We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was a strange hotel, full of contradictions. The decor and bathroom (plus toiletries) were very classy, and there was a large wardrobe space which had a massive safe.
On the other hand there was absolutely no coffee at all to be had upon our arrival. None in the room, or in the lobby. Never had this before in the USA. Also there was no fridge or minibar. The room was also quite dark.
You could choose either valet parking ($20 per night) or self-parking($15).
The bed we found to be pretty uncomfortable as it was relatively small and it sagged in the middle. This was ironic as the hotel was encouraging us to buy this bed at a discount!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnoldo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 282 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the Lusso in August. It is a very lovely hotel and we would stay there again. The hotel decor was beautiful and the room was very nice with some exceptions. We had a nice street view of the Davenport hotel. We were there on a Sunday, so we parked on the street for free.
We found the bed to be a bit too soft. There were no toiletries in the bathroom except a soap dispenser that you'd find in a gas station by the sink and in the shower. I would think for a higher end hotel would offer spa like toiletries which are always a treat to receive. We also found it very awkward to turn on the shower. If you didn't want the floor to get flooded you actually had to be right inside the shower, shut the door before turning it on and getting a burst of cold water. The shower head sprays directly on the door side rather than a wall! (Very strange that they would design it that way.) Although some people may consider this insignificant, but the bathroom door is right beside the bed. When I first got into bed it bothered me to stare at a toilet. Of course I shut the door, but I found it was a very strange floor plan. There are no coffee makers or fridge, however, they do offer coffee in the lobby in the morning.

Room Tip: Can't remember but it faced the street looking at the Davenport.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hey-Airdrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was in Spokane for business/pleasure and had such an outstanding room that when I came back on the return portion of my trip that I purposefully stopped in Spokane to pend the night at the Hotel Lusso. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hope2Nono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We arrived late at night. The staff was very accomodating and the room was outstanding in every way. We cut our stay in Coeur D'alene short so we could get an extra night at the Lusso and downtown Spokane, again working with the late night staff. We had such a great vibe of the Lusso. The third day we had to deal with the daytime staff and our good vibe disappeared. Hot from walking downtown on a hot day, I could not even get a glass of water from the daytime staff. Only when I asked if the hotel manager was in did I get any semblance of customer service, regarding this and other topics. The Lusso is a great hotel, but only as good as it's intended service.

Room Tip: The Palm Garden across the street in the Davenport Hotel is great for breakfast and Chai Mambo was e...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your most recent stay with us. It is nice to hear that your experience with our evening staff was exceptional. I appreciate you letting us know that your experiences with the day staff were different. I am following up with the manager in that area, and we will use this example as a reminder of how important it is to have consistent service throughout a guest's stay. Again, thank you for taking the time to share feedback. We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

When we arrived they had a room ready, but asked to wait a half hour for a better room and we did which turned out to be great for us. The other room we were told was smaller, we received a very spacious room, clean and a great view. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable with directions and the vendors around the area. The WiFi was great and very accessible. Worth the price.

The Hotel is walking distance to shopping and to the riverside.

The Riverside has trails and beautiful views. They share parking with the Davenport across the street which had a great Jazz band playing in the Peacock Lounge on Saturday night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a small boutique hotel located in downtown Spokane. It is across the street from and part of the Hotel Davenport group. The room we stayed in was large, well-decorated and had the most comfortable queen sized bed I've ever slept in. The bathroom was spacious and lovely with a great (tub) shower, plenty of towels, good lighting: it didn't have much counter space but even that was adequate. I am short and found the sink to be quite high for me and the mirror over the sink totally out of my range: however, there is a full sized mirror on the back of the door and a magnifying mirror well placed. The problem was there was no dresser or armoire in the room. No drawers. We requested 4 folding luggage racks and placed our open suitcases on them and "made do", but it would have proven to be difficult for a longer stay. Apparently when they upgraded to wall-hung, flat-screened TV sets they didn't think about drawers. Weird!

Room Tip: We saw one large suite: it was very dark and we didn't like it. Our (regular) room faced Spragu...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harriet_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

What a great gem in downtown Spokane. It may be the step-sister of the Davenport, but I prefer the ambience of this quiet boutique hotel.

We stayed at the Lusso for one night each at the beginning and end of a bicycle trip. The management was very helpful and allowed us to assemble/disassemble our bikes in a large room off the lobby. They also stored our boxes for us while we were gone for the week.

The front desk gave us some great recommendations for dining,( which I have already reviewed)
The rooms were very nice, and the hotel was very well priced. It is Jett-setter or Sinque-away approved also.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m-ketzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Montvale Hotel
The Montvale Hotel
#14 of 46 in Spokane
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#12 of 46 in Spokane
452 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection

Address: 808 West Sprague Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#16 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range: $142 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to beautiful accommodations in the heart of the Arts District at The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection. Our boutique hotel in Spokane, Washington offers relaxing guestrooms and suites near Washington State University Spokane, River Park Square and Riverfront Park. We also offer a shuttle to Spokane International Airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lusso Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing