached Post Street Ale House (Also reviewed 5 stars) and enjoyed our complementary coffee and cake before setting off in the morning.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sara_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruby
Hotel Ruby
#12 of 46 in Spokane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#10 of 46 in Spokane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection

Property: The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
Address: 808 W Sprague Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-3908
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#16 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lusso Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing