We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprise!”

Gianfranco Ristorante Italiano
Reserve with OpenTable
Gianfranco Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Snoqualmie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Railroad Ave SE & SE River Street
Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We had read the reviews prior to choosing this restaurant. The warning of don't judge a book by its cover is very appropriate. It is small but mighty....mighty delicious.....mighty friendly. The portions are huge and shareable. Our delightful server warned us to only order one Caprese salad as it was large enough for two or three people. She wasn't kidding. Everything we ordered was fabulous. We were visiting at Salish Lodge and Spa and the town is just a short drive and well worth it.

Helpful?
Thank darlinbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    21
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The perfect meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have been to this restaurant before several times and always rated it well, but last night we tried some different menu choices and we were absolutely delighted. I ordered Bistecca Ai Ferri
(9 oz. Filet Mignon grilled and finished with Portobello mushrooms, garlic, and Barolo demiglaze) and my wife ordered Gamberi Pizzaiola (Prawns sautéed with fresh tomatoes, oregano, parsley and white wine over pasta of your choice). She asked if they could add mushrooms and Kalamata olives to the pasta dish. She let me taste it and it was wonderful.
Everything tasted sooo delicious! We were surprised how good even the sides were, my steak included scalloped potatoes and a side of vegies. Each one was really good and the steak was cooked to perfection, between rare and medium rare, with a nicely seared outside. Not easy to do. We finished the meal with a couple after dinner drinks called "Limoncella", it was interesting to find out that the owners make their own, and we thought it was better than the stuff we buy from the liquor store. The owner and his family came out and seemed to really enjoy talking to all the guests that were there. It's a small restaurant and it fills up fast on weekends, but you can just make reservations and problem is solved....

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Looks cheap by decor but great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

They were nice with our kids and flexible with our ordering. Overheard other table ordering gluten free pasta as well. They were on top of things but a reservation on a Friday or Saturday night helps!

Helpful?
Thank Appymikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle wa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

WOW....We just Happend to be in Snoqualmie with family and remembered that I saw a review on the PBS show called "Check Please Northwest and decided to check it out and boy Iam I glad we did. Great reception when we entered the restaurant and were seated quickly. Fairly small location, around 9 tables in a narrow space but OH so worth it. Everything from the soup to the entree's were Fantastic, I had the Braised Shortribs w/Polenta, OMG, its making my mouth water right now just thinking about it. Family members also raved about their dishes and were extremly happy we made the decision eat here. Service was TOP NOTCH, very attentive and always took the time to explain the dishes and give the story of the restaurant. Price point was right on, large portions were had by all and we all took home much appreicated leftovers. Will return....No doubt about it!!!!! Thank You Gianfranco for such a wonderful meal!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigjohn1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A tiny place with huge flavorful servings at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We'd heard word-of-mouth mentions of this restaurant but discounted it because it was in rural Snoqualmie, in a tiny storefront location. BIG MISTAKE! This restaurant is truely a hidden gem, very small, with only 6 or 8 tables, but spectacular food. We were a party of 4, ordered one appetizer, 3 entrees and a tiramisu dessert, served family style (our request)...and brought home leftovers! Very generous servings, well prepared and attractively plated. The one item that disappointed was the bread which seemed day(s) old. I recently read that restaurants are eliminating bread to cut expenses, and Gianfranco still offers bread, but serving old bread does a disservice to the rest of the meal. Some of the local yelp reviews have commented that the prices are high,...and they are, for a semi-rural area where there isn't much sophisticated dining...but given the quality and quantity of food, the prices are very reasonable and nowhere near as high as prices in larger local cities. A place that's high on our go-back list!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gianfranco Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing