We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Shelton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you long for a get-away that will refresh body, soul and spirit………then, you want to head to “A Lighthouse on Hammersley.” Close enough to the Greater Seattle Area for easy access but far enough away that even if you only stay one night, it will feel like an extended stay!

My husband and I have now made 10 visits to this B&B and we have enjoyed it in every season - Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter. Each visit has been unique depending on the season, weather, and the occasion. We have celebrated Father’s Day, a Birthday, our 25th Anniversary, New Year’s twice and most wonderful of all, the beautiful wedding of our son and his bride. It was a magical experience in this lovely setting.

The beauty of this Bed & Breakfast with its sea theme both inside and out, and the variety of activities available (massage, pool, ping-pong, movies, games, quiet reading, bird watching, beach time, etc. etc. etc.) make this a destination of great joy. Even more amazing though are the owners, Phil and Kelly Bergh. We have never encountered a more gracious, caring and talented couple. They have created an environment that totally caters to their guests.

Phil and Kelly excel in everything from the fabulous food to the immaculate lodging. They take great care in every detail. Phil and Kelly make it a top priority to know and keep track of their guest’s personal preferences. During our visits, we shared that we loved chocolate. Kelly recently made us some unbelievable chocolate/marzipan croissants as a treat for my early riser husband and then we had chocolate waffles for breakfast with chocolate syrup (along with a fruit parfait, delicious egg dish and a side of bacon). WOW! Our taste-buds were dancing!!! The good food was only exceeded by the excellent service!

To top it off, Phil and Kelly are friendly, personable and great story tellers! You will delight in getting to know them! They are not distant, remote and uninvolved as so many Innkeepers we have met on our travels. “If” you need a quiet place, they respect that and give you the space you desire.

In a fast paced world that can be very impersonal, “A Lighthouse on Hammersley” will be a delightful refuge in which you will come away rested and recharged. We hope you will plan your own visit and make this discovery for yourself.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chocolati-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 252 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Yes, mission accomplished! My husband and I have stayed here several times, but our stays have never been as long as we would have liked. At the end of December we were able to stay for 3 wonderful, glorious nights. Just what the doctor ordered. Since we had a little more time, than on our previous visits, we were able to really unwind, relax, read, bird watch, play pool, use their exercise equipment, watch a couple of movies, enjoy the beautiful Christmas decorations, enjoy just being around Phil and Kelly and watch the fireworks from our room. We left relaxed, satisfied and rejuvenated. I felt a little bit of sadness when we were driving away. But no worries, we will be back.

Phil and Kelly are exceptional, wonderful hosts and treat each guest special. They have successfully designed this B&B to be a destination resort, rather than just spending the night, having breakfast and then leaving in the morning. This B&B is tucked away in an inlet with a magnificent, picturesque view. Just being here leaves you with such a serene feeling of comfort, warmth and friendliness. Soooo pristine!!!! Like someone else mentioned, "who needs a 5* hotel when you can have a 10* B&B".

Of course, the food was outstanding and delicious, as it always is. That flourless chocolate cake, that we had for one of our dinner desserts, was out of this world. That dessert could definitely win an award. It has to be one of our all time favorite desserts and they've all been fabulous. I could never have imagined, for one moment, that anyone could make brussel sprouts taste good. But, Kelly, you did!!! They were absolutely mouth watering. Yes, they were that good!!! The scones with the peppermint candies in them, the cheddar cheese egg dish, the Italian egg dish, the Mexican egg dish, the butternut squash, the fruit dish in the morning and the "Orange Jubilee French Toast". Yum!!! Yum!!! Yum!!! Always A++. Okay, I could go on and on but I will stop. LOL!!! Kelly, I'm still hoping that someday you will be putting together a cookbook with pictures.

We slept so well in our cozy, comfortable room. We really enjoy the gas fireplaces, on those cool mornings, that are in the top floor rooms. So fun just to sit and use binoculars to identify all the different variety of birds and ducks, just enjoy the scenery or read. I have mentioned this before, but I do enjoy the roomy bathroom. It's nice to have room to move around and lay my things out! Very well designed.

Yes, I know, it sounds like we are hooked. That's true and we are already looking forward to our next visit. Can't wait!!!

Thanks Phil and Kelly for another marvelous and outstanding visit. Love you guys, you're the "BEST"!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilyofthefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This beautiful B & B is tucked away in an unforgettable setting. Coming from Connecticut we had no idea what to expect when we arrived in Shelton, WA. To our amazement, we found a home maintained to the nth degree and a warm, talented and awesome couple who continually take pride in their perfect creation of a getaway. Our daughter and son-in-law from California joined us for the 3 nights we spent there. It was hard for all of us to leave Kelly and Phil. They have truly become our family. Kelly with her extraordinary taste in decorating and unforgetable breakfasts; Phil for his ease in sharing the many adventures he has experienced as well as the challenging obstactables they faced in creating this perfect home.

Each room displayed much thought when it was designed. Every item in the room added to the theme. We stayed in the Hawaiian Room with its bamboo umbrella, surf boards, lighting, bedding and photos.

The grounds were picturesque. It was truly home away from home.

Thank you Phil and Kelly for making this time so unforgettable for us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Phil was waiting on the front porch to greet us, even though it was well before the 3pm registration time. His warm and open smile immediately told us we made the right choice. We told him we were just making sure it was the right place and we would be back in a while. He said he would see us then and to pull up to the front so he could help us with whatever needed to be carried in. This was the beginning of what we hope will be many visits to this wonderful home in a beautiful setting with superb accommodations and extra special breakfasts. Most important it was a priviledge to meet Phil and Kelly Bergh and to share their exquisite home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This beautiful B&B is tucked away on an inlet with a magnificent view. The inn keepers were so wonderful and helpful. The food was the best. My only regret is that I only stayed one night. I wish I had planned to stay several nights.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank banditoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have stayed at many B&B's over the years and have not found any that can begin to match the comfort, hospitality, beautiful setting, food, and much more. Th grounds are gorgeous and we have enjoyed taking many pictures while there. We have stayed about 8 times and plan on returning many more times in the future. A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast has become like a home away from home. Phil and Kelly are extremely gracious hosts and treat every guest uniquely special. We count them as our friends now that we have stayed in their lovely home multiple times. If you are looking for a place to stay where you can leave your worries behind for a period of time then I definitely believe you will enjoy a stay in this fabulous B&B. We will be there again soon since I really must have another chance to finally beat my wife at cribbage.

Room Tip: Our favorite room is the Captains Quarters since it has a king sized bed. The queen beds are just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sterve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our first bed and breakfast experience, and it absolutely blew us away. The house is absolutely gorgeous and impeccably detailed. The hosts were wonderful and made our stay very comfortable. They give wonderful recommendations and know a lot about the area. Phil even took the time to draw out a very detailed map for one of our excursions.There is very little need to leave this hideaway, it has EVERYTHING!!! I can't wait to come back and stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Zen" room and it was awesome. But, if you stay in the "Lighthouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shelton hotels
7.3 mi away
Little Creek Casino Resort
4.9 mi away
No photo provided
Shelton Inn
#3 of 4 in Shelton
44 reviews
6.1 mi away
Super 8 Shelton
Super 8 Shelton
#2 of 4 in Shelton
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Arcadia Romantic Getaway
Arcadia Romantic Getaway
#1 of 1 in Shelton
5 reviews
Show Prices

Been to A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast

Address: 292 E Libby Rd, Shelton, WA 98584-8133
Location: United States > Washington > Shelton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shelton
Price Range: $135 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly constructed (completed in 2008) 10,000+ square foot low-bank waterfront bed & breakfast located on beautiful Hammersley Inlet in Shelton, Washington, Mason County. Each of the four spacious guest rooms offers a private bathroom, stunning waterfront view and covered deck to view boats and wildlife all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Lighthouse On Hammersley b&b
a Lighthouse On Hammersley Hotel Shelton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing