We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus City Center
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel for my daughter's graduation. We thought it was a great place. The staff here really goes out of their way to make sure you are happy with the accommodations. I didn't expect them to have such a large breakfast either--yogurt, fresh fruit, some really awesome granola that I guess they buy locally (organic too!). The best thing was the location--you just can't beat it. We just left our car parked for the weekend and walked everywhere.

Room Tip: Check out the Saranack restaurant the street behind the hotel. Great food
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill88089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments! I'm so glad we could assist you during this special occasion weekend.
I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and central location. We buy as many breakfast ingredients as possible from local and organic suppliers to provide the best possible experience for our guests.
I'm glad you found your experience with us exceptional -we hope you consider staying with us when you travel through Spokane again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus City Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

804 - 810 of 864 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the great reviews in TripAdvisor. Now that I have stayed there, I must say that I have never seen TripAdvisor so inaccurate. Upon entering the hotel, there is the strong, sweet, cheap smell of deodorizer. I checked in and, rather than a plastic card key that is used by every hotel that has been updated since 1980, I was given the old style metal key with electronic contacts on the end. Went to the elevator and when it opened I noticed strands of the frazzled carpet hanging out the doorway as I entered. Got off the elevator on the 3rd floor and as I walked to my room I noticed an ugly stain the size of a magazine on the aging hallway carpet (which is the most basic cheap carpet available). The room itself was basic, but adequate, no real complaints here. The bathroom is very dimly lit, and the toilet seat lid is so cheap and thin that I did not feel safe sitting on it. I leaned on the sink counter, and the whole counter nudged slightly downward like it was not securely attached to the wall. The sink surface had "shatter" cracks as though someone had dropped a brick in it. There is a busy 6 lane street/highway and stop light 100 feet from the hotel, and there was noticeable traffic noise throughout the night. The breakfast is mediocre - the fruit is not fresh, obviously from a can. In a short time at this hotel, I felt like a such a loser. I could look out the window of my room and see 3 nice modern hotels across the street, and wished I had booked one of them instead of this place. There is no way that this hotel should be rated above the Mariott, the Doubletree, or the Fairfield Inn. It is not nearly as nice as any of those hotels. On the positive side, the hotel is conveniently located in downtown, the people seemed nice enough, and the parking is free. Also, it's around $60 cheaper per night than the other nearby hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EasyGoingTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepybear1, Manager at Best Western Plus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I apologize your stay with us was less than satisfactory. Our goal is to not only meet but exceed the expectations of all our guests.

You are correct in stating that the hotels surrounding us are more recently updated, full-service hotels. As one of the few economy-brand hotels located in the central downtown Spokane area close to the convention center, Riverfront Park, shopping, etc., our guests who continue to stay with us enjoy the convienence of our location, coupled with an affordable rate and complimentary amenities (no additional costs for breakfast, parking or internet here). You are also correct in stating that those full-service hotels neighboring us are at least $60 more a night.

Please know that based on other feedback we've received such as your own, we are actually in the process of starting some serious renovations to our property-- by fall you can except all brand-new, 40" flat-screen TV's in every room, new bedding, wall vinyl, lighting--I think you and all our guests will be pleased with our new look.

Thanks again for your feedback. Good luck with all your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Have stayed at this travelodge a few times on weekend trips to Spokane. It has always been clean, staff at the front desk are courteous, the complimentary breakfast is good and the locations is excellent, right downtown.
The rooms are standard motel issue. The price with AAA rates is pretty good for a downtown hotel. The rate does go up quite a bit on the weekends. We used the golf package on a weekend and it was a good deal.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are a bit quieter, the north side faces a major intersection
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepybear1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor! I am very glad you took advantage of our golf package when you stayed with us--with two golf vouchers included per room per night, it's a pretty great deal!
We're always happy to accomodate your weekend getaways to Spokane. Please come see us again soon! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Travel Lodge at the Convention Center from the 18th thru the 22nd of February 2012,
We lived in this area for 16 years, traveling The Great Pacific Northwest at every opportunity.
The Travel Lodge is literally "right across the street" from the Spokane Convention Center, making it a short walk to much of downtown Spokane, however parking is limited, and those drivers traveling southbound on Division headed for the main entrance to The Travel Lodge cannot access the front entrance to the property without first going by the hotel and then driving completely around the block due to the numerous one-way streets in the area.
The rooms were average, I thought. The best feature about this hotel is it's location.

Room Tip: I would stay away from the main floor rooms and choose something a bit higher for a better view. Rem...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gr8nw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepybear1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank you so much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor! Thank you for your positive comments regarding our location-- we are in a very central area in downtown Spokane right next to the Convention Center, INB Performing Arts Center, dozens of great restaurants, shopping, etc. Parking is sometimes limited at full occupancy, but both our outdoor lot and our indoor parking garage are always complimentary.

Those who are unfamiliar with the downtown Spokane area should be advised by the comment that navigating around our dowtown with all the one-way streets can be challenging! Please feel free to contact us prior to arrival if you have any questions regarding directons and our friendly front desk staff will be happy to assist you!

Thank you again for your feedback, we appreciate hearing from you and always take your comments into consideration in an effort to not only meet, but exceed your expectations. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel while attending a trade show at the Spokane Convention Centre. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast included was good value, fresh baked cookies in the evening created a very wonderful, welcoming scent in the lobby area and was a nice touch. Rooms are a good size, seem well maintained, sheer curtains would be a nice compliment to allow for better privacy although allowing for natural lighting in the room. Great walking distance to all amenities and would recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheila u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stopped in here for one night as we were driving from Seattle to big Sky, Montana. The staff were fantastic, as we came a day earlier, they were very accommodating. The location was good, close to restaurants. The room was really big and clean. Good breakfast with cereals, toast, pastries, fruit, waffles etc. parking was safe and convenient, in a locked garage. We were very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alanadi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepybear1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for your positive feedback! Travelodge Spokane prides itself on offering all our guests a complimentary hot breakfast bar and a free indoor, secured parking garage, as well as many other complimentary amenities. Again, thank you for your response, and we hope to see you the next time you are passing through! Enjoy your day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Very good location, good price, they have complimentary breakfast and free wifi. Staff was friendly but only partially helpful with our questions. Cleanliness was generally ok, however there were some small stains on the sheets that the laundry service didn't seem to get out when washing. Would consider it again if ever back in Spokane.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepybear1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Thank you so much for your feedback on your most recent stay. We do apologize that your stay was not anything but absolutely satisfying. We strive to make every guest's stay as comfortable as possible and exceed expectations. It is our hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you. Please feel free to address any issues with room cleanliness or customer service directly with the front desk at any time during or after your stay- we certainly appreciate knowing what we can work on and do better! Again, thank you so much for your response. Enjoy your day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
0.2 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#2 of 46 in Spokane
824 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spokane Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Center

Address: 33 W. Spokane Falls Blvd., Spokane, WA 99201-0120 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#6 Family Hotel in Spokane
#8 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range: $128 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown, directly across from the Spokane Convention Center and the INB Performing Arts Theater, near Riverfront Park, the Spokane Arena, Riverfront Park Shopping Center, and The University District. Be close to all the exciting action on your Northwest getaway at our BEST WESTERN PLUS City Center hotel. Whether you are traveling on business or leisure, you are going to love being just steps from shopping, restaurants, entertainment and incredible attractions. Spokane International Airport is just eight miles away. Begin your stay at our pet-friendly Spokane, WA, hotel with 24-hour check-in, and let our friendly staff help you get the most out of your stay. Park for free outside, or in our indoor parking garage (fees may be applicable.) Perk up with a free full hot breakfast, then head to our fitness center for a workout. Each non-smoking guest room features new furniture, 40-inch flat panel HDTV and Keurig Coffee, plus microwaves and refrigerators are available upon request. We offer guest laundry as well. Free Wi-Fi Internet access means you can go online from your room or our business center. Mobility accessible rooms and jetted tub suites are also available. Ask about our suites, and for those "special evenings with your significant other", ask about our Fireside Suite with hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge At The Hotel Spokane
Travelodge Spokane
Travel Lodge Spokane
Spokane Travel Lodge
Spokane Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing