We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty neat place if you're into trains”

Northwest Railway Museum
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Snoqualmie
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest and oldest continuously operating railway museum in Washington State welcomes over 88,000 visitors yearly to its historic depot and 7 ½ acre developing Railway History Center. The museum’s collection of railway artifacts and equipment is one of the most significant in the United States and includes over 70 examples of locomotives, passenger and freight cars, and specialized railway equipment. Antique train excursions operate on weekends, April - October.
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty neat place if you're into trains”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My family drove out to Snoqualmie Falls and stopped by for a short time at the Northwest Railway Museum. It's pretty cool for kids who are obsessed with trains like my son is. Lots of old trains to see, and a small play area for kids. I wish we went on a Saturday, because they have an actual train ride on a classic steam engine train. I think that would have really been a fun activity for the family. Definitely a place to stop by if you're already out that way to see Snoqualmie Falls (which is just down the street).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    47
    18
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I'm not a railway buff, but we have a friend who is, so we stopped on our way through Snoqualmie, and took lots of pictures of the old trains and the museum.He was delighted when we showed them to him.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great excursion!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Took the Scenic Train ride on a rather wet and misty Sunday morning from Snoqualmie to North Bend and back. Sat in the "guard" carriage out and in a reclining seat carriage on the return to the Falls. Unfortunately the rails were too wet to attempt the final push to the Falls with only one engine. Despite this disappointment a great 75 minutes of riding the train. The train graveyard is fascinating. Such a shame you can't get closer to the engines and rolling stock as there is a fence separating you for understandable reasons. Maybe in time and with more volunteers this could be changed. Good value and a great half day out!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If your a fan of trains you will love this.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I recently took my visiting father here and he enjoyed it. The old station house is nice and there are occasionally character actors moving around to give you a better feel for the place. We rode the train into North Bend and the back down to the falls. You don't get a really good view of the falls but you do get a nice view down the valley. They also have a series of trains sitting on some rails next to the main track. They are sitting out in the weather and are starting to show their wear but if your a train person you will really enjoy it. You don't need to pay anything unless you want to take the train ride.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GraydonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Fun place and lots of neat trains.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wandered among the long line of old train equipment along the road leading to the station. Lots of old logging equipment, rail repair cars, cranes, old steam locomotives. None are restored, but all are great to see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RFWink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northwest Railway Museum also viewed

 

Been to Northwest Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing