We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Jake’s Cafe On Second Street
Ranked #3 of 96 Restaurants in Snohomish
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Monroe, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Jake's provides enormous portions of fantastic breakfast foods. Fluffy eggs, flavorful bacon and an amazing bread selection.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    33
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Snohomish, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Rude Servers”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I went in to have breakfast. The place was not busy at all. You seat yourself and the waitress comes to you. So, we sat and waited, and waited. Another couple came in and sat 2 tables over from us. The waitress was right there within a minute of them sitting down to take their drink order. When she looked at me she could tell I was not happy. Before I said anything she said our waitress went next door for milk. Well, she was out smoking when we came in. ( It's a small place and the raggedy old woman they call a waitress is very rude. We've seen this in past visits. )
Well, if a member of the staff is not there to take their table, don't you think someone should cover for them? At least take their drink orders?? Yeah well they don't seem to know what teamwork is.
It is such a shame because their food is pretty good. Even if they are only open until maybe 3pm. Prices are not a little high.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CSLostArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classic Greasy Spoon with Huge Servings”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This place is a small diner with 60's atmosphere. They serve breakfast and lunch and close at 3pm. A bit pricey but well worth it as the orders are huge. Plan on leftovers. Excellent omelets, biscuits & gravy, burgers & homemade fries. This restaurant is not for the health nut. We been here many times and the food is always great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob-n-Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you're hungry, you'll like this place.”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a "down home" type of place. The decor is old cars and '50's and early '60's. I read one review that said the waitress was rude. I suppose you could take her like that, but considering who I think it may have been, she's probably "older" and has bad eyesight. The wait staff I have encountered has always been friendly and each has their own attributes. No cookie cutter here for them. You can engage them in "friendly banter" which could be interpreted as rudeness.
The food has good flavor and is cooked as it should be. I would give the place an "excellent" rating but you wouldn't go here looking for "health" food. It tastes great for a reason and the proportions are way more than most people can consume by themselves. Their pricing is excellent for what you get.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Treedfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Grub!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Staying in Snohomish can be daunting for someone from a large city. We looked for anything for breakfast between Granite Falls and Snohomish. Only cold fast food was available. We had just about given up when we spied Jake's Cafe on 2nd St. The offerings here more than made up for what the rest of the county lacked. Each plate comes with a HUGE portion of hash browns, omelet, and delicious bacon. Finishing your plate is not humanly possible although you will want to because it is so good. The decor is 50's complete with Elwood & Jake. Betty Boop graces the ladies room and cars in the men's. Service is good and friendly. If you come with a normal appetite, get one of the lite plates. It is more than enough. Cash only but the prices make that easy. A wonderful place for breakfast on a cold, rainy day!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gloriamaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake’s Cafe On Second Street also viewed

 

Been to Jake’s Cafe On Second Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing