We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“1 night on Spokane...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University District / Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn University District / Downtown
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“1 night on Spokane...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

It was a pretty basic Comfort Inn. It was really hard to get to due to the construction on the highway and the construction on 3rd Avenue. It was also rush hour and we had 4 lanes to get across to make the turn onto 3rd Ave which we couldn't make due to traffic. So we had to find another way to get to the hotel which took what seemed like forever. Part of the problem was the one way streets, too. :-( I wasn't too happy when I got to the front desk, and the desk clerk didn't even say Hi or how ya doing... No "thanks for staying with us, we know the construction was not easy to get through". There are also no restaurants within easy walking distance either. Breakfast was basic as we are finding Comfort Inns to be. I would not stay here again until the construction is done. An email from the hotel about the construction and alternate routes would have been nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    76
    41
    22
    21
See reviews for
66
46
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toledo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was booked at top rate prices right under the reception room where a party was also booked. I was unable to rest or even watch television after a long day. Staff response was to let me know I could move my entire family to another room. If there was a better room, why wasn't I booked in it? Why didn't the staff offer to move me? Submitting a customer service survey elicited no response. I'll sleep on the street more comfortably than I'll ever sleep at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Spokane hotels

Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Kind of hard to get in to as there was construction along the street entrance. Ample parking, though and the staff was nice. We did, however, first get a room that was occupied. Oops! Upon getting to our room, it seemed like the hotel may have been originally one that you accessed your room from the outside. The halls were odd, like they enclosed them so it would seem more hotel-like rather than motel-like. Beds were good and we like all the pillows. Didn't get a chance to use the pool but it was open 24 hours. Didn't see the free evening cookies, but the breakfast was fine. They opened up seating just off the breakfast area for overflow. Seemed like that area used to be a restaurant. Our usual Spokane hotel of choice was full so we ended up here. Cost was more at this Comfort Inn, but the hotel was not as good. :( It was just altogether odd.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The employees were all very kind. We both slept well and enjoyed our breakfast. Make sure you get to breakfast early though because every morning we barely were able to find seats. They could use some remodeling in the hotel rooms though. We had some peeling/discolored wall paper and some stains on our carpet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauconda
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nice clean rooms. Warm welcome by Jay & Casse. Internet access is great and strong in all rooms without delay in logging in and stays logged in without interuptions. Lots of parking, Variety of breakfast items, something for everyone. Warm delicious cookies served each evening in the lobby area.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. If you want a view of the city higher level floors are better for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeBeTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for one night and we enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and beds were very comfortable. The 24 hour pool is certainly a bonus. I was able to enjoy a soak in the jacuzzi before bedtime without kids screaming in the pool. I have read the reviews from others who have 5 star expectations especially regarding the FREE breakfast!!! I don't know what they had paid, but we got a good deal booking online and we sure got our money's worth. Not the best location, but safe. We took the dog for walks a few time throughout the day and no concerns. The area is somewhat industrial looking.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knight66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is definitely an older motel that has been updated. The beds and bedding were very comfortable. The breakfast (with typical fare) is in a nice location on the top floor. The staff was very friendly. However, there was some peeling wallpaper in our room and the carpet in the hallways was stained and needed vacuumed badly. We didn't try the pool or the fitness room. The hotel is not in the best location. This would not be at the top of my list of hotels in Spokane.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spokane
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown 4th Avenue
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn Oakwood
Quality Inn Oakwood
#16 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairbridge Inn Express
Fairbridge Inn Express
#30 of 46 in Spokane
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#29 of 46 in Spokane
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ramada North Spokane
Ramada North Spokane
#27 of 46 in Spokane
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn Valley Suites
Quality Inn Valley Suites
#8 of 13 in Spokane Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University District / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University District / Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn University District / Downtown
Address: 923 E 3rd Ave, Spokane, WA 99202-2215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University District / Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn University District hotel offers 105 spacious and comfortable guest rooms. The hotel is located 9 blocks from downtown Spokane, 6 blocks from Gonzaga University and 1.5 miles from the Washington University Nursing School and Eastern Washington Extension Campus. Interstate 90 provides easy access at exit 281 eastbound or exit 282B westbound. Enjoy our indoor atrium heated pool and spa, fitness center, guest laundry, in room microwave/fridge, coffee maker, ironing board/iron, hairdryer and earth friendly bath amenities. We offer shuttle service to/from the Spokane International Airport, Amtrak, City Center, the Spokane Convention Center and the college campus areas. Shuttle service is available from the hours of 7am-10:30pm. Each morning we serve a fresh, hot buffet breakfast from 6am-9am with 24 hour coffee service in the lobby. We are pet friendly and close to several area parks that offer a great walk for our guests and their pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn University District / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University District / Downtown Hotel Spokane
Comfort Inn Spokane
Shilo Inn Spokane
Spokane Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing