We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible view, small room, no modern amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible view, small room, no modern amenities”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Living in Spokane for the past 10 years, I heard so much about how the Hotel Lusso was a boutique hotel...a gem in the area. So to celebrate Christmas, I booked a Queen room here on a Sunday night in December.

Upon arrival we were greeted and promptly checked in. After getting to our room we found out we were given the keys to the wrong room but that was quickly fixed.

Once we got the right keys, we got into our room to find out we were given the ADA/handicap-friendly room...on a Sunday night when the hotel seemed very quiet/empty (we only saw one other person the whole time we were there). There was no mini-fridge in the room so do not expect to keep any left-overs or drinks chilled during your stay. The room was very tiny - the smallest I have ever stayed in (smaller than cramped NY and Chicago rooms). Very little furniture - just a desk and chair aside from the bed and nightstands. No couch or other seats.

Now on to what was probably the biggest letdown - the view. I opened the curtains to see that we had a grand view of...a side alley. Extremely disappointing. I included a picture I took of this stellar view to show I am not exaggerating in the least bit.

Other downsides include no room service and swimming pool (well there is a swimming pool...across the street at the Davenport Hotel).

I will not be staying here again and will not be recommending it to friends and family; I may have just been placed in the worst room on a night when the hotel was fairly empty, but I do not understand all the hype surrounding this hotel.

Room Tip: Specifically request to not be put in an ADA/handicap room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We feel poorly that you were placed in a room that did not put our best foot forward in regards to the view. As the building is over 100 years old, these types of views unfortunately do occur throughout the hotel in very small numbers. If this should happen again, please be sure to make our front desk team aware, as they more than likely would have been able to move you to a different room with a more favorable view. On the other hand, our team should have made a better effort to place you in a better room. We do hope that if your travels do again bring you to Spokane, that you may consider giving us another opportunity serve you. Again, thank you for taking time to share your feedback, it is surely appreciated.

Kind Regards ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    93
    28
    21
    6
See reviews for
33
128
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night on our way to Portland. We really enjoyed the atmosphere of this older hotel and the restaurants and bars that are close by. Much more fun than staying by the interstate!! The staff were extremely helpful and polite, our room was comfortable and clean. The only drawback was the view of an alley. Well worth the price that we paid. We will come back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry_McCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here on a special rate which was really good value. We were passing through Spokane, arriving late and setting off early on a 3 week road trip. Initially we were looking for a decent interstate motel, however the Hotel Lusso rate was as competitive whilst offering so much more.

Because we arrived late we were able to park right by the hotel on the street for free. (I think the parking meters ran from 0800 – 1900hrs daily). The room was fantastic, well decorated and large for downtown.

We enjoyed our evening food and various different beers in the attached Post Street Ale House (Also reviewed 5 stars) and enjoyed our complementary coffee and cake before setting off in the morning.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sara_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Beautiful, quaint hotel that has a maze for hallways. Room was very comfortable and clean but noisy. I was in room 249, king size bed. Bed was firm but comfortable... the noisy walls kept waking me up so sleep was horrible. Thankfully I was only there for one night. That is the only complaint I have about this hotel. I would recommend getting your bearings because the hallways really are a maze.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abqnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was a convenient and pleasant hotel in downtown Spokane. The street-front rooms have wonderfully large windows and yet is still quiet. There a few nice touches by the owners - who also own the historic Davenport across the street - such as penut brittle on the beds and Starkbucks (of course) coffee/cake in the lobby each morning. You will pay 15/night for parking - which is unusually steep if you are there for a few days. Staff was very pleasant and there's a small pub on the ground floor that is convenient. The only negative for me was that they have those wall-mounted squeeze dispensers for soap etc. in the bathroom.

Overall - very nice and convenient place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, BC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I met a girlfriend in Spokane and decided to try out the Lusso instead of our usual Davenport. Hoping I wouldn't regret the reservation I was very quickly assured we made a great decision. Our room was a queen, it was spacious and clean. Beautiful woodwork. We grabbed coffee in the lobby in the morning and the staff were friendly and helpful. The beds are on the soft side so a warning to those who like firmer. The price was right and we wont hesitate to go here again. Lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofapillio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Lusso 10/6/2012. We managed to grab the last room, and how lucky we were. This a beatiful upgraded hotel that manage to keep the charm of old grand hotels. The 12th feet ceilings make you felt you are in a real huge room. Very comfortable beds and great shower. In the mornings they treat you to stabucks drip coffee and coffee cake. Next to it is the Post Ale house (great drinks) and its accross the Davenport Hotel. Great Location and Fairly priced! front desk was very helpfull and friendly.

Self Parking was difficult and pricey about $15.00. A better option is to park on the street or to find overnight parking lot for $5.00. or do the Valet for $20.00.

The GreatGlynns

Room Tip: room 245 is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGreatGlynns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Montvale Hotel
The Montvale Hotel
#18 of 46 in Spokane
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#12 of 46 in Spokane
436 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection

Property: The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
Address: 808 West Sprague Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#16 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to beautiful accommodations in the heart of the Arts District at The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection. Our boutique hotel in Spokane, Washington offers relaxing guestrooms and suites near Washington State University Spokane, River Park Square and Riverfront Park. We also offer a shuttle to Spokane International Airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lusso Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing