We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay in Spokane!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Son en Breugel, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A good stay in Spokane!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a very Nice hotel, very close to downtown and the Riverfront Park. The construction activities are allmost done and we did not hear them. The rooms are big and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Very helpfull staff!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Gerda M,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. My staff is amazing and we do strive to provide exemplary service. I hope your travels in the USA are successful and that the next time you are in the Spokane area, please come stay and see our completed project. Be safe.

Lori, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    120
    30
    15
    12
See reviews for
124
94
22
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way out to Seattle. They are doing a major renovation of this site. It must have been a hotel in the past - it is definitely not the typical Holiday Inn Express. The hotel was in pretty rough shape when we were there. The lobby was a room about 5 feet by 10 feet. They served their "free" breakfast in three makeshift hotel rooms, which was a little weird and crowded with the other guests. There was the typical construction noises going on the entire time - lots of hammering and yelling by construction workers. There is no pool here and no laundry either. The one good thing was the location, it is just a short walk from a nice park and a few good restaurants. If we passed through Spokane again, I think we would pick a different place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b_bwamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear b_bwamu,
Thank you for staying with us. Yes, we are going through a renovation, and I apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused you during your stay. With the exception of the electricians and the plaster/stone crew, construction is finished by 4:00 pm. The electricians and the plaster/stone crew are finished around 6:00 pm normally. Also be reminded that the construction is happening all at one end of the hotel which should minimize and noise during the day to the guest rooms. I hope that you will come back and stay with us again after the renovation is completed. I hope your trip to Seattle was successful.

Lori, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I get that you are under construction, but did you have to put us right next to it? Not cool to have hammering right next to your window before 7am! I looked out the window and saw his leg and the scaffolding. Not the experience I was hoping for.

Other low lights include having to return to the front desk twice because our key card wouldn't work and insist the staff come open it. The questionable elevator left us a bit concerned.

We have been traveling nearly 3 weeks and this us in the bottom 2 hotels for us. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Oregonswim,
Please accept my sincere apology for the difficulties you experienced while staying with us. Our renovation process will not last forever. Even though you have indicated that you will not stay with us again, I would like to personally invite you back when it is finished. We strive to make our service the best in the industry and would like to have the opportunity to win your loyalty. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience so that we can improve our property for all of our guests. Have a great summer.

Lori, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

It would be easy to downgrade this hotel due to the inconvenience caused by the current major reconstruction project, but that would be unfair. Yes, there is noise, even at 6am. Yes, there is no lobby because that's part of the area being rebuilt. Yes, the breakfast space has been shoehorned into 3 small, cramped rooms. But this is a temporary situation and when I look at our 2 stays there in the past month, overall I have to give the management credit for their efforts and rate the hotel on its underlying strengths. For that it gets my thumbs up.

When we checked in, we found the staff helpful, prompt, efficient, friendly and informative. They gave us a good size king room which had a very comfortable bed - better than we have found at many HI Expresses. They also answered our questions about getting around the town and finding a place for dinner. And when we came back a second time, they made it a point to give us a room as far from the noise of construction as possible.

I also can't say enough about the service in the breakfast buffet. Service, you might ask? Who gets service at a HI Express buffet? Well, at Spokane you do. There were 2 or 3 people bustling around in what is clearly inadequate but temporary space, making sure the buffet was always full, helping guests find what they were looking for, even stopping by individual tables asking if they could bring anything over, such as extra butter. In particular, on both stays, we were hugely impressed by the woman who seemed to be in charge, Dzenana Prozorac, who went out of her way to greet guests and especially welcome the children in the room.

Finally, I really like the location of this hotel. It's on a hill that's a little bit isolated from the rest of downtown, but once across the street, you are in the middle of a bustling small city, starting with the town's Riverfront Park. After a day on the road, a chance to walk in the green of the park, follow the river and the falls, watch people, etc. is a welcome bit of relaxation. And across the park is the center of town, with restaurants and shopping. All of this is within 10 minutes easy walk from the hotel.

If I have a chance to go back to Spokane, I hope to stay here again and see the hotel after the remodeling is done. I'll bet my rating goes up then.

Room Tip: During construction, try to get a room at the other end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your kind words and great attitude.I do have an amazing staff! I have stayed many places as well and I know that probably the most important influencer for a returning guest is how they were treated. We value our guests and want to make each person's stay as stressfree as possible. I know our guests want to see the project finished but not nearly as much as my staff wants to see it completed. We look forward to sharing the finished project with you!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were a bit shocked when we pulled into the parking lot to find the hotel was under construction and we had never been informed in our numerous conversations about our room. A room has been converted into the "lobby" it was crowded and uncomfortable to stand in with a bunch of other guests waiting. Our room is nice; however, this hotel is very loud, we could hear people walking above us all night long. In addition, since the hotel was under construction, they moved the breakfast to a couple of regular hotel rooms, which was again congested. We have a child and there was no high chair to be found...ended up going out to breakfast just to avoid the pain the butt of the breakfast buffet here. As I stated above, I expect more quality control from an HIX or at least informing the guest of the status of the hotel. Honestly had we known the hotel was under construction we would have preferred to stay at another location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! I am so sorry about the congestion you experienced in the breakfast bar area. With the expansion of our lobby and breakfast bar/dining area, we had to temporarily relocate the breakfast bar and dining area to guest rooms. We have done our best to open them up to provide as much flow as possible and still accommodate our guests. Most of the time, the flow works well. I hope that you will give us another chance to impress you once our project is completed. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This place is a DUMP!! As a priority club member, I was expecting consistency. As I have learned, not all HIE are created equal. The hotel has remodeled its exterior leaving the visitor to believe the hotel is new. This place is old old old. I was not told of the renovation underway. There is no lobby to speak of - just a desk area with flourescent lights in a converted side entrance to the hotel.

The rooms are small. I have one word about the bathrooms - bathfitter. Cheap bandaid of a remodel. The hotel is an old building and you can hear EVERYTHING in the room above and in the hallways. I don't need to know how often other guests use the toilet! Details like the ice buckets and trash cans reek of hospital tan plastic. The elevator is dirty and almost always had something spilled during my two night stay. The hallways are missing baseboards (I understand they are putting in new carpet and was told it was only on floors 3 and 4- but as I ventured to floor 2 - missing basboards again exposing the glue tracks and dirty carpet).

There are no "grounds" to this hotel as it is built on a hillside. They even have bench seating with trees overgrown on and around them. How old is this place??? The killer was the rate this past weekend. $169.00/night. To think that I chose not to stay at the Davenport for fear the rooms would be too old. I am the fool.

Things that saved the weekend: The staff - far superior than the hotel merits. If only they knew what a decent hotel looked like - they would not have been so surprised when I voiced my opinions of the hotel. The parkside Red Lion was almost across the street. This place was like an oasis when I ventured out for take out. Their rate last weekend, $129.00.

I was offered $20 off my next stay at the same location! I would NEVER NEVER NEVER stay at this location again. Red Lion would get my business in a heartbeat.

I travel multiple times a month for business and this is my first review. I am sad as I write this and hate to insult an establishment but the website is a lie. Even when the new lobby is built, the rooms will still be below standard for a mid-range hotel.

Take heed travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear C B,
I am so sorry that you felt that way about your stay. We really are nice people and we really do have a great property and an awesome location. Unfortunately, we can't snap our fingers and have all the property improvements done in a snap. Believe me, if it was that easy, I would have done it by now. There are a lot of people involved in the renovation and we are all working towards an incredible lobby and breakfast bar area. We are also replacing wall vinyl and carpet in the hallways! We are doing all these improvements for guests just like yourself. If we didn't care about you, our valued guest, we wouldn't be working on this project. Again, I am sorry that your experience here was not what you expected. If you would like to call me, I would be glad to discuss these issue with you. Thank you for staying with us, and I hope that you will give us another chance to win your loyalty once this project is complete. Sincerely, Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

For my daughter's university graduation my whole family stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Spokane, Washington. The room was very clean, the staff particularly helpful, and the location perfect. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony looking toward the South Hills area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmfhelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us for the recent graduation. And congratulations to your daughter for that accomplishment! We are all proud of her and the other graduates of 2013! What a joyous time for all graduates and their families. We hope to be a part of that by providing superior service and comfortable accommodations. Please come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Lion River Inn
Red Lion River Inn
#24 of 46 in Spokane
717 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Spokane Downtown at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown
Address: 801 N Division St, Spokane, WA 99202-1614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Spokane
#7 Family Hotel in Spokane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Downtown Spokane hotel is an excellent location for business and leisure travelers alike. Perched above the city with a 360 degree view, our hotel in Spokane is close to Spokane shopping, dining, and all that downtown Spokane has to offer. We are a stone s throw from the Spokane Convention Center, and serve as a home away from home for visiting Gonzaga University, EWU, WSU, and Whitworth University. Our Spokane Hotel is also a great place to stay when coming to Spokane to see a Broadway Show at the INB Performing Arts Center, Concerts at the Knitting Factory, Concerts at the Spokane Arena, Chiefs WHL Hockey and Spokane Shock Arena2 Football at Spokane Veteran s Memorial Arena. For the best service in any Spokane hotel, search no further than the Spokane Holiday Inn Express on the rock! We are 100% non-smoking, complete with exercise facility, business center with free printer use and Internet access, free high-speed wired Internet in every guest room, free deluxe Continental breakfast as well as cookies and milk every evening. Make your reservation now; your room awaits. All you have to do is come prepared to experience that which memories are made of at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Spokane hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown Hotel Spokane
Holiday Inn Spokane
Spokane Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing