We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place...Amazing Hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Shelton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Place...Amazing Hosts!”
Reviewed July 6, 2009

My husband and I visited A Lighthouse on Hammersley over the 4th of July weekend. Our family owns a complex of cabins that have been in the family for years and we wanted our own space over this very busy weekend, but also wanted to see the family. We brought our ten year-old daughter along after clearing it with Phil and Kelly. Our extended family occupied three of the four VERY well-appointed rooms. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful. Phil and Kelly were such gracious hosts, it honestly felt as if we were staying with old friends. With dozens of things to do, such as play pool, watch a movie, enjoy walking the grounds, sit and watch the activity on the water and just read, lazily, in the beautiful rooms; we enjoyed ourselves immensely. We were stunned by the fireworks from roughly 9 families along the water and were impressed with the show! Ooohs and ahhhs all around! Two thumbs WAY up for this wonderful home!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GCF1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
163
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Since retiring two years ago, I have travelled extensively,staying in a variety of lodgings throughout the United States. Among the most unexpectedly delightful and truly outstanding Bed & Breakfast s tha I have ever stayed in was A Lighthouse on Hammersley in Shelton WA. My fiance and I had spent week touring the area around
the Olympic National Park and wanted to breakup the last leg of our journey back to Seattle Our decision to choose the "Lighthouse" was entirely practical. Shelton was only a 2 hour drive from the our lodge in Lake Quinault and about midway between Mt St Helen's, which we also wanted to visit, and the B&B we had booked in Seattle. We were intrigued by what we saw on the "Lighthouse" website and the $135 a night price seemed reasonable. It was more than that; it was a tremendous value. As soon as we arrived we realized this was a special place. The "Lighthouse" is a recently constructed 10 000 square foot contemporary home incoporating a number of striking nautical accents or motifs. It is situated on a beautifully landscaped property that faces Hammersley Inlet. We were warmly greeted by the innkeepers Phil and Kelly Bergh and given a thorough tour of the Inn. After entering through a stunning foyer with a pitched triple height ceiling we were shown a series of public rooms with many tranquil areas in which one could read and/or relax. One of the larger rooms on this level is equipped with a state of the art home theatre and an ample library of movies, any of which is available for use upon request. On this level,too,there is also a lovely glass enclosed breakfast room with a spectacular view of the Inlet . From this floor one also can access the inn's attractively landscaped back lawn, which slopes down the shore and includes not only lawn tables and chairs but also a miniature put put course.One floor below, there is a fully finished basement with a several exercise and game rooms. The lighthouse has (I believe) only four guest rooms. Ours, the Zen room, was the least expensive and least elaborate of these, but it was extremely spacious, very tastefully furnished, and had a private porch with a truly magnificent view of the Inlet. What was most noteworthy to me were the quiet touches-- the bucket of champagne that the Bergh's had waiting for us so that we could celebrate our upcoming marriage, the biscotti and packages of nuts alongside the coffee machine in our room, the lavish assortment of bath products-- everything bespoke the incredible attention to detail that Phil andf Kelly Bergh have lavished on every part of this Inn. They have built a gem and this veteran traveller hopes that others will find their way to A Lighthouse on Hammersley and enjoy its many pleasures.

Jerry & Judy Mermel
New York, NY

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeedala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

My sister and I were welcomed warmly by the owners. They gave us a tour of the facility and made us feel "at home". The property is only two years old and beautiful. The rooms are large and well appointed. The views are spectacular and there are several kinds of wild life to see. The food was outstanding and more than plentiful.
There are rooms for games, a movie room, library , exercise room and wonderful yard
with a mini putt course. It is quiet, calm, peaceful and a perfect place to go to power down from our busy world.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank godbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We arrived on a cold and rainy February day. Not the usual season you’d think of staying at a secluded Bed and Breakfast. Phil and Kelly welcomed us at their doorstep and brought us into their home and made us immediately feel comfortable. As soon as we walked into the place we were awed by it’s size.

The Inn is huge - over ten thousand square feet, so there is plenty of room to do your own thing without bumping into other guests. We had a blast exploring the place and found that downstairs there is a sitting room, a home theater with a multitude of DVD’s to watch, and a game room complete with a pool table. And we can’t forget to mention the expansive main floor’s living area has a 250 gallon fish tank, immense river rock fireplace, and a library full of books!

The property the Bed and Breakfast sits on is incredibly serene and soothing and the surrounding landscape is beautiful. We were shown the four water view rooms and each one has a unique theme that upon viewing brought a smile to our faces. Although each room had similar amenities, we reserved the Captain’s Quarters. The room and private bath were large, clean, and decorated tastefully creating an inviting environment for us to rest and relax. We spent some quiet time sitting on our private deck overlooking the water watching a lone fisherman in his row boat drifting slowly through the inlet. It was so peaceful and picturesque.

The breakfast we chose was absolutely delicious (a hot beverage, juice, freshly made yogurt parfait and stuffed French Toast with bacon on the side). We were served in the “Lighthouse Room”, high up and overlooking the water with windows surrounding three sides of the table – it was a wonderful way of ending a cozy and relaxing stay at this beautiful B&B.

We will definitely return to this B&B again. Five star for sure!!!

Thank you Kelly and Phil for a wonderful memory!
Chuck and Debra

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3DArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We stayed last night and were introduced to the most wonderful get-away in our own backyard! We LOVED hosts, Phil and Kelly Bergh! Their home and hospitality rate "five-stars" for quality and quantity from the welcome at the front door when you arrive to the (sad) good-bye when you drive away. They provide, not only a peaceful place to escape to, but a warm, inviting environment you want to go back to time and time again! Kelly is an exquisite chef and hostess. The meals were delicious and the presentation was superb! (We ate so much we had to skip lunch today!) Phil is the perfect host and keeps everyone highly entertained with his knowledge and wit. Both are open enough to envelope you, but not so much that you are not allowed the freedom to enjoy their home at your leisure. They have made it a "destination" with lots of activity-options from mini-golf to massage to movies. We are looking forward to sharing our experience with our friends! Thank you Phil and Kelly for a most-memorable night!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saxman4jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2009

This place is a DREAM B&B! From the moment you set eyes on the house, you are transported into a world of relaxed elegance. Kelly and Phil (owner/operators) have thought of every detail. The house is an immaculate homage to creativity and craftsmanship; the food is superb; and the waterfront location is jaw-dropping in beauty. A rating of "Excellent" is too modest a review for this exquisite experience!

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank oodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2008

I've been to many B and B's in my life but this is the best one so far. I was lucky enough to surprise my husband for his birthday, with a stay at this B and B.

The hosts were very warm and down-to-earth. We chatted so much with them that we had to remind ourselves that we needed to get time in alone.

The place was immaculate. They even implemented a bit of Hawaii there and have everyone remove their shoes to keep their hardwood floors clean! The fireplace and huge kitchen were breathtaking and all the rooms were very large. Unlike any B and B I've been to before, this was more lodge-style and private and quiet. My husband's favorite place was the entertainment/game room.

The food was delicious and prepared with care. The salmon dinner was better than any local restaurant. We did not leave hungry. I couldn't even finish breakfast!

We will highly recommend this place to our family and friends. The cost is very reasonable and they give a 10% military discount.

It's definately for couples or people with no young children who want to get away from it all!

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KBSilverdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
7.2 mi away
Little Creek Casino Resort
6.1 mi away
Super 8 Shelton
Super 8 Shelton
#2 of 4 in Shelton
260 reviews
10.3 mi away
Robin Hood Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
12.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
13.2 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast
Address: 292 East Libby Road, Shelton, WA 98584-8133
Location: United States > Washington > Shelton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly constructed (completed in 2008) 10,000+ square foot low-bank waterfront bed & breakfast located on beautiful Hammersley Inlet in Shelton, Washington, Mason County. Each of the four spacious guest rooms offers a private bathroom, stunning waterfront view and covered deck to view boats and wildlife all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Lighthouse On Hammersley b&b
a Lighthouse On Hammersley Hotel Shelton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing