We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service - treat yourself.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sante Restaurant & Charcuterie

Sante Restaurant & Charcuterie
Ranked #20 of 852 Restaurants in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Breakfast & lunch every day from 9am-3pm. Social hour 3-5pm. Dinner service nightly 5pm-close. French techniques, Northwest products. Eat globally / Act locally...... A Votre Sante
Fridley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and service - treat yourself.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We (5 adults, 1 child) were in town for a family gathering and read good reviews about this restaurant.

The Food: Everything we ate (4 charcuterie and small dishes, 3 entrees, 1 salad, 1 soup, 1 child's meal) ranged from good to wow. This is a restaurant that aspires to fine dining and the risk of doing so is coming up with a disappointing plate - but not a one in our group. There were some sublime flavors going on there and this was a group of diners with some experience in cooking and fine food from around the country and the world. Lots of options on the menu and we ate fish, pork and vegetarian dishes to satisfy the vegetarians and carnivores in our group.

The Service: Very friendly and helpful, from the original phone reservation to the explanation of the menu to the description of what was on the plate before you. Two niggles. We needed to keep track of our server a couple times when we needed something - not a major deal on a busy night and this is not an expensive place where you expect someone at your side every moment. The other thing, it took quite some time for our entree order to be brought out - they did come around to say it would be coming soon, but we were wondering if something didn't work out and they had to start over. When the food did make it to the table, it was all very good, no-one had a cold entree or any other problem. With this level of attention to food, I feel like you put yourself on "European time" and make the meal an event. If we had been in a hurry to have a good meal and then go to a show or another activity, we would not have been happy.

The Value: For this level of food, I think the prices were very reasonable. I'm amazed how much you can end up paying at the popular franchises for a meal and our supper here wasn't that much more for much "better" (sourcing, imagination, preparation) food. I would say you are paying for the food here - service was good, but not what you pay for in a "fancy" (stuffy) restaurant and the facility was comfortable but no-one spent a mint on it either.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 55donb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    43
    11
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fine dining downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We did have delicious meals; from appetizers, main dishes, desert and wine. It's pricey and the service is good. The only negative side is about the setting; the building is nice an old, but the entryway from sidewalk (though public) was dirty, the acoustics are terrible, we couldn't hear what the waiter was saying (and he talked fast) and we couldn't hear each other either; the sound bounces off everything, maybe an acoustic ceiling is in order. The tables were quite close and it doesn't have an intimate setting, a large room with many tables.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank isildor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DBP”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

One in our party loved the duck; however roast pork was bland and tasted like a piece of ham. Prices were on the high side; tables were very close together, and the noise level made it difficult to hear the waiter describe the dishes and made conversation very difficult. Service was good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DBP56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerose37, Owner at Sante Restaurant & Charcuterie, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hello, thank you very much for your feedback regarding your latest experiences dining with us. We appreciate your honesty and the opportunity it gives us to improve. Your server made us aware of this circumstance before you made this review and were already in the process of calling a team meeting to brainstorm how to prevent future occurrences. We strive to provide a consistently impressive dining experience, and unfortunately you caught us at a less than favorable time. As a small business, we depend on every one of our employees to be 100% each and every day. On the particular day you were in, my husband (who is the chef) and myself (who is the operations manager) were in the emergency room with our newborn son, who had some scary health issues and is still recovering from. I am not one to make excuses for anything, however there was a ripple effect that was felt by our team, added to the surprisingly large lunch rush we had that day. We would love to invite you to give us another try, this time on us, in the hopes you will fall in love with what you once felt was an above average local small business. Please email me at KateRose@SanteSpokane.com when you would like to join us for lunch or dinner, and I will make sure you are well taken care of. Thank you for reading this reply and for taking the time to give us an honest review about your dining experience.
Sincerely, Kate Hansen
Owner / Operations Manager Santé Restaurant & Charcuterie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Walked out...Service is a problem and the menu has degraded.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have reviewed this restaurant & recommended it previously; however, my last two visits have been disappointing. The food was o.k. but uninteresting on my previous visit. My most recent attempt to visit resulting in one of 3 times in my life I have walked out of restuarant after being seated to dine. 30 minutes after being seated for lunch, we sat with our menus and a glass of water. No drink order had been taken, and no server had acknowledged us. As this did not bode well for a business lunch even on a lunch hour plus, after looking at the updated menu and assessing the service, we left. It did not appear there were many items left worth waiting for...
Jeremy is a good chef, but needs to travel and get some experience at other high end restaurants to appreciate and learn about front of the house service and expand his food repetoire. This can be a great place again, but it has definately slipped.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NWfoodie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulously gourmet at unbelievable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Quiche slice was huge and to die for, yet just $6 and comes with a side salad! Service was a touch on the slow side, but in line with what I expect from a French-cuisine establishment. The unique cured meats were also flavorful, decadent and very unique. Love my lunch experience here and would come back in a heartbeat.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alch461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sante Restaurant & Charcuterie also viewed

 

Been to Sante Restaurant & Charcuterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing