We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best ski areas in Washington-Stevens Pass” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stevens Pass Ski Area

Stevens Pass Ski Area
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Skykomish
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This ski area in the Mount Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest offers both day and nighttime skiing.
Bothell, Washington, United States
1 review
“One of the best ski areas in Washington-Stevens Pass”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is probably the 2nd best ski area in Washington State. The other being Crystal Mountain. I've been to all the others except Mount Spokane, and I've been to about 50 other resorts in N. America. It is not as good as any of the big Rocky Mountain resorts... it's certainly not worth flying in to go here. Thus the 4 stars.

The terrain here is varied. They have a great beginner area, lots of groomed blue trails and a large amount of ungroomed, especially on the backside. The tree skiing is decent. The lifts are decent. The grooming is pretty good.

By my casual appraisal, the backside tends to be a few degrees warmer than the frontside. So if the temperature is either too warm (likely) or too cold (unlikely), you know where to go. The base is 3000 ft and the summit is 6000 ft. Slightly lower than Crystal, but much higher than the Snoqualmie Pass resorts.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seung Hwan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    35
    6
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Index, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great snow & killer runs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Parking is a pain on the weekends, so carpool, but everything else about the mountain is 1st class. After a great day board on the mountain I always stop in Index for a drink and to enjoy family and friends away from the crowds.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A very pleasant place to spend a day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have been downhill skiing since I was 9, which is a long time ago. I've been skiing Steves for the past 20 years, so that must say something about how much I like it. I grew up skiing in the Midwest (think ice), then in New England (more ice), but had intermittent trips to the West after that. While some of the resorts in Colorado and the Rockies in the US and Canada offer vast resorts with achingly long runs and chalets on the mountain above the base lifts, Stevens is one of those places that is affordable and fun, and there is extreme terrain for those who want it, both in bounds and out of bounds. The base elevation is 4000 ft, so it is typically in the below freezing zone for much of winter, unlike the resorts in Snoqualamie Pass to the south that start at 3000 ft. The powder is not as frequent as Crystal Mountain, but it can be good many days. Stay away on weekends (but that goes for most any resort). Midweek skiing can be spectacular with feet of fresh snow and no one tracking it except you and a handful of miscreants playing hookey from work or school. Prices are reasonable and so are season passes (I have had a season pass for the last couple of years).

What is good: price, variety of runs, range of skill levels for the runs, some back country options (but you had better understand avalanche risks, as there have been several deaths recently among out-of-bounds back country skiers), short drive from the Seattle area, lack of pretension, good lift system

What could be improved: return to the older style where Stevens wasn't trying to be a destination resort, which means recognize that the base load of skiers doesn't want to spend a lot of money and is willing to put up with some primitiveness, restore the old independent ski school tradition, figure out better mass transit options to get there on weekends.

I have many, many fond memories of skiing here with friends and my children over the decades, and will continue to ski here as long as I live in the area and am physically able.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WindWolfess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to play”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I enjoyed a perfect Tuesday snow and then a wonderful lunch. I recommend you going up on a weekday, it's a whole different mountain!

Helpful?
Thank Srbxmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great terrain!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The terrain is awesome, the snow gets heavy in this part of the world though. Midweek is the time to go - short lines, great people, good times!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stevens Pass Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Stevens Pass Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing