We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food surprise find”

Osaka Sushi & Asian Bistro
Ranked #5 of 79 Restaurants in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Elstree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good food surprise find”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went to this little town looking for lunch and stumbled onto this cafe/bar. It had a real diner feel and we didn't know what to expect in terms of quality but it had lots of people in so we gave it a try. There was only one waitress who worked incredibly hard to get everyone served. We ordered a hot starter taster platter and a seafood noodle soup between the two of us and it was plenty! All the tempura seafood was battered and cooked to perfection. The various wantons were spicy and crisp. The soup was delicious and really hit the spot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rolinuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoodsport, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Poor service and really poor customer service skills.”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have tried Osaka Sushi and Asian Bistro twice with different friends and found the food sub standard but even worse the service was terrible the server was rude and both visits the service was slow and the sushi did not taste fresh.

I have had much better sushi this place was maybe 1 star. Would never recommend it to my friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food in a surprising location”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stumbled upon Osaka when out for a drive with my father-in-law and wife who are Japanese American. All of our meals were well prepared, fresh, tasty, and served in generous proportions. The ambiance of the restaurant is basic. They are about to open a lounge. Give them a try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoodsport, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Food and Service only average”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Have eaten there 3 times since it opened and it has only been average. Almost gave it a poor rating but decided it was just above that. Service was only OK and on one occasion it was below average. Food prices are what I consider high for the area. Again, I do like very good restaurants and this was NOT one of them.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Sushi in Shelton?”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Yes! Awesome to finally have a great Sushi place in town! Ji is a wonderful host and her father is an excellent Sushi Chef! The only reason we give it a 4 rating instead of a 5 rating is due to the use of brown rice on the Sushi which makes it a little heavier. We haven't tried the other items on the menu yet but they look great as well. Keep the warm Saki flowing!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Sushi & Asian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Osaka Sushi & Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing