We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time tripadvisor has let us down.”
Review of Cascadia Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skykomish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cascadia Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skykomish
Helix, OR
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“First time tripadvisor has let us down.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was a surprise. We've relied on tripadvisor many times for hotels, motels and restaurants and they've been right every time. (or maybe I should say that the reviewers have been right) This was a real disappointment. We should have stayed in Monroe, but the day was early and we decided to drive on towards Wenatchee. The Cascadia Inn sounded fine and the people were very nice. My husband commented that they "were trying very had" but that just doesn't go far. If the rooms had been $40 a night like it said in the window, the poor quality might be acceptable for one night, but at over $80 (with tax) this was a ripoff. [We had a room reservation at a Comfort Inn in Bellingham that was $83 with tax, but stupidly cancelled it.] As someone else mentioned, the carpets were filthy. So was the 'common room' for guests. The rooms smelled funky and I think it was damp. My allergies kicked in so it was either mold or cat. Didn't see a cat. The bedding and the bathroom were clean. The floors were not, but better than the halls. The bed was so so. Nicely firm but creaked a lot. TV reception was good. But the trains! We should have realized that with train tracks across the street that this might be an issue. We didn't If you thought train freight was a dying industry, you are wrong. Between 9pm when we went to bed and 6 when we left I counted 15 trains. They all blow their whistles as they go through town. (I'm pretty sure this is the law.) Hopefully the people living in Skykomish get used to it. One night isn't enough for that. The ads say the Cascadia has a cafe and lounge, but they close at 5 - before we arrived - and don't open until 10 - long after we left. The bar down the street seemed a local hangout for drinking and pool, but the food was chili dogs and polish dogs. Went to bed hungry rather than drive 20 miles to find something to eat. There also was not a glass in the bathroom and no one to ask for one. The owner checked us in and left the premises. We thought we were the only ones in the building all night until we ran into a man in the hall when we came back from a walk. Never saw him again. They did give us a key to the front door so we could get in. I would stay here again if we were stranded, but not on purpose. Oh, my husband would like to mention that there was a water boiling pot in the common room and he appreciated that since he drinks tea 24/7.

Room Tip: Pick one in another town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I am of two minds on how to craft this review. On the plus side, all of the people here were friendly, helpful and very considerate. As another reviewer writes, Henry was a perfect host, and all of the staff are obviously doing their best. On the down side, the carpet in the halls are dirty in the way that no amount of vacuuming will ever cure, the mattresses are little better than camp pads and rooms are stuffy unless you keep the windows open. And did I mention the trains? The trains that are required to sound their horns at the crossing a block away?

The Inn serves a mostly outdoor activity clientele and is best thought of as more like a hostel than an inn, and from that perspective, it’s a good place to stay. If you are doing something like hiking the Pacific Crest Trail and want to sleep in something other than a tent, or you’re doing a 10 hour snowshoe and need to sleep before trying to drive back to Seattle, then this will be a good fit. If you’re the average traveler looking for comfortable beds and quiet surroundings, keep looking.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs for the trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillamook, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place. Henry the owner was incredibly nice and went out of his way to make sure we were good. The accomodations were like stepping back in time to an old western hotel--a small but comfortable room with the bathroom down the hall (there are rooms with a private bath we just didn't get one. That would have been our preference) No phones or TV to deter from a quiet relaxing time. However, keep in mind this is a railroad town so there is plenty of train action--toot toot.

The cafe had the best tasting and priced food we'd experienced in a long time. The locals were all friendly and made us feel welcome in their community. There's lots to see and do within walking distance or a short drive. Definitely plan to return someday when we can stay longer. Already recomending it to others!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mookyhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermiston, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Cascadia Inn while in the area for a wedding. It was a perfect place to stay. We had a great breakfast at the restaurant and our room was very nice. We paid extra to have a bathroom in our room and it was well worth the extra expense -- which was minimal. The only drawback was the trains that went through town all night. It was a small price to pay, however. Definitely would recommend staying there for anyone else who wants to explore the area. The town is reinventing itself as a railroad town. There is a cute little mini-railroad that people can take a ride on. Very cute!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cascadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascadia Inn

Property: Cascadia Inn
Address: 210 Railroad Ave East, Skykomish, WA 98288
Location: United States > Washington > Skykomish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skykomish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing