We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unbelievable surprise of the very best kind and one we plan on experiencing again and again.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Shelton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An unbelievable surprise of the very best kind and one we plan on experiencing again and again.”
Reviewed August 8, 2010

On a quick turn around visit to the Washington Olympic Penninsula area, we took a chance on a B & B after not finding a lot of quality hotel offerings in the Olympia area. It pays to be lucky. What an unbelieveably beautiful place and fantastic experience. The hosts and owners, Phil and Kelly Bergh, made us feel like family coming to visit and their attention to detail in making sure their guests are comfortable is unparalleled. From the decor of the home to the biscotti left in the room for a late night snack, it is easy to see their top priority is the comfort and care of their guests. The facility has picturesque views (from all the bedrooms and the breakfast nooks) of the water. We were even supplied with loaner binoculars so we could look for wild life while we enjoyed breakfast and right on cue my husband saw the head of a seal coming up for air. Kelly is an amazing cook with homemade pastries offered first thing in the morning and a full breakfast soon after. Most importantly was the friendliness of the owners. They made us feel welcomed and at home. We were so welcomed that we took our one night reservation and turned it into two. After two memorable nights (on an amazingly comfortable bed I might add), we could only wish we had more time. My husband and I would highly recommend "A Lighthouse on Hammersley" Bed and Breakfast and plan on returning again soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hittmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
161
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Phil and Kelly, you made our 4th annual girls’ weekend a real treat. The bed & breakfast is beautiful (and huge!), and the Captain’s Quarters was perfectly spacious for three of us. I slept on the twin sofa sleeper, and it was just as comfortable as a regular bed. The mini-golf and outdoor lounge chairs made it easy to relax, and the breakfast you cooked was beyond fantastic. Also, I loved the fact that the game area had a cribbage board! Thank you so much for the wonderful service and delightful conversation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verbal_parade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Phil and Kathy Bergh were our hosts for a wonderful two night stay on Hammersley inlet, not far from Shelton Washington. Picturesque and private the B&B was designed and built from the ground up to provide comfort and relaxation for the guests. The gourmet breakfast made me want to just lurch back to the room for a nap. Kathy is an excellent chef and her cuisine reflects her passion. All aspects of this B&B have been designed to provide for the comfort of the guests it's not a 'home' with a couple of spare bedrooms and a bathroom at the end of the hall. There are four spacious rooms, each with a different theme and separate bathroom. A quality home theater, pool table, and miniature golf outside on the beautifully landscaped grounds. It was a delightful stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritts73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayreuth, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Phil and Kelly were wonderful hosts for my husband and I visiting from Germany. They made our second honeymoon something we will never forget. From the wonderful conversation to the beautiful setting, you would be hard-pressed to find a better B&B. They even popped popcorn for us to enjoy in their home theater! It was a joy and I would hightly recomment A Lighthouse on Hammersley to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roo22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I've stayed at the Lighthouse at least 25 times - it was 15 miles away from an on-going job, so this became my home away from home for three or four nights each month. This is the perfect place for a quiet get away - a place to relax, rest, renew. The home itself is gorgeous, both architecturally and the way Kelly has beautifully decorated. (Check it out at Christmastime – she outdoes herself then!) The breakfasts are delicious, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the downstairs movie room is a wonderful way to relax and unwind, the bathrobes are luxurious, and the little “extras” are amazing – the chocolates and the nuts, the biscotti to go with your morning coffee… Phil and Kelly offer a warmth and personal attention that is unmatched. Enjoy the water-side picnic areas, the “tower” breakfast nook, the upstairs library/balcony or any one of several other sitting areas. The attention to detail and the warmth make this a couple steps above your average bed and breakfast experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelguy20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We have just returned home from attending our granddaughter's high school graduation in Shelton. We thought it would be nice to stay in a B & B rather than our son's nearby home - too much commotion for the grandparents! Little did we know that our three days at A Lighthouse on Hommersley would be one of the best experiences we have ever enjoyed.

We were completely in awe of what Kelly and Phil have created. Their dream, their "labor of love", overwhelms the senses. Having a little experience in home construction, I was amazed to learn that this 10,000+ custom home was built in one year which might suggest it was hastily "thrown together" somehow or other. Quite the opposite. The attention to detail and overall quality of the facility leaves nothing to wish for. Kelly's creative interior decorating sets the nautical mood and Phil's enjoyable stories fill in all the details about how it all came together.

The food, the ambience, the peaceful setting, the great hosts, the friendliness - we could go on and on. It was just remarkable! We would highly recommend it - plan to stay several days if you can - you will not be disappointed! We plan to return as soon as possible; our only problem is finding an excuse for why we're not going to stay with the kids!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baginflag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2010

This property is amazing. In all my travels, I have stayed at many acclaimed B & B's and have never been impressed enough to write a review - however, this B & B offers a top notch experience from many perspectives. First, if you don't like B & B's, consider giving this one a try. It is beautifully situated and a gorgeous, open, modern yet very comfortable construction/decor style. And impeccably clean (and I am considered OCD in that category).

The host/ess are wonderful people that "appropriately" cater to your every need and the breakfast was scrumptious. I want to bring my family down to experience this Inn and all that it has to offer. Give it a try - I promise you will not be disappointed and will look for reasons to return to the area just to have a reason to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
7.2 mi away
Little Creek Casino Resort
6.1 mi away
Super 8 Shelton
Super 8 Shelton
#2 of 4 in Shelton
256 reviews
10.3 mi away
Robin Hood Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
12.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
13.2 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast
Address: 292 East Libby Road, Shelton, WA 98584-8133
Location: United States > Washington > Shelton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly constructed (completed in 2008) 10,000+ square foot low-bank waterfront bed & breakfast located on beautiful Hammersley Inlet in Shelton, Washington, Mason County. Each of the four spacious guest rooms offers a private bathroom, stunning waterfront view and covered deck to view boats and wildlife all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Lighthouse On Hammersley b&b
a Lighthouse On Hammersley Hotel Shelton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing