We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice seafood buffet”

Squaxin Island Seafood Bar
Ranked #1 of 79 Restaurants in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Calling all seafood lovers! Belly up to the bar and enjoy delicacies from the heart of the earth, the sea. It’s a uniquely entertaining dining experience as your fresh seafood dinner is prepared right before your eyes. Located next to the Island Grille, just off the main casino floor at Little Creek Casino Resort.
Hoodsport, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice seafood buffet”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Overall nice selection. Not a fancy place. The price is right with a large selection to choose from.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    21
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, WA
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food with casino drawbacks”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This seafood bar is in the Little Creek Casino, so depending on where you park and enter, you may have to walk through the gaming areas, which can be smoky. That being said, we've eaten here a few times and the food is always great and the service is good too. All of the seating is around a bar that winds through the room, and some of the food is prepared right at one area of the bar. They have a variety of stir fries with a selection of seafood and sauces. We shared shrimp and curry sauce, which included veggies and rice, an order of oysters (raw) and crab stuffed mushrooms. All delicious. The place was pretty full, but our server did his best to be attentive. VERY casual attire is acceptable. We had been hiking and were on our way back--jeans and fleece and hiking shoes were just fine. Parents, this is a bar, so no kids allowed, But there are a couple of other dining options at the casino (the buffet) that are kid friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Coug1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good food”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Front desk employees are excellent and very helpful ! Pool and hot tub are very clean. great place to visit !

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Unique for the locale”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

On our way home from a seafood harvest on Hood Canal we stopped in to see if this place was real. We arrived around 3:00 p.m. on a Thursday with only one other couple in the bar. Henry was most obliging as our host steering us to the menu, the options and the procedure. We were offered a fine choice of brews we each selecting a preference and looked over the food offerings. We decided on the crab bisque as a starter which was quite good with a fist full of Dungeness crab placed on the top. We also chose a large helping of little neck clams along with the triple salad which consisted of crab, salad shrimp and medium shrimp (about 31-40) on a bed of lettuce with pretty spicy cocktail sauce. We were also given a choice of wheat or sourdough roll. We really enjoyed the soup, knowing that we were pumping some pretty serious stuff into our veins, the steamer clams were very good, although by the time we got to the salad things were getting quite water logged. Think it must have been the shrimp because they were like they had just been thawed and still dripping with moisture. All in all an interesting experience, really enjoyed Henry, our drinks and the aforementioned items but the moisture in the tri option was a little much. Really doubt that we will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WALewisC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Yes, Shelton is a little off the beaten path. It is about 1 hour south of Tacoma but this restaurant is absolutely worth the drive. It is not fancy (or big) but the food is great and very reasonably priced. A half order of shrimp saute is easily two meals. The crab cocktail is almost a meal in itself, and the homemade cocktail sauce is delicious. The bartenders are friendly and engaging and cook the food right in front of you. Make the time to visit this place if you like seafood.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fossilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squaxin Island Seafood Bar also viewed

 

Been to Squaxin Island Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing