We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location to Watch Fireworks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My son and I spent three days in Spokane over the Fourth of July. I specifically selected this hotel because of it's location in relation to the river and park AND because it sits on a small hill overlooking the fireworks area. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Our room was large and the beds were dreamy! The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent with lots of options. Milk and cookies were served every afternoon at 4pm. It was an easy walk to the park. It's a little pricy compared to other hotels in the area but we paid for the location. By 6pm on the Fourth the hotel staff had secured the parking lot for "guests only" and we went out and set up our chairs and blankets for the show. We were not disappointed! And not having to walk back to the hotel from the park with the "hordes" made this the best Fourth of July ever for my son!

I would definately recommend this hotel for a stay during the Fourth of July holiday weekend ot at any other time of the year!

Room Tip: Top floor is quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosebud59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hotel. Our location really is ideal for watching fireworks during 4th of July or even on New Year's Eve. We are very fortunate to have such a unique location. Thank you also for your complimenting my staff. They are all truly amazing and I am honored to get to work with such a great group of people that work so hard to impress each guest. Please come stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 410 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

Everything was well ordered. Staff courteous, food good, room very clean . . . I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CocoWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

Thank you for staying with us and sharing a little about your experience. We hope that you will stay with us again. Be sure to sign up for Priority Club if you haven't already. Ask our friendly front desk about the advantages of belonging to our loyalty club. It is the best in the industry. We have an incredible massage therapist now that will give a quick chair massage when you check in. Also, be watching for our upgrade on the outside of our building and the remodeling of the lobby and breakfast bar area. It's going to be beautiful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We switched from this hotel to the Davenport as the bottomline cost was equal (after credits) for a much superior hotel. the HIexpress has a small breakfast area thus crowded compared to other HIExp i have used (even on this trip).

great location to the River Park, Gonzaga, short walk to downtown.

Price seem out of line.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

I regret to hear that you have gone to the Davenport. However, it is a very nice historic hotel. Are you a Priority Club member? You can earn points that never expire by staying at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown. The points can be used for free night stays, gift cards, shopping, or airline miles. May I also remind you that parking is free, breakfast is included, and cookies and milk are served in the lobby each evening. We also have a complimentary business center, wifi, and fitness room. Out staff is amazing and is trained to go the extra mile to see that your stay is great. I hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We were traveling with two teenagers and we had a nice roomy room. Complimentary breakfast was good with a nice selection of food including hot dishes. Location is great - close to downtown and Riverfront Park. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaggsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Thank you for the great comments. We do truly have a unique location. The view is incredible, and we are relatively close to everything. We do have a great staff and a delicious breakfast with many choices. We are also open to suggestions on how we can do things better. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Let me start by saying I've stayed at the hotel at least 10 times over the last few years for business trips to Spokane.

The good:

The staff is generally amazing. The front desk staff will do anything in their power to make your stay better (move you rooms, late checkout, extra water bottles, etc). Dzeanna works the breakfast area and she is the nicest hotel employee I've ever met. The breakfast area is fastidiously clean and well stocked. She'll give you a goodie bag if you're a regular!

Free dinner Monday through Wednesday nights and milk & cookies in the evenings. The dinners aren't always amazing, but you get what you pay for because they're free! The cookies are delish.

The workout room is solid. The equipment (2 treadmills, 1 elliptical and weight machine) is Precor and is generally well maintained. It's clean, there's a tv and a watercooler. There aren't usually people in there so you can pretty easily snag a machine (can't be said for the Doubletree!).

Free and plentiful parking. Free Wifi.

The not-so-good:

The rooms. They're not bad, but they aren't amazing. Pretty standard holiday inn express. The heater clicks on and off so you have to keep it off if you're a light sleeper.

The location is close enough to downtown (15 min walk), but it's not a fun walk by yourself back through the park in the dark (especially if you're a female). So you'll want a car in the winter to get downtown. Also, not a lot of food options within easy walking distance.

Overall I choose to stay here because I like getting the priority club points and the staff is great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and experiences about your stays here at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown. My staff is truly amazing! Priority Club Rewards is the world's first, largest and fastest-growing hotel loyalty program. And your points can be used a variety of ways and they never expire. It truly is a great program. We are excited that in the forth coming days we will be embarking on a renovation project in which we will be re-skinning the outside of the building as well as remodeling the lobby and breakfast bar areas. Thank you again for your time and for you business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We rented the executive room to accommodate 2 babies under the age of 2. We were actually traveling through coeur d'Alene for a camping trip and detoured to Spokane so we could stay at a higher rated hotel after checking out trip advisor. (the hotels in coeur d'Alene with top ratings were sold out). We found the carpets and sofas dirty and stained - wouldn't want my kids to touch anything in the room! Fortunately we brought their cribs and bedding from home and know that they slept in a clean spot. For a hotel that is highly rated on trip advisor and a room that charges $160 a night, I was disappointed. Could have stayed at any hotel in coeur d'Alene and saved ourselves the extra travel time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danday02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Wow. I am so sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience while staying with us at Holiday Inn Express on the Rock. I will check into the carpet and upholstery right away and see that it is corrected. Please accept my sincere apology for the condition of the room. We strive to make your stay the best ever. Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your stay. I hope that you will give us another chance to win back your loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

A great place to stay in Spokane, especially the breakfast. The staff is very friendly

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cove_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. Have you tried the new pancake machine. Just push the buttons and 45 seconds later you are two hot fresh pancakes ready for dressing and eating! We are hoping to be able to serve some different flavored pancakes soon... In addition to pancakes, we serve biscuits and gravy, eggs and bacon or sausage, bananas, yogurt, toast, bagels, English muffins, cereal, oatmeal, coffee, tea, juice, and of course our famous cinnamon rolls. We have an incredible lady that tends to our breakfast bar and our guests. I hope you had the pleasure of meeting her as well. Thank you again for your loyalty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
0.2 mi away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Spokane Airport
0.2 mi away
Red Lion River Inn
Red Lion River Inn
#23 of 46 in Spokane
781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spokane Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown

Address: 801 N Division St, Spokane, WA 99202-1614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Spokane
#7 Family Hotel in Spokane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
Price Range: $121 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Downtown Spokane hotel is an excellent location for business and leisure travelers alike. Perched above the city with a 360 degree view, our hotel in Spokane is close to Spokane shopping, dining, and all that downtown Spokane has to offer. We are a stone s throw from the Spokane Convention Center, and serve as a home away from home for visiting Gonzaga University, EWU, WSU, and Whitworth University. Our Spokane Hotel is also a great place to stay when coming to Spokane to see a Broadway Show at the INB Performing Arts Center, Concerts at the Knitting Factory, Concerts at the Spokane Arena, Chiefs WHL Hockey and Spokane Shock Arena2 Football at Spokane Veteran s Memorial Arena. For the best service in any Spokane hotel, search no further than the Spokane Holiday Inn Express on the rock! We are 100% non-smoking, complete with exercise facility, business center with free printer use and Internet access, free high-speed wired Internet in every guest room, free deluxe Continental breakfast as well as cookies and milk every evening. Make your reservation now; your room awaits. All you have to do is come prepared to experience that which memories are made of at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Spokane hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown Hotel Spokane
Holiday Inn Spokane
Spokane Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing