We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service and very accommodating”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Cle Elum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iron Horse Inn Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional service and very accommodating”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The hubby and I had a teriffic stay at the Ironhorse B&B. Mary and Doug are two wonderful hostesses, cooks and all around a VERY pleasant pair! We were well informed of the area and the lovely sites/establishments. Our room, Casey Jones, VERY clean, tidy and warm. Slept great in a comfy bed and had plenty of hot water during my shower. Breakfast was great! I stepped out of my comfort zone and was happily surprised. We will be coming back! Thank you for a wonderful experience Mary and Doug! You really know how to take care of Military folks : )

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeilaSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
23
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Although not railway buffs we decided to stay in a Caboose at the Iron Horse Inn, it was great, lots of space and very comfortable. The Caboose we chose was the Great Northern, it has it's own deck, very nice to sit on with the preverbal glass of wine. Our hosts Mary and Doug were very friendly and helpful, good food from Doug. So if you are looking for different, it certainly was and a definite recommendation. The area of South Cle Elum was very nice and although we only stayed two nights we could easily have stayed a third.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed in a caboose at the Iron Horse B&B and we will DEFINITELY go back! First thing was that it was extremely clean and I am a CLEAN FREAK! The owners, Mary and Doug are delightful and the breakfast was fabulous and more than I could ever have expected. The simple touches, the memorabilia, the hospitality....it was all top-notch. Highly recommend:)

Room Tip: The bedrooms in the main house are very quaint and well-appointed and the caboose is a really fun al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cubufffan4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I have visited with Doug and Mary Pitts several times. We have stayed in 3 of the cabooses and also stayed in the bunk house. Due to the railroad buffs we are; we LOVE the cabooses! My husband stays up late in the library of the bunk house and gets his dose of rr facts and fiction! I have my own retreat in the caboose. NO TV......NO PHONE........just peace, quiet, wind whispering in the trees and sounds of beautiful birds. The property is so tastefully landscaped and invites quiet times, walking and just absorbing peace and beauty. There is so much more to this B&B....stop and stay awhile and tell Doug and Mary "hello" from Carol and Dave, the will know who you are talking about..BREAKFAST is prepared by the B&B resident culinary chef!

Room Tip: Cabooses are quiet and nice to be alone without hearing other guests. Bunk House rooms are tasteful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 9carolj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I have visited the inn several times and always enjoy it. Great innkeepers. Great breakfast. Kid friendly. Great for weekend getaways from Seattle.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I was part of a group of 9 quilters. We stayed here 4 nights for a "quilting retreat". We had a great time! The rooms (and especially the beds) were so comfortable, clean, and fun decor. Our hosts were very accommodating to our needs, and we felt they went out of their way to be sure the retreat was a success. Good food, restful setting. The adjoining park provides a great area for us to stretch our legs with a good walk. We definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We just stayed one night on one of the cabooses but this is definitely a place where you feel so comfortable that could stay longer. The cabooses are totally independent (we had a restful night, without any noises!) but the staff is there close and willing to help you. Our caboose (The Great Northern) was quite big, with a big king-size bed and a place to sit down like a passenger.
Mary and Doug are great hosts, we really enjoyed talking with them! They cooked a really balanced breakfast with fruits, muffins and a choice of pancakes or eggs.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cle Elum
1.0 mi away
Timber Lodge Inn
Timber Lodge Inn
#4 of 7 in Cle Elum
67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Snowcap Lodge
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge near Suncadia Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#2 of 11 in Ellensburg
475 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stewart Lodge
Stewart Lodge
#6 of 7 in Cle Elum
70 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
#7 of 7 in Cle Elum
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Iron Horse Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 526 Marie Avenue, PO Box 629, South Cle Elum, WA 98943-0629
Location: United States > Washington > South Cle Elum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Cle Elum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing