We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual and delicious”
Review of Italia Trattoria

Italia Trattoria
Reserve with OpenTable
Italia Trattoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 882 Restaurants in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: Italian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In July of 2010, Chef Anna Vogel and Operations Manager Bethe Bowman opened Italia Trattoria, a lively, regionally inspired Italian restaurant in historic Browne’s Addition just west of downtown Spokane. Chef Anna’s commitment to cooking seasonally with the finest local produce and artisan products available from Italy and the Pacific Northwest has differentiated Italia Trattoria from any other restaurant in Spokane. The menu has an eclectic mix of house made pastas, meats and fresh fish, salads and soups, and breakfast dishes on weekends. Our menu changes seasonally while offering some of our house favorite dishes year around. The menu is complimented by a well-received wine list with a primary focus on Italian producers and some local Northwest wines. We offer a full service bar with hand crafted martinis, barrel aged cocktails, fresh squeezed juices, and the best espresso in town. Whether you are in the mood for our grilled rack of wild boar with sweet potato gnocchi, a house made squid ink fettuccine with spicy wild shrimp, our charred octopus salad, the best meatballs in town, or our city wide famous zeppole doughnuts or tiramisu, come dine with us.
Newburgh, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Casual and delicious”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Sophisticated seasonings in a casual setting. Delightful appetizers, ravioli in cream sauce. Worth the wait for a table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolNburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    41
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing chef and menu”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Always incredible food. On this visit I had the baked eggs, which were amazing. I've had other dishes here on previous visits, usually all from the breakfast/brunch menu and no matter what you order you can't go wrong. The chef here is amazing and the food always top-notch (especially for Spokane).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firecraker15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A taste of Italy in Spokane”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This quaint bistro allows us to travel back to Tuscany and enjoy the wonderful ambience. The food is simple but elegant with great flavor. Jesse is pleasant, offered great wine suggestion without breaking the bank. Beth is planning some wonderful summer drinks for the patio. We plan to visit more often.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HandK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Less is More”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Italia Trattoria is a much needed and welcome addition to a city that once voted Olive Garden "Best Italian Restaurant." Obviously, I did not vote. Hip yet cozy this Northern/Regional Italian restaurant with a solid glass garage door wall on the street side is in the heart of Brown's Edition; home to the Northwest Museum of Arts and Culture founded in 1916 as well as historic mansions dating back to the silver mining days. At Italia Trattoria the simplicity of the ingredients allow the essence of the dishes to radiate, the pasta is handmade in house, the wine list is superb - try the Milbrandt Cabernet from Columbia Valley. Owners chef Anna and partner Beth are as good restauranteurs as their pairing of prosciutto di parma with black mission figs. The seafood risotto with wild shrimp, squid, fresh clams or other seasonal fish with leeks, tomatoes and parmesan wine cream is one of my favorites. Polenta lasagna with roasted hedgehog mushrooms, spinach, caramelized onions, fontina cheese and sweet basil sauce is a favorite of my vegetarian son. Seasonally you might find Quail and venison on the menu. Every time I step into this intimate trattoria I imagine throwing a swell party or fundraiser here. This San Francisco transplant is happy to bide her time at Italia Trattoria - Prego!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhatIKnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food in Spokane”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I eat at this restaurant about every two weeks. We have had brunch, lunch, and dinner and consistently the food is good, the service is good, and there are plenty of gluten free options.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hays70TLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Italia Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing