We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highest quality equipment & guides”

Columbia River Kayaking Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Skamokawa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Columbia River Kayaking provides kayak tours and instruction at all skill levels, with access to two National Wildlife Refuges, the Lewis and Clark trail and the remains of old cannery towns and native village sites. We specialize in historical and natural history tours, and can accommodate large groups of all kinds.In the spring of 2013, we moved to the Skamokawa Landing building, at 957 Steamboat Slough Rd, a few hundred yards from our old location.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Highest quality equipment & guides”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Carbon fiber paddles, kayaks with ergonomic seating, hatch covers that really fit, new high quality, comfortable PFDs and skirts. And the best, most knowledgeable, engaged and humorous guides you will be privileged to meet. Their knowledge of both kayaking skills, planning and safety and the natural environment, culture and history of the area is unsurpassed. You will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penchant4stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    0
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Columbia River Kayaking”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The guides are the best ever! Andrew and Mark are skilled and unflappable. Andrew, especially, is a wonderful storyteller, very knowledgeable about history and the environment. The equipment is in great shape too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I told friends in Chicago that the goal of my trip was to Kayak the Columbia River. They thought I had lost my senses. Not the case. The decision turned out to be an outstanding adventure with competent, skilled and knowledgeable leader/ guides/educators. Owners Andrew and Mark did an outstanding job. I'll be back next year and hopefully every year moving forward.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank VeritasChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kayaking in Lewis and Clarks foot steps.”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I have kayaked on our own for 9 years or so. Our guide, Mark Whitaker, said it best, "people can usually figure out how to make a boat go where they want it to go". But we want to get better, we really want to do some expeditions where we may encounter currents, wind, waves, etc... So we called Columbia River Kayaking, and met Mark. He took us out and assessed where we were, and what we could do to get better. Not only that we had a fabulous day!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MelissaWilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrayville, GA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great kayaking, super knowlegable guides, great equiptment”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Spent five unbelievable days kayaking with this group. The guides were highly professional. Their number one concern was safety and they delivered. Their knowledge of the area made the trips extremely interesting and informative. They all also have a great sense of humor. Their training tips helped our kayaking skills. At the end of the trip, we felt much more confident in our kayaking abilities. This was our first visit to the Pacific NW and we will return and will definitely paddle with this group again.
Elliott and Leslie
Georgia

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia River Kayaking Day Tours also viewed

Been to Columbia River Kayaking Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing